Pulled the trigger today picked up the 250 - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 250 Class Electric Helicopters


250 Class Electric Helicopters 250 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-03-2009, 04:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 55
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: florida
Default Pulled the trigger today picked up the 250

I have yet to master more then a tail in hover but decided to pick up the 250 its just too cute, But I am not going to fly it until I master flying my blade 400 this baby is sweet though, I will start assy tonight I think.

Anyone have tips/tricks/thoughts ideas on the assembly?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	trex250.jpg
Views:	120
Size:	87.5 KB
ID:	80329  
Druznm is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-03-2009, 04:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: OH
Default

be very gentle with the screws. other than that it is a really easy build. it is one of my favorite helis now.
HeathH is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2009, 04:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 55
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: florida
Default

ha just as I read "when tightening linkage balls and screws please note to tighten them firml , but do not over tighten or the plastic parts will break or you will strip your screws..

Oh well time to just take it nice and slowly.

Does there happen to be any assy videos like Sokul has ?
Druznm is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2009, 04:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: OH
Default

yes jasmine did the build vids for it.
HeathH is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2009, 04:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,057
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Maine, USA
Default

Dont even TRY to tighten/loosen any of the balls on the metal head parts. You WILL snap one off if you do.
__________________

[ SAB Goblin ][ Trex 450 Pro ]
Azlum is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2009, 06:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 324
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bellflower, CA
Default

When you're inserting the align 0.9mm allen wrench tool into the screws, they sorta have to click into place before you start turning or else you will strip them, just be careful and wiggle it around until you hear a click, and that it is fully seated.
toyturbo is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2009, 07:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 55
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: florida
Default

Ran into my first problem.

On the Servo's in the manual it shows 4 holes on the ------()------ servo arm. The Servo arm s that came with the model have 5 holes --------------()--------------

What do I do, put them on the 4th hole or the 5th hole?

If I leave them where they are on the 4th hole it "looks" like after attaching the linkage they would hit the servo itself, may have answerd my own question but still need to double check?!
Druznm is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2009, 08:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 55
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: florida
Default

next hang up...

How far up or down or where do I tighten the lock collar on the main shaft?
Druznm is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2009, 10:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 616
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Default

Use the last holes on all servos and the collar thing, attactch your main gear to the bottom of the shaft and pull up on the shaft firmly and slide the collar down as far as it will go so that its against the bearing at the top; tighten the collar when you are pulling this should preload it a bit and there should be no play. To check for play grab the head and try to pull up and push down on it. The shaft should not budge.
cbrian4 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2009, 10:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 55
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: florida
Default

I am also noticeing a slight difference in where the motor gear meets the main gear , and where the main gear meets the tail rotor gear. The main gear is even with the motor gear but is slightly higher or lower *dont recall* , in relation to the tail rotor gear. I am curious if I didnt put the main motor gear on correctly, even though I followed the rules on glueing it flush with the motor shaft...

6 hours and about 70% done should have it done by tomorrow god willing this migraine goes away. Thank you everyone.
Druznm is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2009, 10:42 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: OH
Default

my tail gear is a little lower than the main i think. i have had no issues with it being that way on roughly 20 flights.
HeathH is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2009, 04:11 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 55
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: florida
Default

Thanks for the help, getting it ready to begin day two of assy, standbye for more questions... hopefully not but you never know
Druznm is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2009, 04:22 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: OH
Default

it is a really fun heli you will like it
HeathH is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2009, 04:24 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 55
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: florida
Default

As I sit here installing servos into spaces smaller then the crack of a fleas butt I am thinking how am I going to level the servo's horns after it is assy?

Should I plug in the radio while its in pieces and 90* all the servos before building 100%?
Druznm is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2009, 04:31 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 904
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tiburon, CA, 94920
Default

on jasmine's video she plugs it all in while she is setting everything up. I think it would be complicated to do it afterwards because of where the servos are positioned.
helidude3 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2009, 04:35 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: OH
Default

i didnt watch her vids, but i installed the servos in the frame and then when setting up the swash mix i added the horns. you can reach the elevator output shaft after the servo is installed.

i also removed the top half of the frame from the lower when setting up that way i could reach the receiver easier.
HeathH is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2009, 04:36 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 55
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: florida
Default

Ok, thats what I figured, do I use the JR 7 channel config to setup? I am using a DX7
Druznm is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2009, 04:38 PM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: OH
Default

not sure what that is? choose the 3 servo 120deg swash in the dx7. i also didnt use the instruction manual either.
HeathH is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2009, 04:40 PM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 904
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tiburon, CA, 94920
Default

Quote:
do I use the JR 7 channel config to setup? I am using a DX7
Its adifferent radio so set up will be different. I think that some would be the same ie. servo reversing.
helidude3 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1