Governor sensor install pics please ? - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Compass Model Helicopters


Compass Model Helicopters Compass Model Helicopter Discussion


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2009, 01:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,714
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Brugge (Belgium)
Default Governor sensor install pics please ?

Hi,

can any of you guys post some pics on how you have mountend the sensor for you governor ? I'm talking about sensors for Model Avionics or Align governors !

Thanks,
grtz,
Dirk
__________________
The heli virus has infected me and i hope that there is NO CURE !! Compass Support Team
__________________________________________________ _____
Warp 360 / 6HVU / CY Stingray / Invertix 400 / SH Little Spyder
Dflyer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-21-2009, 04:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 39,312
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: McKinney, TX
Default

Is this on the new Knight 3D? I'd recommend buying a Spektrum backplate sensor and adapting it as needed to work with the governor. I know the Align governor will work with it after [ame=https://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=100432]modifying the receiver end of the cable[/ame].
__________________
Alan (just call me "Bum"; no need to be so formal)
HeliFreak Support
DT520Ev2 (VBar), Protos Max Evo 700 (Brain 2), Protos Max V2 770 (iKON 2)
Graupner MZ-24 Pro

Experience is something you gain only after you need it.
I wouldn't mind social media so much if it didn't involve people.
TheBum is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-21-2009, 04:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,714
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Brugge (Belgium)
Default

Yep Alan,

it's for the new K3D, but allready have the Align governor laying around ! How does the Spektrum backplate sensor work ? Can it work in combination with the Align governor ?

Grtz,
Dirk
__________________
The heli virus has infected me and i hope that there is NO CURE !! Compass Support Team
__________________________________________________ _____
Warp 360 / 6HVU / CY Stingray / Invertix 400 / SH Little Spyder
Dflyer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-21-2009, 11:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 39,312
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: McKinney, TX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dflyer View Post
it's for the new K3D, but allready have the Align governor laying around ! How does the Spektrum backplate sensor work ?
It senses the actual crank on the crankshaft through the backplate. All you have to do is unscrew two backplate bolts, run them through the sensor bracket, and then screw them back into the crankcase.

Quote:
Can it work in combination with the Align governor ?
See the link embedded in my reply above.
__________________
Alan (just call me "Bum"; no need to be so formal)
HeliFreak Support
DT520Ev2 (VBar), Protos Max Evo 700 (Brain 2), Protos Max V2 770 (iKON 2)
Graupner MZ-24 Pro

Experience is something you gain only after you need it.
I wouldn't mind social media so much if it didn't involve people.
TheBum is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-22-2009, 12:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,714
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Brugge (Belgium)
Default

Hi Alan,

sorry i missed the link in you first post. Thanks for the info, but i allready made something myself to fit the Align sensor, i'll post a pic later !

Grtz,
Dirk
__________________
The heli virus has infected me and i hope that there is NO CURE !! Compass Support Team
__________________________________________________ _____
Warp 360 / 6HVU / CY Stingray / Invertix 400 / SH Little Spyder
Dflyer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-16-2010, 08:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Negaunee, Michigan
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBum View Post
SNIP

See the link embedded in my reply above.
Bum,

I found this thread:

https://www.helifreak.com/showthread...60#post1484460

Is there a different one pertaining to this issue? I couldn't get a link to work in your other reply.

TIA!!
__________________
):>
Bob O is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2010, 01:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Orlando Fl
Default spectrum backplate

were can you buy the spectrum backplate. I have the atg and a revlock 20 so i dont really care wich one i use..

thanks C.B.
helinewby is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2010, 08:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 39,312
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: McKinney, TX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by helinewby View Post
were can you buy the spectrum backplate. I have the atg and a revlock 20 so i dont really care wich one i use..

thanks C.B.
Just about anywhere. Just do a search for "spektrum sensor" on your favorite hobby shop website. Here's the page for ReadyHeli:

http://www.readyheli.com/Spektrum_Re..._p/spm6823.htm

If you want a better quality sensor than the one Spektrum makes, check out AlumaFX's sensor. It has all CNC brackets, whereas the Spektrum sensor is all plastic.

http://www.alumafx.com/
__________________
Alan (just call me "Bum"; no need to be so formal)
HeliFreak Support
DT520Ev2 (VBar), Protos Max Evo 700 (Brain 2), Protos Max V2 770 (iKON 2)
Graupner MZ-24 Pro

Experience is something you gain only after you need it.
I wouldn't mind social media so much if it didn't involve people.
TheBum is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2010, 11:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,337
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA, USA
Default

Thanks a lot Bum (you jerk!). As if I didn't have enough crap to go spending money on, you point out one more!!! Bah!!!!

I second the notion of doing the alumafx sensor. The spektrum has a metal bracket upgrade, but I'm not too sure how much it is and where to get it from. They all do it much the same, so I wouldn't worry about a difference in reliability.
__________________
Tim
KBDD TEAM PILOT
--Si vis pacem, para bellum--
skunkworx is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2010, 12:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 39,312
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: McKinney, TX
Default

I started out with the Spektrum, but I switched over to the AlumaFX after the plastic piece attached directly to the sensor broke right through the middle of the "50" hole during a crash, making it impossible to clamp the sensor to the bracket that attaches to the backplate bolts.
__________________
Alan (just call me "Bum"; no need to be so formal)
HeliFreak Support
DT520Ev2 (VBar), Protos Max Evo 700 (Brain 2), Protos Max V2 770 (iKON 2)
Graupner MZ-24 Pro

Experience is something you gain only after you need it.
I wouldn't mind social media so much if it didn't involve people.
TheBum is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1