Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Mikado V-BAR


Mikado V-BAR Mikado V-Stabi/V-BAR Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2013, 06:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Default Vbar Setup Android software connection problems - Solved

I've been having a lot of problems finding a phone that will let the android software connect. It used to work great back in 2011 when the software was first released, but since ICS has been around its very hit and miss. I still use an old galaxy s2. If I use something newer it just comes up with error. The phone pairs with the bluetooth but the Vbar software just keeps coming up with error.

The Vbar software for android hasn't been updated since 2011, which I suspect is the problem with newer phones.

I've tried several phones and firmwares. Does anyone know a combination that works everytime?

Last edited by ChocksAway; 04-22-2013 at 09:49 PM..
ChocksAway is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-22-2013, 07:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,220
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default

works fine on a galaxy s3 with jelley bean
__________________
Diabolo 550 Vbar NEO : Diabolo 600 Vbar NEO : Diabolo 700 Vbar NEO: MSH Protos MAX V2 Vbar NEO : Logo 600SX V2 Vbar NEO : SAB G380 Vbar NEO : OXY3 TE : Vbar Control : Citizen 735
shadco is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2013, 02:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 326
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default Sv: Vbar Setup Android software connection problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadco View Post
works fine on a galaxy s3 with jelley bean
Same here. Works great.

On the S2,
What version of android are you running?
4.0.x....?
There was a version with massive BT problems, I had that too when using an S2, (now on S3), however the S2 is now updated to 4.1.2, and no problems.
MatsSweden is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2013, 06:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MatsSweden View Post
Same here. Works great.

On the S2,
What version of android are you running?
4.0.x....?
There was a version with massive BT problems, I had that too when using an S2, (now on S3), however the S2 is now updated to 4.1.2, and no problems.
Sounds like a bit of consistency with the s3 on Jellybean.

At the moment I'm using ICS 4.0.4 for no other reason than that it's the only one I can get to work. It's very flaky tho and takes me about 5 to 10 goes to connect, but does eventually work. On my other phone I have 4.0.1, but I've never gotten that to work. I cant remember the exact versions, but I've tried others between those that have not worked. Gingerbread used to work reliably. I even bought an el cheapo star n9776 with ICS 4.1.1 hoping that I could get a reliable setup with vbar, but it was a waste of money and never can get it to connect.

I didn't realise 4.1.2 was out for the s2. Maybe I should try that? I just fear loosing the ability to connect alltogether if I change from 4.0.4.
ChocksAway is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2013, 08:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,460
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Default

I have found that once I establish initial pairing with the phone, on subsequent sessions I don't actually chose the VBar Bluetooth using the phone- I choose it using the VBar software (in otherwords, don't connect using the phone bluetooth settings- use the vBar.) It seems to always work better this way.
__________________
Blade 130X- My cul-del-sac flyer.
Blade 450X w/MSH Brain - My Ferrari
T-Rex 600 EFL Pro w/SK-720 BE, KDE600XF & SK-GPS - My BMW
T-Rex 700 HV DFC w/VBar, Kosmik 200 & KDE700XF - My muscle heli
HFMan is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2013, 09:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Default Great News!!!

ITS FIXED!!!!

Upgrading to Android 4.1.2 fixed it in an instant. Connects first time every time no matter what I do. I've tried it on all my helis that have an onboard bluetooth dongle and as soon as I select the appropriate dongle in the Vbar software, it connects within a second.

I've been struggling with this issue for about 6 months now and it finally works, couldn't be happier, thanks for the help guys.
ChocksAway is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2013, 07:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,847
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2007
Default

I didn't know there was android software for vbar. Where can I down load it?
__________________
Micah
mhills51 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2013, 10:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,959
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Default

It's in play store it's not free but pretty cheap. just search for vbar setup.
__________________
Protos 380 Vbar NEO, HW 60A V4, XNOVA 890KV
Raptor E700 700MX 510KV, Castle 120HV w/Vbar Neo Gov 1960
Working on getting Protos max
Vcontrol
tshelby73 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2013, 10:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,847
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2007
Default

I found it, Thanks It's on my phone, but it says it's a demo? It better not be for $7.50
__________________
Micah
mhills51 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-25-2013, 01:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 433
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Default

Hi! I have samsung s3. Vbar app and mini vbar pro with bluetooth adapter. I can not get it connected. The s3 donīt find the bluetooth. Whats wrong?
338federal is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1