Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Main Forum - Helicopter Talk


Main Forum - Helicopter Talk R/C Helicopters and the people who fly them. VENDOR TOPICS DO NOT GO HERE. Full Scale Heli threads go in OT please


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-29-2016, 02:16 PM   #41
Argypak
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Australia, Victoria,
Default

I'll start using the app on the weekend and post my thoughts after


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Argypak is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 03:29 PM   #42
Cra-Z-1
Registered Users
 
Posts: 409
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: US,UT
Default

What a great thing to develop! I've been around and tried several others and one I found was really fantastic. I used it for awhile and thought it had the data backed up. Went and traded in my phone, I lost 2 years worth of flight/battery/repair data. Wasn't happy about that at all and just quit using apps altogether.

The one thing I noticed about every single other app out there was that they don't allow for a case with more than just a flight battery. Both of my largest elecs fly with an Rx batt and the main flight battery. It would be very helpful to have the option for multiples per setup.
Cra-Z-1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 07:55 PM   #43
Flyingzook
Registered Users
 
Posts: 150
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Aussie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cra-Z-1 View Post
The one thing I noticed about every single other app out there was that they don't allow for a case with more than just a flight battery. Both of my largest elecs fly with an Rx batt and the main flight battery. It would be very helpful to have the option for multiples per setup.

+1
Also nitros have the receiver pack.... Would be hard to do though because most use 1 receiver pack for multiple flights




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Flyingzook is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 02:50 AM   #44
DrSteve
Registered Users
 
Posts: 177
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norwich, UK
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cra-Z-1 View Post
The one thing I noticed about every single other app out there was that they don't allow for a case with more than just a flight battery. Both of my largest elecs fly with an Rx batt and the main flight battery. It would be very helpful to have the option for multiples per setup.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyingzook View Post
+1
Also nitros have the receiver pack.... Would be hard to do though because most use 1 receiver pack for multiple flights
Receiver packs are definitely on the ToDo list. I will need to define a maximum number of flights per charge, then keep count of them.

Cheers.
Stephen
__________________
RCHN #280
Goblin 700
Align T-Rex 600EFL Pro, 550E DFC and 500 PRO DFC
Blade mCPX and mSR. Spektrum DX9
RC Flight and Battery Log App
DrSteve is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 09:46 AM   #45
Cra-Z-1
Registered Users
 
Posts: 409
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: US,UT
Default

Sweet!!
Cra-Z-1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2016, 04:20 AM   #46
Coco66
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,119
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Madrid, Spain / Torino, Italy
Default

Steve, a small wish: would it be possible, while viewing the detail of a battery, swipe to go to next battery (and prev on the other side)? I found myself trying to compare the number of cycles, and finding it complicated...
__________________
OXY2 soon! ♦ Warp 360Blade 450XBlade 450X NightflyerGoblin 500 ♦ 2 X mCPX v2 ♦ night fly mQXLadyMQXnano QXnano QX FPVInductrixDX8 G1
Coco66 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2016, 06:02 PM   #47
JoeRuscito
Registered Users
 
Posts: 185
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pompano, FL
Default

a couple more requests:

A way to graph lipo charges by capacity taken back

Be able to see cycles next to battery without entering into that battery. So that you can quickly see which lipos have been used more than others.

Maybe a way to designate two packs that get used together in series as one pack so that IR/capacity readings can be added separate under the same "battery" but they are flown as one pack. Not sure how to best implement this but its an idea.

Loving the app so far!
__________________
Goblin 700c, SK-720 & GPS / Goblin 380, SK-720 & GPS / Blade 130X / Blade 180CFX / ZMR250, CC3D
JoeRuscito is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2016, 08:17 PM   #48
Argypak
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Australia, Victoria,
Default

Started putting a few logs in today and noticed one of my flights didn't get recorded. Weird but I'll keep an eye on it


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Argypak is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2016, 08:40 PM   #49
Argypak
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Australia, Victoria,
Default

Noticed once a flight logged that batteries that have been used still appear in the battery selection for the next flight


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Argypak is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2017, 03:28 AM   #50
DrSteve
Registered Users
 
Posts: 177
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norwich, UK
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Argypak View Post
Started putting a few logs in today and noticed one of my flights didn't get recorded. Weird but I'll keep an eye on it
Is it possible you hit the back button (this is the same as cancel) rather than hitting the Save button?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Argypak View Post
Noticed once a flight logged that batteries that have been used still appear in the battery selection for the next flight
I cannot reproduce that problem. Did you have 'Charge and Fly' selected? This will list all compatible packs, whether charged or not.
__________________
RCHN #280
Goblin 700
Align T-Rex 600EFL Pro, 550E DFC and 500 PRO DFC
Blade mCPX and mSR. Spektrum DX9
RC Flight and Battery Log App
DrSteve is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2017, 03:30 AM   #51
DrSteve
Registered Users
 
Posts: 177
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norwich, UK
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coco66 View Post
Steve, a small wish: would it be possible, while viewing the detail of a battery, swipe to go to next battery (and prev on the other side)? I found myself trying to compare the number of cycles, and finding it complicated...
I'll see what I can do, but it might not be trivial without setting up a huge tabbed paged containing all of the packs.
__________________
RCHN #280
Goblin 700
Align T-Rex 600EFL Pro, 550E DFC and 500 PRO DFC
Blade mCPX and mSR. Spektrum DX9
RC Flight and Battery Log App
DrSteve is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2017, 03:42 AM   #52
Argypak
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Australia, Victoria,
Default

Yes I did, that explains it


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Argypak is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2017, 03:53 AM   #53
Argypak
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Australia, Victoria,
Default

I didn't understand what charge and fly meant


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Argypak is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2017, 10:38 AM   #54
jharkin
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,378
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Holliston, MA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrSteve View Post
Receiver packs are definitely on the ToDo list. I will need to define a maximum number of flights per charge, then keep count of them.

Cheers.
Stephen
If you are going to get into tracking receiver batteries separately then you need to have the option of multiple receiver packs for parallel redundant operation. Giant scale and jet guys sometimes use as many as 3 onboard batteries (parallel for RX and separate ignition or jet ECU pack)

Does the fuel aircraft option allow for setting up multiple different fuel mixes and track consumption per aircraft?




I haven't downloaded it to try yet, I'll wait on the fix for the Android import from Techdad.......
__________________
-Jeremy | AMA L7278
Whiplash-Gas, Helix G700, T-Rex 450 FBL conversion
A bunch of elec, glow & gas airplanes
, Futaba 14SG
jharkin is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2017, 11:04 PM   #55
joelr
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Keller, TX
Default

Looks like the individual logs only display the current year. If I choose the option to log all models I can get the full list, but the individual aircraft and battery lists only have this year's logs. The IR graph is the same way.

This should show all logs, and perhaps some filters for current year, month, etc can be a feature request.

Please let me know if this is just an issue I'm having or if others can duplicate. I'm running iOS version 1.4.1.

Edit-this might be an issue with renaming objects, it looks like renaming might cause the object to present as new.
__________________
Team Gaui USA/Empire Hobby | Team Optipower USA | Team Halo
Gaui NX7 - Gaui X7 - Gaui R5 - Gaui X5 - Gaui X4II - Gaui NX4 - Gaui X3L - Gaui X3 - Gaui X2 - Velos 880
AMA 267329
joelr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 03:48 AM   #56
DrSteve
Registered Users
 
Posts: 177
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norwich, UK
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jharkin View Post
If you are going to get into tracking receiver batteries separately then you need to have the option of multiple receiver packs for parallel redundant operation. Giant scale and jet guys sometimes use as many as 3 onboard batteries (parallel for RX and separate ignition or jet ECU pack)

Does the fuel aircraft option allow for setting up multiple different fuel mixes and track consumption per aircraft?




I haven't downloaded it to try yet, I'll wait on the fix for the Android import from Techdad.......
Hi,

I'm not aware of any problems now with Android import of T3chDad's data in the current release 1.4.3. Though I am still waiting for Apple to review and release that same version for iOS (they always take a few days to review things, compared to a couple of hours for Google). If you would like me to test your T3chDad backup before you buy the app, feel free to PM me.

Currently there is no concept of different fuel types, you can configure the tank size on a wet fuel model, and when you fly you state approx. how much of the tank was used (in 10% increments). The app then keep track of the total fuel through that model. You also get a total fuel used (though I should probably separate this into nitro/gas/kerosene used).

On receiver packs, now that is getting complicated. I probably need to aim it at what I guess 90% of models flyers use, which is a single pack.

Cheers,
Stephen
__________________
RCHN #280
Goblin 700
Align T-Rex 600EFL Pro, 550E DFC and 500 PRO DFC
Blade mCPX and mSR. Spektrum DX9
RC Flight and Battery Log App
DrSteve is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 03:49 AM   #57
DrSteve
Registered Users
 
Posts: 177
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norwich, UK
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joelr View Post
Looks like the individual logs only display the current year. If I choose the option to log all models I can get the full list, but the individual aircraft and battery lists only have this year's logs. The IR graph is the same way.

This should show all logs, and perhaps some filters for current year, month, etc can be a feature request.

Please let me know if this is just an issue I'm having or if others can duplicate. I'm running iOS version 1.4.1.

Edit-this might be an issue with renaming objects, it looks like renaming might cause the object to present as new.
Can I confirm, you think renaming packs or models has messed up the logs? That should work correctly, I will need to investigate further.
__________________
RCHN #280
Goblin 700
Align T-Rex 600EFL Pro, 550E DFC and 500 PRO DFC
Blade mCPX and mSR. Spektrum DX9
RC Flight and Battery Log App
DrSteve is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 06:33 AM   #58
joelr
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Keller, TX
Default

Thanks for the quick response!

I renamed some batteries, and the previous log entries no longer show up for those batteries, including IR graphing. Renaming back to the original name restores access to the old log entries but any entries under the new name are lost.

I renamed an aircraft, and when I look at the log entries for that aircraft it's blank (log icon greyed out and unclickable). If I select "log all models", the old entries show up on the list but if I click to view details the app crashes to desktop. Renaming the model back to the original entry restores access to the log entries.
__________________
Team Gaui USA/Empire Hobby | Team Optipower USA | Team Halo
Gaui NX7 - Gaui X7 - Gaui R5 - Gaui X5 - Gaui X4II - Gaui NX4 - Gaui X3L - Gaui X3 - Gaui X2 - Velos 880
AMA 267329
joelr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 07:02 AM   #59
joelr
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Keller, TX
Default

Feature request!

-option for a dark background theme

-addition of a field on the IR test for measured capacity that can be used for logging over time. A graph for this would be wonderful, with the option to include all active batteries.

-addition of a to-do list (can be per model). Would be nice to include those items rather than using a separate app to track.

Keep up the good work!
__________________
Team Gaui USA/Empire Hobby | Team Optipower USA | Team Halo
Gaui NX7 - Gaui X7 - Gaui R5 - Gaui X5 - Gaui X4II - Gaui NX4 - Gaui X3L - Gaui X3 - Gaui X2 - Velos 880
AMA 267329
joelr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 03:58 PM   #60
jharkin
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,378
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Holliston, MA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrSteve View Post
Hi,

I'm not aware of any problems now with Android import of T3chDad's data in the current release 1.4.3. Though I am still waiting for Apple to review and release that same version for iOS (they always take a few days to review things, compared to a couple of hours for Google). If you would like me to test your T3chDad backup before you buy the app, feel free to PM me.

Currently there is no concept of different fuel types, you can configure the tank size on a wet fuel model, and when you fly you state approx. how much of the tank was used (in 10% increments). The app then keep track of the total fuel through that model. You also get a total fuel used (though I should probably separate this into nitro/gas/kerosene used).

On receiver packs, now that is getting complicated. I probably need to aim it at what I guess 90% of models flyers use, which is a single pack.

Cheers,
Stephen
Actually the majority of giant scale plane and jet pilots are running multiple packs, and those communities are much larger than the heli community. However on the flip side, most gas pilots probably don't care about tracking RX pack cycles (i don't) and many use LiFe, LiIon and even NiMH still so it's not critical.

Total fuel through each model is good. It would be nice to be able to create multiple fuel types like in Techdad, because some fuel pilots carry multiple blends for different engines.

If Android to Android import is fixed I will check it out.
__________________
-Jeremy | AMA L7278
Whiplash-Gas, Helix G700, T-Rex 450 FBL conversion
A bunch of elec, glow & gas airplanes
, Futaba 14SG
jharkin is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright © 2004-2016 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.