Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Main Forum - Helicopter Talk


Main Forum - Helicopter Talk R/C Helicopters and the people who fly them. VENDOR TOPICS DO NOT GO HERE. Full Scale Heli threads go in OT please


View Poll Results: What power system do you prefer for a 700 size electric?
BEC 37 26.43%
BEC + UPS Backup 41 29.29%
RX Pack 49 35.00%
RX Pack + UPS Backup 12 8.57%
Other 4 2.86%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 140. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2017, 06:10 PM   #61
Raptorapture
CHC Benefactor
 
Posts: 3,552
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Singapore
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bredler View Post
Whoa there buddy. Your heli's gonna crash! That voltage indicator only costs like $3!!!
__________________
Playing with gravity one heli at a time
Raptorapture is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 07:42 PM   #62
ve7nly
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Canada
Default

My personal preference is the straight 2S lipo for a couple of reasons.
1) I feel the wiring is simpler and I like simple. Just plug the lipo into the FBL controller and done. In fact, if I have the room for extra plugs, I'll plug it into 2 locations on the FBL controller just for an extra sense of security. Plus it has the bonus of being able to fill in empty servo connection points and helps keep everything tight.

2) I like the fact that I can plug in the 2S lipo, and never have to worry about the transmitter accidently activating the throttle. Yes I know that you can have all kinds of safety switches to keep that from happening but this way I don't need to worry about any of that. And I can work in any flight mode that I need to and not have to unplug motor leads or move the pinion gear from the main gear.

Yes I know it means having an extra battery to charge, it can lead to more weight, and you have to run HV (meaning more expensive) servos but I feel that running a separate 2S lipo works better for me
__________________
Darren

Yardbird 600 and 700, B-130x, T-Rex 600 Nite-Rex, T-Rex 800 and more....
ve7nly is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 01:03 AM   #63
Mercuriell
HF Support
 
Posts: 13,720
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Qld, AUSTRALIA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace Dude View Post
Why would you put a switch between the BEC output and the on-board electronics?

I have a switch between my buffer pack and on-board electronics, but never thought about putting one between the BEC and on-board electronics.
So you can hook up the main packs, put on canopy or cover and then walk the heli out to the flightline. Also powering up the gyro with the heli in its take off positions prevents sudden power up movements.
__________________
John
Mercuriell is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 07:15 PM   #64
curmudgeon
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,583
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montgomery County, Maryland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JesusFreak View Post
I thought Aligh was bundling Castle ESCs with their packages now?
I believe that changed within the past year. It is my understanding that Align now uses rebranded HobbyWing ESCs in the combo kits instead of Castle ESCs. However, it looks like the Align rebranded ESCs are a bit watered-down when compared to the "real" HobbyWing ESCs.
__________________
Synergy 806 & E5/Logo 700 & 550SX V2/Goblin 700 KSE, G380 KSE, G380; Kontronik ESCs; Spirit Pros; MKS/Futaba/XPERT/BK servos; KDE/Xnova/Kontronik/Scorpion motors
Sims on Mac:
neXt/RF7.5/Phoenix 5/RC7
Jeti DS-16C
& DX8 Gen 2, Citizen 259
curmudgeon is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 07:55 PM   #65
HeliSoCal
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: SoCal
Default

Put an r2 on it and call it a day
HeliSoCal is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 08:49 PM   #66
Ace Dude
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercuriell View Post
So you can hook up the main packs, put on canopy or cover and then walk the heli out to the flightline. Also powering up the gyro with the heli in its take off positions prevents sudden power up movements.
Thanks for sharing. Never thought of doing it that way.

I'm using a Kontronik ESC with a buffer pack & Futaba HD switch harness between the buffer pack and electronics. On the flightline I turn on the switch harness, let the gyro initialize, and then connect the main leads from the battery to the ESC.
Ace Dude is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 01:38 AM   #67
crasher47
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Hawaii
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ve7nly View Post
My personal preference is the straight 2S lipo for a couple of reasons.
1) I feel the wiring is simpler and I like simple. Just plug the lipo into the FBL controller and done. In fact, if I have the room for extra plugs, I'll plug it into 2 locations on the FBL controller just for an extra sense of security. Plus it has the bonus of being able to fill in empty servo connection points and helps keep everything tight.

2) I like the fact that I can plug in the 2S lipo, and never have to worry about the transmitter accidently activating the throttle. Yes I know that you can have all kinds of safety switches to keep that from happening but this way I don't need to worry about any of that. And I can work in any flight mode that I need to and not have to unplug motor leads or move the pinion gear from the main gear.

Yes I know it means having an extra battery to charge, it can lead to more weight, and you have to run HV (meaning more expensive) servos but I feel that running a separate 2S lipo works better for me
I do the same with my 700 and two 600s using Pulse 2550mah 2S lipo and Spektrum 2200 mah LIFE on the 600's because of 6 volt servos. Many flights and no problems. Charging an extra battery is not a problem for me. On one of the 600's I had a ESC heating problem so I run a fan attached to the ESC and power the fan off the Life.
crasher47 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 06:42 AM   #68
JesusFreak
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,014
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA
Default

Any of you who are running a simple 2S pack into HV components run into voltage drop issues/brown outs?
__________________
"Keep it pithy."
eAurora, TREX600E, TREX 600 HFEX, TREX500, Vibe 50
(Professional grade pretzel maker).
JesusFreak is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 07:07 AM   #69
Relisys190
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,084
 

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Oldsmar, Florida , USA, Earth
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JesusFreak View Post
Any of you who are running a simple 2S pack into HV components run into voltage drop issues/brown outs?

Never in 260 flights on my Goblin 12S machine.


But I dont use a true Rx pack (which i've heard have low C ratings.
I use a 30C 2S lipo with low IR numbers capable of supporting some amperage.
__________________
*LINKS*
* G660c IKON * T-rex 500 *308DUO *450x #429
Relisys190 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 07:56 AM   #70
Thunder Fighter
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,384
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Melbourne Oz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Relisys190 View Post
Never in 260 flights on my Goblin 12S machine.


But I dont use a true Rx pack (which i've heard have low C ratings.
I use a 30C 2S lipo with low IR numbers capable of supporting some amperage.
+1.

The Lipos sold as Rx packs I've tried were terrible with large voltage drops, using standard 25C+ packs means voltage drops are minimal. I usually set my voltage alarm to 7.4v and it doesn't trigger till the pack is down below 50% used.

//Dennis.
__________________
SOXOS DB7 : SOXOS 600 : SOXOS 550 : SOXOS F3C : Protos Max V2 stretch 800
Protos 380 : SAB Goblin 700 nightflyer : Jeti DS-16 : Mini Protos FBL Stretch : Logo 600
www.soxosaustralia.com.au
Thunder Fighter is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 03:17 PM   #71
im4711
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,335
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cape Coral, FL, USA
Default

all depends on the BEC. For smaller helis with 8V BEC I simply use BEC. On larger once and specifically the more costly systems I am using BEC with backup option (in my case Optipower Ultra Guard). And I do have still one where the BEC does not deliver 8V so I use a 2s battery instead.
__________________
Kontronik, Switch Blades, Bavarian Demon, TDR, Diabolo, HeliBaby, Takumi and Banshee
im4711 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 03:25 PM   #72
dominator
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,361
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Alabama
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JesusFreak View Post
Any of you who are running a simple 2S pack into HV components run into voltage drop issues/brown outs?
Never. But I have had an external bec fail and watched my heli fall from about 200ft up like a lawn dart.. Which is why I only run 2s lipo direct now.
__________________
Team Compass
Cool Power fuel
Tesla RC Designs
dominator is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 04:47 AM   #73
Xfreak3D
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: thailand
Default

why stil need a bec when Esc now has 12s bec built in like a kosmik or hobbywing.. i guess the new scorpion esc wil hv bec too..lesser one lipos to handle.. no need to worry you forgot to bring rx pack to field .

12s built in bec provides the easiest wiring too
__________________
Logo550sx MiniV~ Logo600sx NEO~Trex700X NEO... V Bar Control~
Xfreak3D is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 07:17 AM   #74
exiged
Registered Users
 
Posts: 256
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Relisys190 View Post
nice and light. How many flights can you get on it?

I usually limit to 3 flights on my 2200mah 2S. It yeilds 4.00 volts per cell after 3 flights. Safe and plenty of headroom for voltage sag.

I bring two 2200mah to the field and get 6 flights on the big bird.
I was using a 2200 also but decided to make my 700 a lighter machine by stripping a few bits off it and reducing the rx pack size.

I get 3x 4:40 flights from a 1000mah pack (nanotech 25-50c) leaving around 70% in it, so i could squeeze another 1 or 2 probably.

Ive never had the back up guard kick in during flight and these packs weigh next to nothing
__________________
Goblin 570, Goblin BT700, 700L dominator
exiged is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 07:26 AM   #75
exiged
Registered Users
 
Posts: 256
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JesusFreak View Post
How "safe" is it to use HV servos and just run a 2 Cell LIPO? I read someplace this was risky. On my 700 size Heli I use a ReactorX (which I'd love to find another of), with a 3 cell lipo.

I want to setup my new heli as simple as possible, but not risk failure. I have a 7200BX, which is not designed for high amp service, but my thought was I could run the power leads directly to the servos and bypass the receiver. I did something like this on my TREX 500, but it's been awhile. My biggest concern is that a simple 2 cell lipo may suffer a sag in voltage and do me in.
i run the AR7200BX on both my helis with a 2s lipo straight into the fbl unit. ive never had an issue. i always now run a backup guard (ultraguard), for the sake of 40 a back up guard is essential in my opinion whichever set up you go for, but 2s lipo is the way forward for me.
__________________
Goblin 570, Goblin BT700, 700L dominator
exiged is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 07:43 AM   #76
cyclo
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,954
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by exiged View Post
i run the AR7200BX on both my helis with a 2s lipo straight into the fbl unit. ive never had an issue. i always now run a backup guard (ultraguard), for the sake of 40 a back up guard is essential in my opinion whichever set up you go for, but 2s lipo is the way forward for me.
I have a very similar setup on my 700 helis... Currently using a 2S 1800 mah 25C Zippy Compact lipo plugged directly to A77200BX via two leads plus an Optipower UG for backup. I also have telemetry to warn me of low voltage conditions.



My smaller helis are powered by internal/external BECs. All have been reliable... Knock on wood.
__________________
KBDD Team Pilot / Team Compass
Compass Chronos | 7HVU | 550U | Atom 5.5 | Atom 500 | Gaui X3 #1 | X3 #2 | Hoverthings FLIP-FPV
cyclo is online now        Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright © 2004-2016 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.