Wire Management (can they be shortened?) - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Spartan RC


Spartan RC Spartan RC - Quark, DS760 Gyros and other Spartan RC Electronics Factory Support


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-29-2009, 12:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,425
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Brainerd, MN
Default Wire Management (can they be shortened?)

I am a soon to be Spartan owner (it's on the way!!). I will be installing it in my Gaui 200. To save weight, and make for a cleaner install, it'd be nice if the wires could be shorter. We have all seen many posts where folks shorten servo wires with no adverse effects to performance. I have also seen posts where folks have shortened the wires on other gyros, but have not heard if there are any adverse effects from doing that.

What (if any) would be the drawbacks, aside from voiding the warranty, of shortening the wires?

Is there a way I could send it back to Spartan RC to have them shortened there?


For others that have one in there Gaui 200, how/where are you mounting it, and managing the wiring?
__________________
Gaui 200 •Gaui 550 •Gaui X5
BeastX Castle Scorpion Hyperion Spektrum JR
The Front Porch, Nexgens Lounge
nexgen is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-29-2009, 10:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,425
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Brainerd, MN
Default

came to my senses and decided not to mess with the wires.

any advice from G200 owners on a good mounting location?
__________________
Gaui 200 •Gaui 550 •Gaui X5
BeastX Castle Scorpion Hyperion Spektrum JR
The Front Porch, Nexgens Lounge
nexgen is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-03-2009, 02:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 135
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Japan
Default

Would this void the warranty??
duceduc is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-03-2009, 05:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,977
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Little Falls, MN
Default

nexgen,

I have shortened wires on my 401 with no issues. I used a crimper and shortened from the plug end. Makes the wiring look clean and neat.

You can also shorten them from the gyro side, (finless recommended this) but it will void the warranty, and you need to be good at soldering, I'm not.

If you need to borrow my crimper, give me a yell.

povern
__________________
Screw It, I'm gonna fly.
Synergy E5, Synergy E5s
Couple planks, couple quads
vControl and Neo
povern is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-04-2009, 01:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 537
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Easton, PA
Default

Wouldn't it be nice if the ds760 had an option for cable length? That extra chunk of cable on a small heli kind of kills the clean install look....
Airscrew is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-04-2009, 01:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,425
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Brainerd, MN
Default

I mounted the Gyro right where I had my G401b, on the front motor mount. This gave me a spot to tuck the wires out of the way.
Still would be nice to save that weight tho.


__________________
Gaui 200 •Gaui 550 •Gaui X5
BeastX Castle Scorpion Hyperion Spektrum JR
The Front Porch, Nexgens Lounge
nexgen is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2009, 02:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,083
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Texas
Default

I have shortened wire on servos, gyros, FBL sensors, motors and Lipos without any issues. If you have the right tools its a piece of cake. Here is the link to show what the Spartan harness looks like exposed, its very easy to shorten.
https://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=109153
__________________
Trex 700N, 700E, 600E, 500E all Vbar 5.2 Pro FBL
Dji F550 WKM Data Link 900MHZ
DJI F450 Naza/GPS FPV 5.8 vtx
TBS Disco w Core Naza GPS FPV 1.2 vtx MT Tiger motors
02deuce is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2009, 09:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 213
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Default

Screw it. Shorten the wires if you want to. I did on my T-Rex 600 NSP. Nitro, as in high vibration. I cut and soldered the wires, I did not re-pin them. Yes, this does create an extra (multiples) failure point, but 344 flights strong and counting with no issues....



-Drew
cation3 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-09-2009, 11:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Busse Woods - .. Land of the Yeti
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cation3 View Post



-Drew


Hey Drew, love the braided servo wire covers - where could I get some for my new T600esp? - thanks -





JJ
JJ101 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-23-2009, 07:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,635
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bridge City, TX
Default

I shortened mine for my 450 Pro. I used a crimping tool. The cable is now the same length as the cable on the GP750 and it looks professionally done. I took my time with the crimping, and I have no worries about connection problems. I've always hated trying to stuff a foot and a half of gyro cable somewhere on my 450-sized helis. I wish I would've taken a picture before I installed it.
__________________
8S Trex 500 ESP
ken22golf is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1