Stand off for Flybarless conversion (Infinity Grips) Help!! - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > MSH Protos


MSH Protos MSH Protos Helicopter Support Forum


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2009, 09:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 89
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Australia
Default Stand off for Flybarless conversion (Infinity Grips) Help!!

Hey guys, Im abit stuck on the stand offs for the main grips.

I have the infinity metal grips, mikado links and balls and the M2x16 bolts but I have no idea where to find a suitable spacer?

I want to use a similar spacer to this one and was told it was an SJM part??



I had a look and found this site ... http://www.hobby-wing.com/sjm-430-rc...ter-parts.html

Is it possibly this part that i need? http://www.hobby-wing.com/al6071.html
It does not give dimensions so its hard to tell if thats the spacer i need =/

Can someone help please.

Thanks in advance

boO!

Last edited by boO!; 09-23-2009 at 06:57 AM..
boO! is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-23-2009, 01:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 301
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Netherlands
Default flybarless head

Now that looks ugly!! What about this (Trex 500 H50094T comes in a M2 and a M2,5 version; you need the M2 version):
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC02238.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	52.0 KB
ID:	116619  
Flying Dutchy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2009, 02:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California
Default

They work, but are a bit soft.
Mine got bended hard in a light crash. Friends snaped right off...its a mess in CNC grips, he had to re-drill it to 3mm

Im just careful not to crash untill MSH comes out with proper standoffs

Wesp
__________________
www.flyfreak.net - Croatian RC forum
wespen is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2009, 05:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 89
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Australia
Default

oh !! Did not realise they came in M2!!!!!!!!!!!!! I didnt want to retap it to M3 =( Thanks flying dutch!!

Edit: I cant seem to find a place that sells the M2 version =(
boO! is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2009, 05:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California
Default

The holes are M2 also, but Align balls are soft so they snap.

To make use of CNC grips with snaped threads still in, you need to retap to M3 and use Mikado or Raptor standoffs
__________________
www.flyfreak.net - Croatian RC forum
wespen is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2009, 06:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 89
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Australia
Default

Hey Wespen could you link me to these other standoffs?

Looks like ill just have to retap it to M3. Which mikado stand off would I use? Logo 500 stand off??
boO! is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2009, 07:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,657
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: santa rosa ca
Default

logo 500 one will work
__________________
Trex 500 12s vbar I2 bling
Furion 600 12s vbar I2 bling
trex 700edl vbar 12s I2 bling
Tdrex 800e 12s vbar I2 bling
Bank account EMPTY
growmaster4 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2009, 02:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 89
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Australia
Default

So if were to use the Logo500 stand offs I would need...

Standoff - http://www.readyheli.com/MIK4051_Was..._p/mik4051.htm

M3x16?? bolts x2

and some balls that would accept M3 bolts which I cant find....

This is getting quite hard, I might just go with the Trex stand offs =/
boO! is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2009, 02:58 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California
Default

There you go
http://www.quickuk.eu/cat/general_pa...s___links.html
6mm or 8mm works
__________________
www.flyfreak.net - Croatian RC forum
wespen is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2009, 06:31 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 301
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Netherlands
Default

The M2 is only for the swash balls. With the longer ones you have to tap M3. I think it will be much stronger anyway. I found it easy to do, it looks very nice, and was strong enough so far. But I never really crashed it. Once I lost my tail because the rod was not glued in properly (damaged 1 main blade) and last weekend one of the tail blade holder bolts broke. But I managed to auto it perfectly with no additional damage.....
Flying Dutchy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2009, 06:45 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 89
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Australia
Default

Ive decided to just retap to M3 and use the Trex 500 stand off. It looks clean.

With the infinity grips, do I need to grind that stepped bit off?? Since the trex 500 stand off wont sit flat on the grip arm???
boO! is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2009, 09:15 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 301
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Netherlands
Default

Yes you should, you can look at my picture on my previous post. Very easy to do and the flat surface makes the fit better and stronger....
Flying Dutchy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2009, 09:32 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 89
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Australia
Default

Yeah I think yours looks very nice and clean. Ive ordered the parts...

So i need to file away the step on the grip?
boO! is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2009, 11:08 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 301
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Netherlands
Default

Yes you have to file it off. I used a drill for it (I believe 5 or 6 mm) and turned it manually.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...postcount=5559

If you want to see my Protos. I like the infinity Carbon Fibre tail boom (aluminium tube with CF layer on it) better that the MSH version. The MSH version is extremely light but it is not very strong. If you squeeze it a bit you can easily break it.....
Flying Dutchy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2009, 07:15 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 89
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Australia
Default

Thanks for the info Flyingdutch =D Thanks for the pictures too.. Your protos looks hot!! Ill keep ya updated as to what happens
boO! is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1