Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Futaba Radios and Electronics > Futaba 14MZ - 12Z


Futaba 14MZ - 12Z Futaba 14MZ and 12Z Help and features Support Forum


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-16-2008, 11:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Default Futaba 12Z. Who has one......

Futaba 12Z. Who has one and how do you like it?
Thanks!
martindavis11 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-17-2008, 05:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Default

ive had one for a little over a year or so now and i love it.
chrissparre is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-17-2008, 06:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2008
Default

i have one and had the chance to compare to the 12FG.............there really is a difference between the 2, but unless you experience both first hand, you'll never realize the difference.
the 12Z is a lot easier to program in that the 2 little buttons that are missing on the FG make things a lot quicker.
after having my 12Z since May, i can't imagine using anything else..........
summerwind is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-17-2008, 07:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
tgo
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2007
Default

I have 12FG and now the 12Z, agree with you ! I love it.... And more, the spline curve is more easy to use !

Quote:
Originally Posted by summerwind View Post
i have one and had the chance to compare to the 12FG.............there really is a difference between the 2, but unless you experience both first hand, you'll never realize the difference.
the 12Z is a lot easier to program in that the 2 little buttons that are missing on the FG make things a lot quicker.
after having my 12Z since May, i can't imagine using anything else..........
tgo is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-20-2008, 09:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Default

Simply AWSOME!


Joe
joe_dejesus is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-20-2008, 09:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,229
 

Join Date: May 2007
Default

Ive had my 12z about 1 year. Just got the TM-14 2.4 mod. Awsome!! Took me a while to learn how to program it properly. it's easy now . I still love my DX7 though.
corona007 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-29-2008, 07:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 341
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2007
Default

I've had mine a couple of months now and it is awesome.
__________________
Larry R. Rogers
Helinut 1st Class
B.O.S.S. member "Dragon Balls"
lrogers is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-07-2008, 02:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,076
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2007
Default

I've had a Futaba 12Z FASST system since April when they released the 2.4 combo. I switched from a JR 9303 Spektrum and have yet to look back. The difference in quality, programming, etc is just amazing. I picked the 12Z over the 14MZ on a good friend's recommendation and very happy with it.
Anthony.L is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-18-2008, 02:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Default

I just bought a slightly used 12Z to replace my trusty old 9CAP. I've had it for about two weeks now, and I have to say that this radio is simply amazing. It's easy to program and can do just about anything. I also broke down and purchased the TM-14 FASST module for it. So far, it seems to work flawlessly.

The top switches (E-H) are reversed from the 9CAP, which is throwing me off a little. (I like to have throttle hold on the left side with my normal/idle1/idle2 mode switch on the right.) I understand that the switches can be changed, but I read that you have to send the radio to Futaba for a software upgrade.

Dave
DaveWalker is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-18-2008, 12:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 101
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Default

Move it as YOU like it( ease to move them around) and use the link below to change the location in the radio. I did it 2 weeks ago and now I like it :-)

If You want, you can buy 3-position to all your switches and also change the radio to all 3-position!!

https://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=20745
IcemanCharlie is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-18-2008, 05:09 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,229
 

Join Date: May 2007
Default

Yup you can assign any switch, knob, leaver to any function. Very diversified Tx. I love mine.........I am still finding features that I didnt know about after 1.5 years!!
corona007 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-26-2008, 09:38 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 366
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

I've had mine for about a month or two now but haven't used it yet. actually just started setting up my 2 heli's yesterday for the first time. At first I thought it was going to be way to much radio for me. But after spending an hour yesterday. I think I have most of it figured out.
__________________
-Brian Barton
Team Xerogear
Brian Barton's Fury Extreme RC Helicopter Flight 2 (6 min 14 sec)
SlowWhite is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2008, 12:36 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Default

I have two love them.
lfalsetto is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2008, 08:25 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,765
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2004
Default

Got my 12Z two years ago and just last week added the TM-14 module FASST upgrade software and haven't looked back. I'm really liking this radio.
__________________
Stratus & Protos.
Magnum Fuel, KBDD intl Products

Last edited by NolanManley; 09-23-2008 at 10:30 AM..
NolanManley is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2008, 08:05 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 138
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Default

I'm very close to buy one today or tomorrow. Though I'm wondering, I've read that 3D pilots likes to fly the 12z more than the 14MZ. Is this true? Actually, I'm quite close buying a 14MZ instead.
Vantskruv is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2008, 09:31 AM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 341
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2007
Default

I've looked at the manuals for both radios and the programming/capabilities are very similar. The 14 has the color touch screen, two more channels and a larger price tag.
I didn't see enough difference in capability to justify the extra expense. I have been VERY satisfied with the 12z and used the money I saved to buy an OF 5 blade head!

Before you spend your hard earned money, go to Futaba's web site and download the manuals so you can do the comparison and see which radio will better suit your needs.
__________________
Larry R. Rogers
Helinut 1st Class
B.O.S.S. member "Dragon Balls"
lrogers is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2008, 10:05 AM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Default

I agree with Lrogers.....

I could not justify extra money for touch screen / color and playing of recorded sounds.
All programing is 100% the same and you can copy model programming from 14z to 12z... the only limitation is model name has less characters, so if a model saved from a 14z has a long file name, shorten it and you can import or use in 12z with no loss of settings.


Joe
joe_dejesus is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2008, 08:43 AM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 138
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Default

Yep, I've felt the 14MZ is too much expensive of what you get in differ from 12Z. So I've made an order of a 12Z. I was thinking about the 14MZ because I guessed it was easier to program (i.e. the color touchscreen) and you are able to assign switches to whatever you want. I think it is not worth the extra 400$. Though I think I really will love this transmitter and not regret I bought this one instead of the 14MZ!
Vantskruv is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2008, 11:27 AM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,148
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2006
Default

So have you got it? I am in a dilema too..

Was wondering if the 12Z will tanish like the 9C? I know it will sooner or later but having to look like 9c when it tanish really put me off..Else I would have gotten a 12z..

Still deciding..
TmMugen is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2008, 02:01 PM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 138
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Default

No, if I'm very lucky I'll get in on friday. I don' know if the finish will be tarnished, but if you are worrying very much about that I've read that JR:s flagship vill have a hull of magnesium (though I don't know if it will tarnish too).
Vantskruv is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1