Technical Notice Concerning Power Supplies! - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > FMA/Revolectrix Product Support


FMA/Revolectrix Product Support FMA/Revolectrix Factory Product Support


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-05-2014, 10:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 475
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Frederick, MD
Default Technical Notice Concerning Power Supplies!





Recommendation from our Engineering Department Regarding:

Product: E-Fuel 1200W/50A Power Supply
Model No: SK-200015


When powering any Revolectrix Cellpro Charger or Battery Workstation using the E-Fuel 1200W/50A power supply:

1) First connect the Power Supply to AC power BEFORE connecting the charger to the power supply

2) Set the voltage on the Power Supply so it is within the operating range of the Cellpro Charger or Battery Workstation you will be powering

3) Wait at least 15 seconds

4) Then connect the Cellpro Charger or Battery Workstation to the Power Supply

5) Conversely, disconnect the Cellpro Charger or Battery Workstation from the Power Supply BEFORE disconnecting the Power Supply from AC power

We appreciate your business!
__________________
FMA
"A Veteran -- whether active duty, discharged, retired, or reserve -- is someone who at one point in his life, wrote a blank check made payable to: 'The United States of America,' for an amount of 'up to, and including his life." __ Unknown
Howard Matos is offline        Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-05-2014, 02:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,157
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Default

I just noticed that. Glad I did not get one!

I have the older 60 amp 1200 watt which I hope is ok. Pain in the butt to connect/disconnect every time you want to use it, especially if buried in a charging case!
__________________
Rob
Team pilot Lynx Heli Innovations.
Jeti DS-16, Oxy 2&3, Goblin 380, 500, 630, and 700 competition, Airwolf 600 scale heli, Brain/Ikon 2, Spartan VX1e, Sk 540 and 720, YGE Hobbywing and Castle.
Shogun71 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 02:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,844
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: NS, Canada
Default

Whats the issue? I have been using one for over a year with no probs thus far.
__________________
T-Rex 700 Dominator vx1e, Goblin 570 vx1e, T-Rex 600N DFC vx1e, Jeti Ds-14
NSFlyer12 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 07:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,584
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NSFlyer12 View Post
Whats the issue? I have been using one for over a year with no probs thus far.
MANY Powerlabs have been ruined (forced to be sent in for RMA) due to this issue. Your particular E-Fuel supply may not exhibit the problem, but many do, so the recommendation for all E-Fuel users is to follow the above procedure. It's a precaution to save a lot of headache.

The issue is that there appears to be a large, brief power spike sent by certain E-Fuel supplies when they're turned on. Once the supply is powered on, the charger can be plugged in.
__________________
hemp is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 08:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,844
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: NS, Canada
Default

Ok thanks, appreciate the reply.

Sent from my SGH-I757M using Tapatalk
__________________
T-Rex 700 Dominator vx1e, Goblin 570 vx1e, T-Rex 600N DFC vx1e, Jeti Ds-14
NSFlyer12 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 01:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Georgia USA
Default

"a large, brief power spike sent by certain E-Fuel supplies"?
That is not acceptable behavior for modern regulated power supplies.

Back in the 1970's, we designed and built high and low voltage power supplies
for avionics. Both supply types were switching (40Khz), and were designed so that
the output was correct and stable before it was available to the load. Should a supply fail (out of spec), the output was "crow-barred" to protect the load.

The HV supply was intended to supply 12-15Kv (adjustable) at a continuous 1A or more, and capable of being turned on and off at kilohertz rates. A capability to survive
a load "tick" or very momentary short was a required feature. Output voltage and current regulation were part of the requirements, such that the HV supply could be rapidly switched from CV to CC and back without unwanted behavior.

In summary, the "hobby grade" supplies may not be what they are cracked up to be.
When I was in the market for a DC supply for a DPL-8, it turned out that flea bay had some decent supplies available at reasonable prices. The two I bought are industrial supplies, rated for sensitive equipment use.
(TDK-Lambda) 18-28VDC adjustable 24V normal. 65A
Changes in output voltage as shown on the DPL-8 graphing is about 5mv with loading changes.
The fan is a bit loud, and overkill for the currents I normally draw. There are standard P/C fans that are usable,
but the fan pin out must be changed.
The price I paid was about 10% of the current catalog prices. One supply showed some use, the other was, as far as I can tell, brand new surplus.

If you intend to use two supplies in series - - -
It's preferable to use supplies that have a "floating ground", and the wiring options to properly control two supplies in series.

Last edited by CharlieK; 09-20-2014 at 08:14 PM..
CharlieK is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 10:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 12,295
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Default

Damn. I have one too ... is there a way to check this? Mine is permanently connected in my charging case under a cover.
Jeff_Barrett is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2014, 01:16 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,584
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff_Barrett View Post
Damn. I have one too ... is there a way to check this? Mine is permanently connected in my charging case under a cover.
Perhaps you could modify the case a bit so the powerlab-to-supply plugs are accessible.

As far as I know, the only way to see the spike would be with an oscilloscope. Maybe Greg can chime in with other options. You can also contact REVO USA (301-829-5533) and see if they have information about specific E-Fuel model dates / etc.
__________________
hemp is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2014, 07:07 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA
Default

For anyone using this supply affected by this issue I'd suggest contacting the power supply manufacturer/reseller to see if they are aware of the issue and have a solution available.
Ace Dude is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2014, 06:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,089
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bothell,Wa
Default

You need a scope to see this. The transient is too fast to be seen on DVM.
__________________
Revolectrix Ambassador - Charger Specialist Revolectrix.com 10% discount for Batteries GCAM16


Gregor99 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2014, 11:41 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 12,295
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Default

Hmmmm. I may have to look into building some sort of surge protection ....
Jeff_Barrett is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2014, 04:09 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lowell area, MA
Default

Could capacitors on the PS output help reduce the spike, if it's very brief?

Not yet being actually connected would be a lot better, of course.

Sent using Tapatalk.
__________________
Gaui X5, iKon, Edge 100, CC BEC Pro.
Tarot 450 Pro FBL, Mini VBar, Ice Lite 50.
BL mCP X, Nano QX, FrSky Taranis, iCharger 308Duo.
RedOctobyr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2014, 07:44 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 95
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Fenton, MO
Default

I can tell you from personal experience that it does not take long for the spikes to destroy the charger. I went thru 2 powerlab 8's in less then a month of use. So if it has not happened yet you may be ok but why take the chance.

My Efuel is now sitting on the shelf where it will stay until I feel comfortable selling it to someone else or till I get a response back from the manufacturer.

Sure glad I found out the problem before I went thru another one.
acr0679 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2014, 08:16 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 696
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Walpole,MA
Default

Interesting....
__________________
New England Heli Crew member, Flying Loopers member.
Blade Nano CPX, 120 SR, MCPX BL, 300x, 500 3D
Trex 450, Align 600e Pro, Goblin 700, Gaui X3
edin508 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 03:07 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Singapore
Default

I suppose the more popular HP DPS 600PB converted server power supplies remain free of such issues? (Which it should be as they are afterall designed as proper server power supplies)
yhchoong is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2014, 10:20 AM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: spain
Default

good
the problem was not the power Supli SKYRC 60a
50a the supposedly put the system (Power Factor Correction (PFC)
to correct the problem
I use the skyrc50a since February on my 308 and my heater on wheels without any problem for now
or is a problem that is appearing with time of use
a greeting
txili is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2014, 11:13 AM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: spain
Default

good
the problem was not the power Supli SKYRC 60a
50a the supposedly put the system (Power Factor Correction (PFC)
to correct the problem
I use the skyrc50a since February on my 308 and my heater on wheels without any problem for now
or is a problem that is appearing with time of use
a greeting
txili is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 06:07 PM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lowell area, MA
Default

Howard, thank you for sharing this.

Can you confirm that the issue is a voltage spike on powerup, as hemp stated below? Or provide any more details that would help users understand the issue?

For instance, if something like a voltage spike, it might also affect chargers from other brands, which would be useful to know.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hemp View Post
The issue is that there appears to be a large, brief power spike sent by certain E-Fuel supplies when they're turned on. Once the supply is powered on, the charger can be plugged in.
__________________
Gaui X5, iKon, Edge 100, CC BEC Pro.
Tarot 450 Pro FBL, Mini VBar, Ice Lite 50.
BL mCP X, Nano QX, FrSky Taranis, iCharger 308Duo.
RedOctobyr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 10:40 PM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,290
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NZ
Default

I tested my efuel 1200W PSU that arrived early January 2015, Model: PSU50A S/N 000395104, with a storage scope.

At 24 volts and 28 volts the soft start time was ~30ms and the voltage overshoot was ~1 volt for 15ms. The voltage stabilized after 70ms.

The load was 94 ohms which is slightly more than my iCharger 308duo and 406duo draws at standby.

Based on this, only a poorly designed charger would be damaged by this overshoot. It is however possible that this PSU has been modified since the alleged problem was reported.

I would not have any issues using this PSU on my chargers (permanently connected), and personally think it's a very good power supply for the price.

__________________
Gaui X2 FES ZYX, Gaui X3 MB, Gaui X4 II VBar, Gaui X5 FES MB
250 DFC ZYX, 450 DFC Sport MB, ALZRC 450L Pro VBar, Devil 450 FAST VCTRC FBL
500E DFC Pro VBar, 500E SDC ZYX-S
KDS 550 VBar, 550E DHPS VBar, 550E DFC Pro VBar, 700E DFC HV iKon
beenflying is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 10:27 AM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 95
 

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Borneo, Indonesia
Default

Mine is 60A model
Running well with both PL6 PL8
But good to know that there is a safer way to switch ON and OFF
Noted
Thanks
erk700 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1