Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 500 Class Electric Helicopters


500 Class Electric Helicopters 500 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-28-2013, 07:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 187
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Default Extend ESC wire

I extended my ESC wire to the battery with 25cm, that is about 10inch I think. Now my Align 70 ESC won't arm. It only beeps three times and that's it. I already read several posts saying that extending this wire will damage the ESC over time (I did not know this ) but not that the ESC won't arm anymore. If this ESC wire cannot be lengthened I need to know what the original length of the Align 70 ESC is.

Any advice would be much appreciated.
__________________
Edward

T-Rex 500 ESP, T-Rex 500E PRO, CopterX 250, Blade Nano CPX, SPEkTRUM DX8
Molari is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-28-2013, 08:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Molari View Post
I extended my ESC wire to the battery with 25cm, that is about 10inch I think. Now my Align 70 ESC won't arm. It only beeps three times and that's it. I already read several posts saying that extending this wire will damage the ESC over time (I did not know this ) but not that the ESC won't arm anymore. If this ESC wire cannot be lengthened I need to know what the original length of the Align 70 ESC is.

Any advice would be much appreciated.
Extending the esc battery wires by 10 inches on a 6s system is asking for trouble. The align 70 amp esc batt wires are 67mm (about 2.5 inches) long, including the part that goes into the bullet connector. The esc is probably seeing a voltage and current drop.

If you have to have the wires that long, install a large capacitor, or a cap
pack. It might help, but not recommended....
__________________
Velos 880/Sab Urukay, KSE, Carbon Speed/Mikado Uvular/RCA Blackshark/Chaos 500 Evo, 550, 600, 700/Trex 500, 600, 600 Pro, 700/Roban 470 Cobra, 700 Apache, Cobra, 429, Jayhawk, 800 Airwolf/TFM 800 Blue Thunder, Seahawk, Jayhawk/ DX8 DX18QQ
treotraveler is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-01-2013, 02:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 187
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Default

Thanks for your helpful answer.

Does the cable have to be exactly 67mm?
__________________
Edward

T-Rex 500 ESP, T-Rex 500E PRO, CopterX 250, Blade Nano CPX, SPEkTRUM DX8
Molari is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-01-2013, 06:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 15,075
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Molari View Post
Thanks for your helpful answer.

Does the cable have to be exactly 67mm?
No I don't think so. When I had the stock 60 amp Align ESC on my ESP I extended the wires a couple inches and it worked fine.

I would be surprised if your arming issue is actually caused by the wire you added. Although what you added is a lot, I don't see how it would effect the arming. In flight maybe under load but just to arm it?
Then again I could be wrong and won't be ashamed to admit it. Please let us know what you figure out.
__________________
Trex 700 Pro DFC - Compass 6HV - Vcontrol - Neo
#nodroneshere - 104
Larry227 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-01-2013, 08:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,847
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2007
Default

I would go back over all your solder joints first.
__________________
Micah
mhills51 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-02-2013, 10:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 187
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Default

I resoldered the wire. Total length is now about 80mm. The ESC wouldn't arm because somehow the throttle cable got damaged I replaced it.

I managed to make 5 flights today without any problems
__________________
Edward

T-Rex 500 ESP, T-Rex 500E PRO, CopterX 250, Blade Nano CPX, SPEkTRUM DX8
Molari is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1