Align 2 in 1 Voltage Reg Setup Question - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 600 Class Nitro Helicopters


600 Class Nitro Helicopters 600 Class Nitro Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2009, 09:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 901
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Default Align 2 in 1 Voltage Reg Setup Question

Hey guys. Quick thing. I'm connecting my 2 in 1 to my heli. What is important is that I want to keep my On/Off switch (The usual generic one) that I have built into my heli that I have in use versus using the little tiny on one the 2 in 1 reg. To do so, can I just connect the connector that WOULD connect to the battery port on my RX and just connect that to the Battery plug that is connected to my On/Off switch that THEN runs to the RX? Hopefully this makes sense..I assume that on/off switch can handle 7.4v without an issue since there really isn't anything to it.

Currently there are 3 plugs off of my On/Off. One to the charge port. One to the RX. And one to the battery. Basically all I want to do is bypass the battery one and connect my regulator to that.

Any ideas????
__________________
T-Rex 700 Nitro Limited Edition FBL - OS 91 HZ, Funtech B301 Pipe, AR 7100R, BeastX 3.0, Savox 1258 Cyclic, Savox 1290 Tail, Align DS 620 Throttle, Switchglow Pro, JR 9503
SycoCell121 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-18-2009, 10:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,905
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London, Uk
Default

Need more info.
__________________
T-Rex600-ICE100,WR10ABEC,Scorp4025-1100+17T,Kasama head,QUK Swash CNC Tail,G-Force blocks,3152,DS760+BLS251,DX7+AR7000,FM.
Blade400
-CC ICE50,Scorp2221-8+12T,Sonix Head&Tail,5A BEC,HS65HB,Quark+3500G,AR7000,Align Carbon blades,TRex500 Skids,Flymentor.
pril250 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2009, 04:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 573
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: congleton cheshire uk
Default

Why make things complicated the on/off switch on the 2-1 works just fine and makes for a tidier installation.
or am i missing the point,is there a reason you want to use the switch harness?
tony stevens is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2009, 08:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

If I understand you correctly you have read posts with horror stories detailing the 2 in 1 switch failing thus causing a major crash. There are posts on here somewhere that mention soldering the 2 in 1 switch so it is permanently on and use a switch harness as you describe (this eliminateds the switch failing). I have recently installed the 2 in 1 and have opted to use the 2 in 1 switch, and will just ensure I keep it clean and well maintained.

I am sorry I cannot offer any info on the mod but as I say there are posts on here somewhere.

Cheers.
sp1nner is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2009, 08:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,905
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London, Uk
Default

Been using 2 in 1 switch forever no problems what so ever.
__________________
T-Rex600-ICE100,WR10ABEC,Scorp4025-1100+17T,Kasama head,QUK Swash CNC Tail,G-Force blocks,3152,DS760+BLS251,DX7+AR7000,FM.
Blade400
-CC ICE50,Scorp2221-8+12T,Sonix Head&Tail,5A BEC,HS65HB,Quark+3500G,AR7000,Align Carbon blades,TRex500 Skids,Flymentor.
pril250 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2009, 12:56 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Australia / Sunshine Coast
Default

don,t rely on that tiny micro sized on / off switch for too long . it will wear out quickly , so what you must do is either leave in switched to the ON position and add abit of silicon over the switch to seal it , then add another good quality type on / off switch . the way i did mine was i cut the black power wire from the main regulator to battery and soldered this to the new switch , works perfect and its reliable.
__________________
Ely-Q Field Rep.
Gaui X5 Field Rep.
RJX Xtreme Helis
Beam 450 pro
3DBEAM is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2009, 05:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 901
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Default

I ended up returning the 2 in 1 and buying an MPI regulator. It was 20 bucks. Doesn't have the ignitor, but that's useless to me. I have it dialed in perfectly running directly to my main On/Off switch in the heli. The nice thing about the MPI reg is that I can connect BOTH my battery output wires to the regulator incase one connector decides to fail or what not. It's a good redundancy.
__________________
T-Rex 700 Nitro Limited Edition FBL - OS 91 HZ, Funtech B301 Pipe, AR 7100R, BeastX 3.0, Savox 1258 Cyclic, Savox 1290 Tail, Align DS 620 Throttle, Switchglow Pro, JR 9503
SycoCell121 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1