Is it safe to upgrade? - Page 2 - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Castle Creations ESC and Software


Castle Creations ESC and Software Castle Creations ESC Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2012, 03:40 PM   #21 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Over The Hills and Far Away
Default

Been there, done that.....I also emailed them, but I almost never get a response.
__________________
Trex700N2E
Trex500ESPTT(PRO head and Tail )
Trex500ESP (Belted)
HC500SE ....GO TEAM FLYBAR!
Blayd is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-26-2012, 04:00 PM   #22 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 500
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: CT
Default

Same - plus a call.


Hoping it gets sorted. Otherwise, running fine. More a nuisance than a real problem....
itbvolks is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2012, 07:52 PM   #23 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Over The Hills and Far Away
Default

Yeah, true.... they are stuttering.. but do start, and run great... Just not completely sure of the consequences of the constant stuttering start on the motor or the ESC...
__________________
Trex700N2E
Trex500ESPTT(PRO head and Tail )
Trex500ESP (Belted)
HC500SE ....GO TEAM FLYBAR!
Blayd is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2012, 05:20 PM   #24 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Guayama, Puerto Rico 00785
Default

Well, to the original question, is it save to upgrade to v4.01?

I have a T-rex 600EFL Pro; all stock.

David
__________________
T-Rex 700E Pro DFC, Spirit FBL Unit, Futaba R6303SB/8FGHS
Blade mCPx 140mm boom, DX7
RealFlight 7
davehour is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2012, 09:15 PM   #25 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Over The Hills and Far Away
Default

Seems like the 600's are doing well on 4.01.. I just went back to 3.27 on two of my ICE 100's running the Scorp 1900kv motors..( bad stuttering ) the ICE 100A I use with a 1400kv Scorp is running great on 4.01.
__________________
Trex700N2E
Trex500ESPTT(PRO head and Tail )
Trex500ESP (Belted)
HC500SE ....GO TEAM FLYBAR!
Blayd is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-12-2012, 02:32 PM   #26 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Guayama, Puerto Rico 00785
Default

Hi,

I tested v4.01 today in my 600EFL Pro. It worked fine. I did follow the recommendation of using a higher value for the Initial Spool Up Rate from the recommended value of 59 to 65. It's worked fine and I believe I can set it to 59.

I had to reduce the governor gain from the recommended value of 15 to 14 because I could hear some noise in the gears.

One thing that surprised me is I set IDLE 1 to 2246 and IDLE 2 to 2358, and the system was able to maintain 2358 fairly well, even with the small head room it has using that headspeed. I checked the log and the power output wasn't clipped much, just in some occasions.

I'll keep flying the heli and if I find something else, I'll post the findings.

Thanks.

David
__________________
T-Rex 700E Pro DFC, Spirit FBL Unit, Futaba R6303SB/8FGHS
Blade mCPx 140mm boom, DX7
RealFlight 7

Last edited by davehour; 08-13-2012 at 09:39 AM..
davehour is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-13-2012, 12:06 AM   #27 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 350
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: San Diego
Default

@Davehour are you running the stick 600MX motor with the 600EFL.

Let us know if the default start power works for you.

I'm really getting close to update my esc. I'm getting slight noise from my motor also at 15, but I'm also using 3.27 firmware.
Emurzion is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-13-2012, 09:00 AM   #28 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Guayama, Puerto Rico 00785
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emurzion View Post
@Davehour are you running the stick 600MX motor with the 600EFL.

Let us know if the default start power works for you.

I'm really getting close to update my esc. I'm getting slight noise from my motor also at 15, but I'm also using 3.27 firmware.
Yes, the 600EFL is all stock.

I'm using the Gens Ace 3300 6S 25c packs.

Governor headspeeds: 1903, 2246 & 2358.

Following are two graphs of one of the flights: The first one is a graph of the voltage, current and ripple voltage. The second one is a graph of headspeed, power output & temperature. I've also included a picture of the ESC settings.







David
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	600EFL Stock v4.01 Gov Graph 1.jpg
Views:	626
Size:	55.6 KB
ID:	340122   Click image for larger version

Name:	600EFL Stock v4.01 Gov Graph 2.jpg
Views:	605
Size:	49.6 KB
ID:	340123   Click image for larger version

Name:	600EFL v4.01 Settings.png
Views:	640
Size:	29.4 KB
ID:	340124  
__________________
T-Rex 700E Pro DFC, Spirit FBL Unit, Futaba R6303SB/8FGHS
Blade mCPx 140mm boom, DX7
RealFlight 7

Last edited by davehour; 08-14-2012 at 01:03 PM..
davehour is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2012, 02:42 AM   #29 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 350
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: San Diego
Default

Will our motor start up with the default value of 59?
Emurzion is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2012, 08:07 AM   #30 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Guayama, Puerto Rico 00785
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emurzion View Post
Will our motor start up with the default value of 59?
I bench tested at 59 and seems to work ok. I'll test flight it on this week and will report how it did.

David
__________________
T-Rex 700E Pro DFC, Spirit FBL Unit, Futaba R6303SB/8FGHS
Blade mCPx 140mm boom, DX7
RealFlight 7
davehour is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2012, 10:56 PM   #31 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 350
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: San Diego
Default

I updated and used all the values on the castle site except for my gain at 14 and rpm running at 2100, 2200, and 2300.

Im only losing about 300 rpm on hard transitional movements.

I love it!!! Thanks for all the help.
Emurzion is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1