ok to run up motor without a rotor blade load ? - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 600 Class Electric Helicopters


600 Class Electric Helicopters 600 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2009, 08:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,657
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: pontiac, mi
Default ok to run up motor without a rotor blade load ?

I want to test my gear mesh etc. I want to take the head assembly off the mast and just run up the motor(main mast will be on). Is that ok ? or will revving the motor up without a load burn it out ?
SkinWalk3r is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-04-2009, 10:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,842
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Trondheim Norway
Default

Acording to the math there should not be a problem to do so.
The RPM of the motor are set bye two factors.

1* Voltage
2* KV rating.

So the motor shold never exeede the rpm desided bye these factors.
Wors case cenario is fore example with a 12S setup and 630KV motor 4,2(max cell viltage) x 12 x 630 = 31752rpm.
In flight there wil be lagg so the rpm of the motor will be less.

The reason it is these way is becouse a brushless motor is in fact a 3~ motor running on 3~squere pulses modulated bye the ESC and the max frequency out of it is desided bye the input woltage.
In other words the ESC regulate the motor bye frequensy.

With that said i have read people got their motors damaged bye running it without load, personaly i think its other reasons fore that but doing it is at youre own risk.
__________________
Logo 600SX
Warp 360
Chase 360
Exo 500

Last edited by Mr.Andersen; 02-05-2009 at 03:11 AM..
Mr.Andersen is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2009, 12:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 429
 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Trinity, Florida
Default

Do you even need to run the motor to test the gear mesh? Just spin the head by hand, & make sure it's not too tight (which could kill your motor with or without blades), and make sure it's tight enough that it won't skip.
__________________
***In the hanger (in order of entry)***
-Blade CP Frankenstein Edition (Retired); Align T-Rex 450 SE (Retired); Align T-Rex 600 8s, Neu 1515 2.5d/h, CC 85HV; Align T-Rex 450 SE V2; Blade mCX
Anubis328 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2009, 10:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 263
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cupertino, CA
Default

You can do if if you wish. I've done that to test my chinese weight mod where i spooled up and worked the tail linkage by hand. Without the load of the main rotor, you will reach a higher peak RPM, so you might want to back off the throttle 10% or so.
__________________
Ex heli pilot, now trolling HF as a glider pilot
hondahirny is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1