Blade MCX - max weight & binding ? - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Blade Helicopters (eFlite) > mCX


mCX Blade (eFlite) Micro CX Helicopters Information and Help


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-25-2008, 05:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2007
Default Blade MCX - max weight & binding ?

I have been looking at the Blade MCX to satisfy my wintertime heli-fixes and had a couple questions.

Has anyone experimented with max liftoff weight?
Will it still be flyable at around 2oz total weight?

Does anyone know if the included 4 ch radio (MLP4DSM) can be bound to another RX like the AR6100?

Thanks,
Pam-mo
pam-mo is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-25-2008, 08:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,628
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Blue Bell, PA USA
Default

The mCX is an absolute blast... tons of pure fun because it is so easy to fly... almost no skill is involved.

According to the instruction manual, the entire heli with battery is 1 oz, so I wouldn't plan on adding anything to it that would increase the weight. If anything, the mods people are doing is to find ways to reduce the weight even more!

I am quite curoius as to what you were planning to add that would increase the weight... do you mind sharing?

I know that you can bind other transmitters to the mCX, but I don't know if the MLP4DSM can be bound to other receivers.
Steve Joblin is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-27-2008, 08:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2007
Default

:-) I could tell you but then I would have to kill you :-)

seriously
I like putting electronics on aircraft ... mainly for video but for other types of telemetry or data recording...

I was thinking I could strip down the blade MCX and make some sort of rubber band camera mount for a stripped down flycamone2 ... possibly using a shared battery w/ an extra capacitor and diode to smooth out the power going into the flycamone2

http://www.hobby-lobby.com/video-camera.htm
note the camera weight :-)

so with a stripped down blade mcx and flycamone2 it should be easily less than 2 oz ...
and it may be possible to get it down close to 1oz again if it's done right :-)
pam-mo is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-27-2008, 09:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,628
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Blue Bell, PA USA
Default

Sounds like a lot of fun! I have one of the those remote spycams that I was using for a telepresence robot I built. It is pretty small and lightweight, but it needs a 9 volt supply.

I think the mCX is just way to small for something like what you want to do, but some of the other small coaxials would be able to pull it off... I have a Blade CX/2 which is still an indoor heli, but a bit larger and more powerful than the little mCX.

The instructions for the flycamone2 doesn't say what voltage it needs... I doubt that the little mCX battery has enought to power that and the heli at the same time.
Steve Joblin is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-27-2008, 10:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2007
Default

the flycamone2 uses a single cell lipo
I remember seeing pictures of it taken apart.
looks like 220mah for 25 minutes of video recording...
so instead of a 5 min flight time I would expect 2-3 minutes if the weight can be kept close to the weight of a stock Blade MCX

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=849891

update:
O and the blade cx2 has been tempting too ... for it's larger size and the included ar6100e
But as it is the wife doesn't want me flying the blade mcx in the house even tho I have shown her a bunch of youtube videos :-(

Last edited by pam-mo; 11-27-2008 at 10:22 AM.. Reason: forgot blade cx2 comment
pam-mo is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-27-2008, 01:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,628
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Blue Bell, PA USA
Default

I hear ya 'bout the boss... my boss has me relinquished to the basement for my flying.
Steve Joblin is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-28-2008, 01:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 22,300
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Default

I strapped a fully assembled FlyCam2 to my CX2 and found that this was more than the CX2 cared to lift for a long time, stock.
TowPilot is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-28-2008, 08:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2007
Default

Wow I guess I am a little surprised the CX2 was so affected by the extra ounce.

But, I would also be surprised if you can't find an ounce to yank off the stock CX2.

The Wife angle:
I let her run everything ... I think I may need to put a foot down and get a CX2 instead.

I figure the extra cost of a CX2 translates directly into usable hardware.
Like a trainer/sim box for my 3 year old daughter ...
A std ar6100e rx and a heli that will be easier to fly outdoors
(lord knows my daughter would have a tougher time than me trying to get an indoor flight profile cleared).

:-)

girls :-) gotta love em
pam-mo is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-28-2008, 09:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2007
Default

damn ... I just know that the ol' lady would give me a hard time about me flying somthing as large as the CX2 in the house so I am back to drooling on the MCX.

It looks like you should be able to bind the MCX RTF radio with a std AR6100...
Here is why I reason that:
I have seen pictures of the MCX control board that show the FCC ID to be the same as the AR6100 so it should have the same exact RFchip on board.

I will probably just buy the BNF version but It would be nice to test:
1. binding the RTF TX w/std RX
2. wireing into the additional channels on the RF chip to add remotely controlled lights


update!! I just noticed another chip located under a capacitor on the AR6100 pictures...
It's possible that one of these chips on the AR6100 is different than the main set on the mcx controller board.


FCC ID search tool @ http://www.fcc.gov/searchtools.html
see internal photos of "BRWDASRX11" -looks like just a resistor on each channel out to the signal pin (just a noise filter to stabilize the signal?)

Last edited by pam-mo; 11-28-2008 at 09:51 PM.. Reason: maybe incorrect!
pam-mo is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-28-2008, 10:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 22,300
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pam-mo View Post
Wow I guess I am a little surprised the CX2 was so affected by the extra ounce.

But, I would also be surprised if you can't find an ounce to yank off the stock CX2.
Take a look but I doubt there is an ounce to shed. The CX2 is fairly minimal already.

Adding an ounce to a 747 is no problem, adding an ounce to a heli which weighs in at 8 ounces, dramatically affects the heli.

Just speaking from personal experience.

You can read about CX2's which have been converted to 3S packs and brushless motors. I am only guessing but they might handle the extra ounce, better.
I don't have the links to this mod, sorry.
TowPilot is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-29-2008, 08:36 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2007
Default

yeah,
most of the cx2 weight is probably those two motors and battery and servos

I guess what I meant was that it should be easier to keep the blade CX2 at it's stock weight with the addition of a stripped down flycamone2
may be able to steal power from a single cell on the flight pack using the charge connector.

How much invention comes from impossibility? :-)

thanks for the ideas :-)
pam-mo is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-29-2008, 07:10 PM   #12 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 22,300
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Default

If it is made to happen, then it was not impossible!

But, there are the laws of physics.

You must be realistic and not an alchemist expecting to turn lead into gold....


I merely mentioned the challenge of excess weight being difficult to find on the airframe.
And suggested an alternative approach.

Hardly stifling a person's creativity
TowPilot is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1