Biggest lipo in trex 500. - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 500 Class Electric Helicopters


500 Class Electric Helicopters 500 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-21-2009, 04:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,066
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Arlington hts, IL
Default Biggest lipo in trex 500.

Can anyone tell me what is the biggest lipo i can put in the trex 500 without modifying anything, i have 3300 6s zippys comeing for mine but someone told me that battery is to big, can someone help me out.
lazsyss350 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-21-2009, 04:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 43,034
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maplewood, MN
Default

No it isn't too big at all... I love the 3300's... getting 8.5 minutes at 92% idle up

You DO need to do one of two options.

1- 5 minutes tray drop down.. involves drilling 4 holes. Very ez

2- Drill new canopy grommet holes 1/2" further back and a tad up... just as easy.. but not as good... as mod #1
__________________
"It's not just a hobby... it's a lifestyle" - Pete ϟ
Goblin 500 + 700 / SK540 / Jives / DX8 / Quantum / RJX servos / 306b / Deep cycles

Last edited by Slyster; 04-22-2009 at 08:28 AM..
Slyster is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-21-2009, 06:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,066
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Arlington hts, IL
Default

How far down do i have to drop it, can you show me with a pic, i would really apreciate it, if you dont have a pic dont worry about it. i will figure it out.
lazsyss350 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-21-2009, 06:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Posts: 42,739
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Western, NC
Default

Here is a pic of one that has the mod done to it.

HTH,

__________________
William James
Team "Wife" sponsored pilot... Thanks Baby!!!
WillJames is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-21-2009, 06:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 43,034
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maplewood, MN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lazsyss350 View Post
How far down do i have to drop it, can you show me with a pic, i would really apreciate it, if you dont have a pic dont worry about it. i will figure it out.
I just did it all by hand.. didn't even measure. Probably about 1cm.. just below that strap gap I was using.. now I use the slow below it.
__________________
"It's not just a hobby... it's a lifestyle" - Pete ϟ
Goblin 500 + 700 / SK540 / Jives / DX8 / Quantum / RJX servos / 306b / Deep cycles
Slyster is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-21-2009, 06:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 43,034
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maplewood, MN
Default

I didn't do ANY cutting... just drilled 4 holes 1cm lower... but here are some threads with some pix.. but I think they did it a little differently... some other ideas for you.

Lipo mod
https://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=115087

Another tray mod
https://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=108787

__________________
"It's not just a hobby... it's a lifestyle" - Pete ϟ
Goblin 500 + 700 / SK540 / Jives / DX8 / Quantum / RJX servos / 306b / Deep cycles
Slyster is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-21-2009, 07:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,934
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Florida
Default

you don't even need to drill 4 holes , just 2? see the original tray drop mod here:
https://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=108787

drill the front 2 tray holes 10mm lower , the rear go in the large slot perfect fit. the 3300Zippy's fit perfectly in between the frames against the tray. even if your esc is under the tray , this mod can be done...

seems like every month , this subject comes up , this mod should just be put under a sticky for future refrence...
erniefritz is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2009, 01:32 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Millbrae, CA
Default

yes, the mod was very easy.. I did it and I'm a total noob.. I'm getting more than 10 minutes with the zippy-h 3300.. all thanks to Slyster's recommendation for this battery.. half the price of my TP Eon28 2550 mah and twice the flying time
10inja is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2009, 08:28 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: US
Default

I have
Zippy Filghtmax 6s 3000 mAh 20C 462g and
Zippy Flightmax 6s 2650 mAh 30C 454g.

Both do balance/fit stock 500ESP perfectly without canopy/tray mode with ESC installed on a side of frame.

With average current of 24 Amps (mild 3D) they give about 6 and 5.30 minutes of fun respectively.
0636 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2009, 08:32 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,066
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Arlington hts, IL
Default

What about CG, does it affect anything, what about when i use a smaller battery will that affect CG.
lazsyss350 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2009, 11:27 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,679
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Manhattan (NYC)
Default

Which balance adapter do I need for the Zippy Filghtmax 6s 3000 mAh if I'm hooking it up to a BC-6? Thanks
__________________
Former owner of T-Rex: 250, 450 V2, 500ESP V-Bar, 550 DFC 3GX, 600ESP V-Bar, 700E 3G
Shef is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2009, 02:18 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,002
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: eastern PA
Default

The balance plug is the same one that is compatible with the astro-blinky without a thunder power adapter. It plugs right into my turnigy acucel 6 balance port. i know thats not a direct answer, but i hope it helps.
__________________
RyuuChi is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2009, 03:30 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Millbrae, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shef View Post
Which balance adapter do I need for the Zippy Filghtmax 6s 3000 mAh if I'm hooking it up to a BC-6? Thanks
Don't know what it's called either, I use the TP 610C balancer charger and I plug it into the "Chinese connector" as in the attached picture.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	connector.jpg
Views:	1184
Size:	46.1 KB
ID:	93276  
10inja is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2009, 03:31 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,679
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Manhattan (NYC)
Default

Cool, I have that one. Thanks.
__________________
Former owner of T-Rex: 250, 450 V2, 500ESP V-Bar, 550 DFC 3GX, 600ESP V-Bar, 700E 3G
Shef is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2009, 09:56 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,066
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Arlington hts, IL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WillJames View Post
Here is a pic of one that has the mod done to it.

HTH,

Looks like you shaved down to were the strap use to run through, hows CG and will the CG remain the same with smaller mAH lipos.
lazsyss350 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2009, 09:32 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 103
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Barnwell, SC
Default zippy 30C6S2650

Just finished mine and ran it for a minute under the porch light. Zippy 30C6S2650 no mods, fits without any room left, balances just a skosh towards the nose with HiTec 5245MG, GY401/Futaba9650, Spektrum AR6200, rtf weight 1880g.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	500.jpg
Views:	1245
Size:	203.2 KB
ID:	93544  
hfenn is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-27-2009, 11:13 AM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 409
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Default

Great work with the mod...will be doing that to my esp this eve., but no one ever said what the largest lipo is...the zippy's seem to take forever to get, is there anything else?


my build: stock TREX 500 ESP, GY 401, DX7
nitro-pro is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-27-2009, 11:40 AM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 213
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Default

6s 3300mAh Zippys on my 500 work fine:



I had previously modified the frames to fit Flight Power batteries. This is not necessary with this battery as it will fit between the frames (you can see the aft upper corner of the battery is between the frames). You will need to drop the tray down, though. Four drilled holes and you're done.

Two hover flights so far for battery break-in and problem solving - as the 500 has not flown in four months, but they balance fine so far. Canopy is a very tight fit, but its on there.

Damn these are huge batteries:



-Drew
cation3 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-27-2009, 01:04 PM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 409
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Default

cool, is hobby city still the only source for those? Not to keen about ordering from over seas..shipping must be nuts
nitro-pro is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-27-2009, 06:52 PM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 213
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitro-pro View Post
cool, is hobby city still the only source for those? Not to keen about ordering from over seas..shipping must be nuts

Yeah, Hobby City. Shipping was 30 bucks (EMS style = 3-5 days, but took about a week and a half). Yes, that is a lot, but I got these two batteries for $220-ish. That's $110 each, shipped. Compare that to some 6S 3000 / 3300 Outrage packs at $179 each and I couldn't care less about the cost of shipping.

I must say: "Z2" still has me concerned. "Z1" initial-balance-charged in 40 minutes. Z2 took almost 2 hours. Using an E-Station BC6, so they will take a while to charge as I'm limited to 2.5A. I guess time will tell if these are quality packs or not....

-Drew
cation3 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1