NEW! Sly's B400 variant for Phoenix 2.0 - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Simulators Support > Phoenix Flight Sim > Phoenix Custom Creations


Phoenix Custom Creations Phoenix Flight Sim Custom Models and Fields


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2008, 07:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maplewood, MN
Default NEW! Sly's B400 variant for Phoenix 2.0

Here it is! My best (so far) Blade 400 Variant for Phoenix version 2.0.

VERY close to the real deal (for me)!


Let me know how it feels. You may need to edit the model and change the piro rate and some other tweaks to match your own experience... your mileage may vary depending on your radio settings and upgrades etc. But.. with my radio setup.. this feels as CLOSE as is possible to my real B400. Instructions are included in the zip file.

My radio is INH for expo for aileron and elevator and -10 expo for rudder.

http://www.slyster.com/heli/SlyB400.zip
Slyster is offline        Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-04-2008, 07:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maplewood, MN
Default

And here's the sound file.. works OK.. better than default anyway.. needs to go into the Phoenix folder..

And for some reason.. it sounds best with the Xaudio sound library selected.. I don't quite get sounds.. but anyway play with it...

http://www.slyster.com/heli/heli_400electric_mid.wav

Last edited by Slyster; 11-08-2008 at 04:44 AM..
Slyster is offline        Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2008, 09:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maplewood, MN
Default

Some B400 flier.. try this out and let me know how it feels!
Slyster is offline        Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2008, 08:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,640
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mill City Ma. USA
Default

I can wait to try this. I don't like the b400 on the sim, it's way too touchy. I bought phoenix to practice but when I can do better in real life it kind of defeats the point. How hard is it to load in your version of the b400? I never tried it before and I'm not a computer person.
Bradley Jones is offline        Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2008, 01:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cheshire UK
Default

Hi Slyster,
Very close for me. Haven't had to touch a thing. I also had the last variant you did with the motor audio and before the betas used it on a regular basis. I've had to use my own tweaked version since. I wouldn't be able to tell which one I was using had I not looked. The figures are pretty much identical.
Nice one bud.

Dave.
Helicrox is offline        Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2008, 03:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 35
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Default

Hi Slyster, I only got my B400 a couple of days ago and promised myself I would not fly it until I had at least 5 hours sim under my belt. I didn't get the sim until today so I JUST had to try out the real thing in the basement. Finally got it to the point where the tarining wheels were just off the floor, and played around with it for a while. When the sim came I was quite disappointed as trying to do what I had done in the basement was impossible as the controls were way too sensitive. I was getting a little disheartened at not being able to fly the sim!!

I discovered you variant and loaded it in, the sim now behaves the same way the real thing did,

Thank You!!
BarryW is offline        Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2008, 07:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,640
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mill City Ma. USA
Default

Sly's B400 varian is as close to real life as it gets!!!! Thanks sly you turned phoenix from a frustrating sim to a real life trainer.
Bradley Jones is offline        Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2008, 04:01 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maplewood, MN
Default

Here's the sound file.. works OK.. better than default anyway.. needs to go into the Phoenix folder..

And for some reason.. it sounds best with the Xaudio sound library selected.. I don't quite get sounds.. but anyway play with it.

http://www.slyster.com/heli/heli_400electric_mid.wav
Slyster is offline        Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2008, 11:35 AM   #9 (permalink)
The Capi
 
Posts: 25,121
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

Is this has the B400 flies stock ?? Its crazy slow.
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is offline        Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2008, 01:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maplewood, MN
Default

Seem my sig for specs. I know it's a lot slower than the default Phoenix B400.. but it's spot on for how my real one flies. I believe it's only the tail thats slower than most peoples b400.. but that's how I like it. I don't have any expo on the cyclic in real life and thats how she flies!

Thats why I'd like feedback on the variant.

Anyone else with real B400 experience let me know whats 'wrong' or different about the variant.. besides the piro rate.. you can adjust that easily in Phoenix or your radio
Slyster is offline        Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2008, 01:28 PM   #11 (permalink)
The Capi
 
Posts: 25,121
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

I don't own a B400 nor do i plan too, i was just curious about what you guy fly/want.
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is offline        Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2008, 02:19 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maplewood, MN
Default

What do you fly? A T-rex 450 stock setup is faster than a B400... but you can play with radio settings to get the B400 very twitchy and as fast as you want it.. they can really fly pretty much the same... I just like the way my B400 flies with stock radio settings at this point and matched the sim to it.
Slyster is offline        Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2008, 02:21 PM   #13 (permalink)
The Capi
 
Posts: 25,121
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

I have a 450se v2, G5, G5 Vbar, Furion.
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is offline        Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2008, 04:16 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maplewood, MN
Default

Hey.. maybe you can tell me... (I just bought a 450sev2) how is the default T-Rex 450 on Phoenix compared to the real deal?
Slyster is offline        Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2008, 10:15 PM   #15 (permalink)
The Capi
 
Posts: 25,121
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

Depends on setup. My personal setup is alot more powerful and quick, but most people find the 3D variant too quick.
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is offline        Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2008, 10:32 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,445
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Default

Just got a chance to try it Sly. It feels pretty close man. Good work.
BennyTRD is offline        Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2008, 10:42 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maplewood, MN
Default

Thanks. If anyone has suggestions I can alter it. I do run my tail pretty slow.. mostly via radio... and it's reflected in the variant.. but if it seems TOO slow to you I can speed the variant up.
Slyster is offline        Quick reply to this message
Old 11-17-2008, 10:57 PM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maplewood, MN
Default

My variant is updated and better now. From now on I'll post updated to my Blade 400 variant in the sticky.

Right click, save as.. if it opens up as text in a window. You want the pxv file

http://www.slyster.com/heli/blade400_sly400.pxv
Slyster is offline        Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2008, 09:13 AM   #19 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 22,282
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryW View Post
Hi Slyster, I only got my B400 a couple of days ago and promised myself I would not fly it until I had at least 5 hours sim under my belt. I didn't get the sim until today so I JUST had to try out the real thing in the basement. Finally got it to the point where the tarining wheels were just off the floor, and played around with it for a while. When the sim came I was quite disappointed as trying to do what I had done in the basement was impossible as the controls were way too sensitive. I was getting a little disheartened at not being able to fly the sim!!

I discovered you variant and loaded it in, the sim now behaves the same way the real thing did,

Thank You!!
I am in the same boat, I was not able to hover the sim until I had hovered the real B400 for a few packs.... go figure.

Also, Sly crashed doing Tic Tocs.... saying he was doing fine in the sim but not in real life, so, does this mean the B400 on the sim is not as close to the real deal while doing Tic Tocs? Maybe some further work can be done to the sim model?

These things would not become known until tried. For instance, hovering alone would not show the sim as close to real, all but itself.

Each maneuver can bring out various slight adjustments needed...?
TowPilot is offline        Quick reply to this message
Old 12-20-2008, 10:17 PM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Denver, Colorado
Default

Just found this thread and tried the variant. Like the paint scheme and the 400 flies closer to real life.

I think the instructions are for those running XP or W2k. If you're running Vista (no jokes please ) the locations are a bit different.

If you're running Vista (come on, enough with the cracks )do the following:

Copy both files "blade400#Blaze orange.bmp" and "blade400_SLY400.pxv" to:
c:\Program Files\PhoenixRC\resources\aircraft\Electric\blade4 00
Rename the existing "blade400.bmp" to "blade400original.bmp"
Rename the new "blade400#Blaze orange.bmp" to "blade400.bmp"

The sound file goes to c:\Program Files\PhoenixRC\resources\soundEffects\helicopters
If you want to keep a copy of the old file rename the existing file before copying the new one over.

Hope this helps the other person out there running Vista....hehehe.
willyh is offline        Quick reply to this message
Closed Thread




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1