Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 250 Class Electric Helicopters


250 Class Electric Helicopters 250 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2008, 06:18 PM   #21
crash1000
Registered Users
 
Posts: 515
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: den haag
Default

are the upgrade parts included in that pakage?
__________________
Gaui X7
Gaui X5
crash1000 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 09:23 PM   #22
Ozydego
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Westerville, Ohio
Default Setup update from Assurance

Setup per manual
11. Now Limit LED lights up.
12. Move the rudder stick and observe your tail pitch travel. Move the rudder stick left until the tail pitch slider reaches the end, then move to the right until pitch slider reaches the other end.
13. While holding the rudder stick, press SET button on gyro.

Setup per Assurance

11. Now Limit LED lights up.
12. Move the rudder stick and observe your tail pitch travel. Move the rudder stick LEFT until the tail pitch slider reaches the end,
13. While holding the rudder stick at that spot, press SET button on gyro.
14. Finish the setup, then go BACK through the setup process again, but this time, Move the rudder stick RIGHT until the tail pitch slider reaches the end,
15. While holding the rudder stick at that spot, press SET button on gyro.
16. Now finish the original instructions


A customer was having issues with his tail limits, he was always having binding with the servo. We went through the setup a few times without luck and finally called Assurance. They corrected the setup procedure over the phone and that fixed the problem. The real issue in the end that caused the binding in the first place was the ball end being 12mm out from center instead of 5mm like the manuals states. This caused the limits to be out of whack and thats when we noticed the original procedure to not work.
Ozydego is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 09:43 PM   #23
butters149
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Monterey Park, CA
Default

so it will set limits for both end points?
butters149 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 02:14 PM   #24
Ozydego
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Westerville, Ohio
Default

From what I understand, not at the same time, you have to go through the setup twice to set both points
Ozydego is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 10:30 PM   #25
cloudbase73
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2008
Default

So, is it recommended to use the setup per the manual or use what Assurance has suggested. How can I confirm that the limits for both end points have been setup correctly.
cloudbase73 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 01:10 PM   #26
Ozydego
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Westerville, Ohio
Default

I would say that when you are done, you dont get binding and the slider goes all the way out...
Ozydego is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 10:27 AM   #27
Rgoh
Registered Users
 
Posts: 146
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Singapore
Default

I am unable to set the limit of my GP750. After setting 1520, DS, NOR. I press SET to come into Limit. According to the latest instruction in page 2, I should hold left stick then press SET, exit the setting, enter again to do the right stick.
When in limit menu, my status led is green and blinking, while the limit led is green and solid. When I put left rudder, both the status and limit led is green and solid. While holding left stick, I press SET. Then it goes into delay. I did the same thing for right rudder, but this time status is red and blinking while limit led is still green and blinking. Exit the setting. Check my limit, it's still the same as before.
Am I missing something? This is my first experience with Align gyro. Im using Ino-Lab 201 BTW.
Rgoh is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 04:26 PM   #28
Grant_beltcp
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,201
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Aldridge (nr birmingham)
Default

I set mine today with a new servo (it was binding at both extremes) and it the way it said in the manual. Give left rdder untill it gets to the right point, then give right rudder to the right point and then keeping it there pressed the button. It seemed to set both limits fine.
__________________
Sponsored by - Team Align UK- CSM - MKS Servo's UK - Kontronik Drives
T-rex 700E v2 - 700E DFC
Grant_beltcp is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 08:29 PM   #29
Rgoh
Registered Users
 
Posts: 146
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Singapore
Default

I forget to set the ball 5mm away, put it right at the last hole. It was already the min. limit the gyro can go. My bad...
Rgoh is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 10:20 AM   #30
steves
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NJ
Default

I'm having PROBLEMS:

I have everythign set up properly...
but when I go to spin up, the tail spins hard right, when it gets up to headspeed
or the HEAD will tilt hard to the right, just before lift off?

Also, what should the Gyro be set to in the DX7 radio? 60-70%?
__________________
Gravity Works...
steves is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 08:48 PM   #31
Ozydego
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Westerville, Ohio
Default

Sounds like you need to change the direction of the gyro, dunno about the head,
Ozydego is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 03:00 AM   #32
dkpodder
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Denmark
Default

I've got a wierd tail-issue too.

Super combo, stock setup. Initially I had the binding issue, but now I've sanded the hub down, and it seems to be better. I can change tail pitch by hand, allthough it needs high amount of force...

Gyro set up as per instructions in this thread, and full delay, small heli, 25-35 % gain in futaba AVCS mode, ball is aprox. 5 mm. from center. Tested with a 3154, but same issue.

The problem:
When hovering, I push the rudder stick, and turn the heli just 1/8 - 1/4 turn, it starts wagging, and i 5-10 wags it settels down again. The problem increases by increasing the gain, but i've got a very bad-holding tail at 25% gain, and the problem is still there.

I'm allmost at the point of trying the spartan-cure, but normally I do not quit when it should be possible to work it out.

Any suggestions to this problem ?
dkpodder is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 06:27 AM   #33
gixxerjeff
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Jersey
Default

Try cutting down your spare tail blades down to 30mm bolt hole to edge.Works well to get rid of the wag,but I dont know about the 420 servo,Im using a JR290....
gixxerjeff is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 09:38 AM   #34
jwtje
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: the netherlands
Default

I got rid of the gyro and servo all together replaced it with my trusty 401 and futaba 9257 servo i took the tail apart sanded everything and made it as smooth as possible, for me this was the cure it flies wonderfull now tail holds great.
jwtje is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 10:36 PM   #35
Ozydego
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Westerville, Ohio
Default

You stated full delay??? The gyro should have zero delay in it, or center stick with the top LED blinking red. That would cause a wag. What aso concerns me it that it takes a lot of force to move the tail by hand, it should be smooth as butter, I have seen tails get gummed up by locktite getting in the brass bushing going from the slider to the hub, I would start taking things off starting at the hub and find out where the tail gets easy to move back and forth... then work your way back making sure everything is smooth
Ozydego is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 11:59 PM   #36
ndoren
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Albuquerque
Default

Bert Kammerer states somewhere on this site that he uses FULL (max) delay on all his gyros, which allows him to increase gain/holding without wag. Interesting.

See: https://www.helifreak.com/showthread...=102326&page=6
Posting #53
ndoren is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 12:43 AM   #37
dkpodder
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Denmark
Default

Without the motor running, the tail is silky smooth, but when I test with 70% throttle, it takes a lot of force to move the pushod.
dkpodder is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 03:18 PM   #38
GaeGuu
Registered Users
 
Posts: 44
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Switzerland
Exclamation S3154 did the job

Hi,

I got one of those 250 super combos today .. and I already thought there must be something else in that small box but not my awaited 250

The build went pretty smoth but while setting up the tail I got stuck!
I tried all of your ideas and recommendations but I think there is no one who could make this DS420 holding the tail.
I really tried the whole afternoon even with sanding and and and .. messed up radio and everything.

Finally I went to an expensive electronics shop and got one of those S3154 .. and guess what: It just worked!!

So GP750 is fine and works like explained in this thread but you have to replace this DS420 with something else like S3154 or 290 (which is not available in switzerland) and your tail will just be fine.

Cheers,
Alex
GaeGuu is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 07:41 AM   #39
mipo
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Default

Quote:
11. Now Limit LED lights up.
12. Move the rudder stick and observe your tail pitch travel. Move the rudder stick left until the tail pitch slider reaches the end, then move to the right until pitch slider reaches the other end.
13. While holding the rudder stick, press SET button on gyro.
This is the part where I'm stuck at. So, the limit led shows up, then i move rudder stick from left to right then in the middle and press SET button. But nothing happens. I also tried to move to the left then SET button, to the right then SET button but it just won't work. Any ideas how to make it work?
Thanks in advance.
mipo is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 08:20 AM   #40
johnnychimpo
Registered Users
 
Posts: 578
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Killeen, TX
Default

No, move far left until pitch slider at end of travel and then right and HOLD the stick and press the set button.
__________________
Trex 450Sport, AH64D Longbow Apache
AMA 470413
NMPRA 26Q
johnnychimpo is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright © 2004-2016 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.