Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 470 Class Electric Helicopters

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2017, 06:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

Default Which governor?

Given the choice of using the hobbying 60A V4 built in governor, or the Microbeast+ governor (taking RPM input from HW), which would be the better option?
Logic would suggest that the FBL has more info than the ESC does (such as knowing when you increase pitch) to properly keep the headspeed constant, but I have no experience with governors, so what do you think?
Advertisement

Old 06-22-2017, 11:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users

Quote:
Originally Posted by perrypoint View Post
Given the choice of using the hobbying 60A V4 built in governor, or the Microbeast+ governor (taking RPM input from HW), which would be the better option?
Logic would suggest that the FBL has more info than the ESC does (such as knowing when you increase pitch) to properly keep the headspeed constant, but I have no experience with governors, so what do you think?
You're right, the conventional wisdom says that the FBL governor is generally going to be better because it is preemptive rather than reactive. However, the HW V4's do not play nice with external governors (see 'Hard Start' problem). There are ways around it by using heli-linear mode and switching off the AFW in the ESC but I found it easier and more effective to use the ESC governor as the HW governors are pretty good.

All my heli's use the FBL governor except the one that has a HW V4 ESC.

So many things to fly, so little time.
Crashalotjoe is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-23-2017, 06:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users

I am using govenor for the first time. HW 60v4 on my 470L with a brain2 fbl.