Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Aerial Videography and Photography

Aerial Videography and Photography Aerial Video/Photo from R/C Helicopters

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2011, 07:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

Default Sub-$1,000 RC Helicopter for Video

Hello everyone,

I'm new here to the forum and to RC helicopters, so sorry if my questions seem a little ridiculous. I'm a videographer and I'm looking for a helicopter that can support a camera weighing 0.5 pounds. First, I'd like to know how much, in your opinion, a 'really good' helicopter would cost. Second, I'd like to ask what helicopter in the $100-$300 and the $100-$1,000 range you would recommend that could carry a payload of this weight.

Thank you! =)
aborik is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-29-2011, 10:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users

My HF Map location

Short answer: "Good" is going to be more than $1000 to lift 500 grams (about a half pound).

Someone posted this reference somewhere and I didn't copy the link:

Blade Size (mm) - Helicopters - Max SAFE Lifting Capability (g,oz,lb) - Notes

315mm - T-Rex 450 - 450g, 15.87oz, 1lb - keep the total flying weight under 2.2lb
500mm - Logo 10 - 1360g, 48oz, 3lb - keep total flying weight under 9lb
550mm - 30 Size, Century Swift, Logo 14 - 1587g, 56oz, 3.5lb - keep total flying weight under 10lb
600mm - T-Rex 600, 50 size Helicopter, Logo 20/24 - 1815g, 64oz, 4lb -keep total flying under 11 lb
720mm - Gasser, Joker - 6800g, 240oz, 15lb -
800mm - Gasser, Maxi Joker - 9071g, 320oz, 20lb -
810mm - Gasser - 11300g, 400oz, 25lb -

====

In my experience, the load capacity probably includes the battery. Because my T-Rex 450 is just over the max weight of 2.2 pounds, and the camera weighs only 85 grams.

So in your case I would suspect the required helicopter would be a 500 or 550.