Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > RC Helicopter Flight School

RC Helicopter Flight School Instructional Flying Tips, Tricks, Videos, and Q&A

Like Tree88Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-19-2013, 07:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
HF Support

My HF Map location
Default From tail-in to all 8s and funnels in 6 months

This is quite large. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

From tail-in to all 8s and funnels in 6 months.

This is a summary of the thread "Just confirming I am on the right track" (https://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=493289).

As the title suggests. This is to take an absolute novice from tail-in hover to all orientation flying in less than 6 months.

I must thank those on HeliFreak that have helped me enormously along the way:
- gitbse, RogerRabit, clicky, LN400, blade450
And those who have taken the read and respond to my rantings on HeliFreak
- anthony1, AcidDrink, rooni79, Smok1n, mdbsat, lamk, Steve Graham, Stubbz, Ozzy Mozzy, HelisRock

An extra thank you to Code3Medic for converting my Heli-X recording sessions to video.

First a warning: This is not for everyone. It takes discipline, patience and is at times very boring. However, if wanting to fly RC helis well, the results are worth the effort.

I progressed from tail-in to funnels (and more) in 6 months. When following this guide, you may take more time, you may take less. Everyone progresses at their own rate. Do not feel discouraged if it takes longer than anticipated. There is no time limit. One thing is certain, more consistent and structured practice leads to faster progression.

What you will need:
  • A good sim.
    • Preferably with a hover training mode.
    • Preferably with the ability to slow time.
    • Ideally uses your own transmitter (RealFlight's controller is fine though)
  • A timer (I used my phone)
  • A note taking method (I used a spreadsheet)