Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Spartan RC


Spartan RC Spartan RC - Quark, DS760 Gyros and other Spartan RC Electronics Factory Support


Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2009, 12:31 AM   #41 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 167
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Default

The Pantera Heli, when your finished with It. Anyway can't wait to see what you think of the gyro Bob
madmick is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-11-2009, 07:23 AM   #42 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 501
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Default

Bob
Put it on a 600 ESP, I'm getting one shortly & like to know how it works !!
__________________
Jimmy R
SE Mass
Trex 450 / HK pro ,500esp, & 550e FBL
Blade MSR
Raptorg2zman is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2009, 11:57 AM   #43 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 204
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Default

I'm dying to know how this plays out. I think we need a MEMS gyro shootout. I can't decide between the GY520, Quark, and JR G270. The JR G270 is expected any day now and at $110 brand new is a significant price advantage. If the G270 holds up even close to the rest, it would be great choice for those of us who are not yet up to the pro 3D level.
tcprogrammer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2009, 08:46 PM   #44 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 195
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Default

I'm willing to bet the both gy520 and spartan quark are the same form factor, just different firmware. To many similarities .
knightofcarnage is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2009, 07:28 AM   #45 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nightofcarnage View Post
I'm willing to bet the both gy520 and spartan quark are the same form factor, just different firmware. To many similarities .
i'll take that bet. i'll bet you $10,000 they are not

paypal waiting.

when i win drinks are on me folks :-)

cheers
raptorheli2 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2009, 10:34 AM   #46 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,559
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raptorheli2 View Post
i'll take that bet. i'll bet you $10,000 they are not

paypal waiting.

when i win drinks are on me folks :-)

cheers
im willing to raise that bet to $100,000

__________________
Vbar Trex 700, Vbar Protos 500, Vbar Logo400 Trex 450 Pro
mapleleafs is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2009, 10:35 AM   #47 (permalink)
The Capi
 
Posts: 25,185
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nightofcarnage View Post
I'm willing to bet the both gy520 and spartan quark are the same form factor, just different firmware. To many similarities .

What exactly is this based on ?
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2009, 03:16 AM   #48 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 503
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HFG View Post
What exactly is this based on ?
+1

/ Stolpe
__________________
T-Rex 450SE V2 mini V-bar, T-Rex 500ESP V-bar, HB CP2, Blade mSR
Spektrum DX8 radio + Raydiowarm

Hyperion EOS 0615i Duo III + 400W 24V 16,7A power supply
Stolpe is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-18-2009, 10:49 PM   #49 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 195
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Default

Let me try to explain what I'm trying to say.
1) I really dough the Spartan is willing to invest around 5Mill + to have there own ASIC (application-specific integrated circuit) (I also have dough the Futaba would too, but more likely because RC is NOT THERE ONLY market.) , at BEST Spartan may produce a daughter board. I love to see them design and manufacture there own
MEMS Angular Rate Sensors.
2) Most likely they both Co Brand preexisting design. (example of such manufacture
http://www.memgen.com/pages/index.php) and or create custom firmware

some similarities
* they both hit the market with in last 12 months.
* it looks like the both have the same foot print (enclosures are slightly different)
* both have a 3 led around the same spot (they might different colors)
* both have a similar programming input.

Honestly i know ASIC run are very expansive and even if it cost only 1M that would mean that spartan would have to sell 5,000 unites @ $200 before they would break even on the design cost not including productions runs etc. Like i say its MUCH cheaper to higher a firmware engineer (etc like me) and or pay co-branding fees.
I can even see futaba doing this too. Its kind like lipo batts there are few manufacture that produce the cells , then other put them tougher, and then the get resold as a brand. Here is a Perfect example i TP 1010c charger vs sm5500a and other like it, its just silk screening. so i'm say i think they might have the same guts.
knightofcarnage is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-18-2009, 11:33 PM   #50 (permalink)
The Capi
 
Posts: 25,185
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Default

First off i can tell you right now i can design and fab a MEMS gyro for under $100k, but i know for a fact these RC companies use off the shelf angular rate sensors (prolly AD), for the reasons you have already listed.

BUTTTTT where the real meat of our gyros is in the PID controller, which is usually done on a uP (software not firmware).

Using your logic any chip designed in IBM 0.13um is the same because they don't run their own custom fabs ????? Any design that uses a 68HC11 must be the same thing right ??

Ummmmmmmmmmmmm look around aT off the shelf angular rate sensors they always use tiny ass packages.... ask me how i know. There is only a handful of packages being used for MEMS sensors of any kind so i don't see how it can use used as a determining factor of them being identical.

Considering there is only two inputs to a gyro (that doesnt have any buttons) there is a very limited way to use a radio to program the gyro.


.... I could go on but I think my point is made.
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-18-2009, 11:56 PM   #51 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,493
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2007
Default

just ordered my quark from powerhelis for $152 shipped
__________________
brian94066 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2009, 02:10 PM   #52 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 178
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Default

Finless,
if i may suggest. i have a sd10 that i have been following your videos that you mentioned you were going to have a set up on heli video upcoming.
i am hunting a heli and setting up the quark with the sd10 could kill two birds with one stone? actually 3. show a set up of the sd10 on a heli, set up of the quark and then the third would be my stone of seeing the sd10 and quark videos
if it also helps i have narrowed my heli hunt down to three. trex 500, protos and outrage 550. have you done a outrage 550 or have one in the oven for an upcoming video that the quark and sd10 could be used on? or did i miss the 550 video links if there are some?

mike
__________________
IT'S A TRAP !! GET TO DA CHOPPAH !!!
Beam, Protos, Wildhare, 3DHS, Ritewing, Pau, X-factory
fueled by Powermaster, Thunderpower, Graupner
SD10g for planes, XG14 for heli
apriliamille is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2009, 06:45 PM   #53 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nightofcarnage View Post
Let me try to explain what I'm trying to say.
1) I really dough the Spartan is willing to invest around 5Mill + to have there own ASIC (application-specific integrated circuit) (I also have dough the Futaba would too, but more likely because RC is NOT THERE ONLY market.) , at BEST Spartan may produce a daughter board. I love to see them design and manufacture there own
MEMS Angular Rate Sensors.
2) Most likely they both Co Brand preexisting design. (example of such manufacture
http://www.memgen.com/pages/index.php) and or create custom firmware

some similarities
* they both hit the market with in last 12 months.
* it looks like the both have the same foot print (enclosures are slightly different)
* both have a 3 led around the same spot (they might different colors)
* both have a similar programming input.

Honestly i know ASIC run are very expansive and even if it cost only 1M that would mean that spartan would have to sell 5,000 unites @ $200 before they would break even on the design cost not including productions runs etc. Like i say its MUCH cheaper to higher a firmware engineer (etc like me) and or pay co-branding fees.
I can even see futaba doing this too. Its kind like lipo batts there are few manufacture that produce the cells , then other put them tougher, and then the get resold as a brand. Here is a Perfect example i TP 1010c charger vs sm5500a and other like it, its just silk screening. so i'm say i think they might have the same guts.
your over analysing what is going on here. spartan, futaba, CYE, CSM, JR etc etc all buy sensors from one of 2 places at present. it is that simple. no one makes sensors for their own gyros.

the 520 and quark design have nothingG in common. if you care to search my old posts, you will find a 520 i have broken open and you can compare them if you wish.

cheers

Last edited by raptorheli2; 12-20-2009 at 06:33 AM..
raptorheli2 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2009, 07:08 PM   #54 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,990
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Default

What parts/mfrs are the leading gyro brands using?

I've been curious about looking up the raw specs of the components.
__________________
PRTOS 500 Plastic, Logo 550SX/600SX, PRTOS Max2 up and flying!
Team MSH USA, Team Cyclone, Team Xnova
trickybit is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2009, 07:43 PM   #55 (permalink)
The Capi
 
Posts: 25,185
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Default

I would hazard a guess at AD.
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2009, 08:15 PM   #56 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 508
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default

Quote:
if you care to search my old posts, and not guess like you are now, you will find a 520 i have broken open and you can compare them if you wish.
A link to your post would be helpful.
__________________
Just another crappy day in Paradise.... Aloha!
CNCjunkie is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-20-2009, 06:09 AM   #57 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Default

the search function on this site leaves a lot to be desired. so i took the pic from the "enemy"....

this is one broken GY520.



can we now get back to the topic please?

back to the quark-

cheers
raptorheli2 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-20-2009, 10:23 AM   #58 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 508
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default

Thanks but the image doesn't display in your post, for me anyway.
__________________
Just another crappy day in Paradise.... Aloha!
CNCjunkie is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-20-2009, 11:45 AM   #59 (permalink)
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,528
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raptorheli2 View Post
the search function on this site leaves a lot to be desired. so i took the pic from the "enemy"....

this is one broken GY520.



can we now get back to the topic please?

back to the quark-

cheers
You cant link to RR images as RR blocks other sites from doing that.

Bob
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-20-2009, 12:03 PM   #60 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 204
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finless View Post
You cant link to RR images as RR blocks other sites from doing that.

Bob
what you can do is right click on the broken image icon, and choose "open image in new window" or similar option depending on which browser you use. This will allow you to see the image.
tcprogrammer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1