Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Mikado V-BAR


Mikado V-BAR Mikado V-Stabi/V-BAR Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2010, 05:54 PM   #121 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Default

these video's are great. I will be setting up a mini-v 5.0 this month, your videos just made my life allot easier.
__________________
Atom 500
Atom 6HV
src053 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-16-2011, 05:56 PM   #122 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Default

Thanks Mr Mel! I followed your videos while setting up a new mini 5 on my T500 and it flew like a champ first flight. A little bit of tweaking and it flies unbeleivably well. I'm getting close to ten seconds, hands off, IN THE WIND!

Without these videos we would all be lost!

Thanks again.

Ken
Lipper is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2011, 09:01 AM   #123 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 13,576
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Default

Added episode 9 and 10 to the first post.
__________________
Gone fishing.. or hunting or something..
http://heli.dacsa.net
MrMel is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2011, 10:19 AM   #124 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 41,331
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMel View Post
Added episode 9 and 10 to the first post.
You might want to group them with the 5.0 videos instead of the General and 4.0 videos.
__________________
Alan (just call me "Bum"; no need to be so formal)
HeliFreak Support
Protos Max Evo 700 (Brain 2), Protos Max V2 770 (iKON 2), Synergy 516 (Brain 2), Oxy 2 (Falcon 12)
Graupner MZ-32

Experience is something you gain only after you need it.
I wouldn't mind social media so much if it didn't involve people.
TheBum is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2011, 10:21 AM   #125 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 13,576
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Default

Can you edit the post, was trying to do that on my ipad and it did not go well
__________________
Gone fishing.. or hunting or something..
http://heli.dacsa.net
MrMel is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2011, 10:25 AM   #126 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 41,331
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMel View Post
Can you edit the post, was trying to do that on my ipad and it did not go well
My pleasure. Done.
__________________
Alan (just call me "Bum"; no need to be so formal)
HeliFreak Support
Protos Max Evo 700 (Brain 2), Protos Max V2 770 (iKON 2), Synergy 516 (Brain 2), Oxy 2 (Falcon 12)
Graupner MZ-32

Experience is something you gain only after you need it.
I wouldn't mind social media so much if it didn't involve people.
TheBum is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-09-2011, 03:57 AM   #127 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Default

How do we connect Align governer to VBar? should I change the connectors on the cable coming from the magnets?
Angler is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-09-2011, 06:15 AM   #128 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 13,576
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Default

You mean align SENSOR for v5.1 governor? Then yes you need to swap + and - cable to follow the label on the vbar
__________________
Gone fishing.. or hunting or something..
http://heli.dacsa.net
MrMel is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-15-2011, 01:13 AM   #129 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 13,576
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Default

Added the Governor videos (Wiring, Nitro, Electric and settings)
__________________
Gone fishing.. or hunting or something..
http://heli.dacsa.net
MrMel is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-16-2011, 08:23 AM   #130 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,724
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Default

Thanks MrMel for your great work as always
I have upgraded and gov configured my 2 nitro birds already thanks to you, will test fly in a few hours.

One thing worth noting that I didn't see in the vids is that when you configure throttle servo (or ESC endpoints I guess) using the collective channel in the setup II make sure you have a linear pitch curve in the mode you're using in your transmitter. I have less pitch in negative in normal mode to avoid sucking dirt into the heli while spooling up and I had trouble setting enpoints for my throttle servo until I figured that out.

Also I'm using an analog servo for throttle on one of the birds and on the bench at least it's working ok.

As a last note the 8FG you use in the vids has a gov mode where you can set directly RPM instead of %. I couldn't get it to match target RPM as seen in the Vbar. Any idea? That would be neat to input RPM directly into the tx without having to hook up the heli to the PC
__________________
Ben
Goblin 500 IKON w/ gov, Quantum 4115-1200, Hitec 5245, BLS251
DX8, RF6
HeliBenj is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-16-2011, 08:55 AM   #131 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 13,576
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Default

It's ONLY for programming/setup you need the linear pitch curve, after your done you can have whatever pitch curve you want.

Not sure that analogue servo is supported though, need to check that.

No, you cannot get Futaba range to match VBar, it's impossible as it's working as it does.
__________________
Gone fishing.. or hunting or something..
http://heli.dacsa.net
MrMel is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-18-2011, 04:33 AM   #132 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 493
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Default

Hi Fredrik,
I'm quite curious which ESC's are suitable for the governor of the v5.1.
Did you test also test with different types ? Are there any differences in performance ? which are suitable and which would you recommend ?
I would need a new one for a new 90 size heli (compass 7hv) and it would be nice if I can buy a suitable one straight away.


thanks
sebastien
666yeti666 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-18-2011, 04:37 AM   #133 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 13,576
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Default

https://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=279669
__________________
Gone fishing.. or hunting or something..
http://heli.dacsa.net
MrMel is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2011, 04:36 PM   #134 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 13,576
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Default

Added;
Episode 14 - Step by Step setting up Governor with separate RX
Episode 15 - Step by Step setting up Governor with Spektrum Satellites/Futaba SBus
Episode -- Throttle trim issue, highlighting an issue with throttle trim and which workarounds are available.
__________________
Gone fishing.. or hunting or something..
http://heli.dacsa.net
MrMel is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2011, 02:11 PM   #135 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 13,576
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Default

Added one important thing of the Governor, I was uninformed how the throttle curves was interacting with the governor, which I highlight in Episode 17 here;

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=12uTmerWuMg[/ame]
__________________
Gone fishing.. or hunting or something..
http://heli.dacsa.net
MrMel is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-02-2011, 01:46 PM   #136 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default TX Setup

I'm starting from scratch again since getting a HobbyWing 120... While watching the videos again.. and setting my TX throttle ATV's to 100/100. I noticed you mentioned while in the Tx tab to make sure to get -100 to +100 on the throttle throws.. To get this, I have to set my throttle endpoints at 98/110. Is this what I should be doing or leave it at 100/100 and while in the Gov 2 tab make the adj there? Thanks
__________________
Grant
GrantL is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-02-2011, 01:51 PM   #137 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 13,576
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Default

Check your throttle ZERO (midstick) most likely you need some there, so your endpoints become like 104/104 instead.
__________________
Gone fishing.. or hunting or something..
http://heli.dacsa.net
MrMel is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-02-2011, 02:07 PM   #138 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMel View Post
Check your throttle ZERO (midstick) most likely you need some there, so your endpoints become like 104/104 instead.
Nope.. The only way I can get -100 - +100 on the Tx Tab and Gov 1 tab at the "Preset channel from Rx" is with 98/110. zero is at midstick also.. Any other thoughts?
__________________
Grant
GrantL is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-02-2011, 02:09 PM   #139 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 13,576
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Default

Throttle trim enabled in the radio perhaps, verify that Monitor in the radio is actually 100/100 range.
But if that's Ok, leave it be at those numbers.
__________________
Gone fishing.. or hunting or something..
http://heli.dacsa.net
MrMel is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-02-2011, 02:16 PM   #140 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMel View Post
Throttle trim enabled in the radio perhaps, verify that Monitor in the radio is actually 100/100 range.
But if that's Ok, leave it be at those numbers.
I've checked all the settings twice plus .. Checked my throttle curve, 0,25,50,75,100, stick follows those settings.. Thanks for the help..
__________________
Grant
GrantL is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1