Just noticed something! (PLEASE READ IF YOU HAVE A 3g) - Page 3 - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Align 3G FBL System


Align 3G FBL System Align 3G FBL Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2010, 12:30 PM   #41 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: american/philippines
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jondabear View Post
Dont make me tear it apart!

I got a funfly that Im showing off my 2 new birds at this weekend but after that (ends sun.) Ill tear it apart,and take some pics. Gotta retork the head anyway, its a new engine and just has over 30 flights as of today. Oughtta have bought 40 by sun.

Ill have the pics by MON. then. PEACE!
I am trying to understand why use any electronic assisance with a fbl heli. It seems with all the modern computer radios out there it should be possible to tame a head with no fly bar. It would eliminate lots of chances for a failure if you keep the electronics to a minimum. A flybarless rotor head is nothing new to r/c helicopter, as there were at least a couple many years ago that went that route successfully and there was no electrinics then. It does appear that this hobby has become very trendy, and the manufacturers seem to be promoting things we do not need.
slickporsche is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-01-2010, 09:05 PM   #42 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Antonio tx.
Default

May be true. I dont really need alot of the things out today. But I buy them and use them. I love technology and have grown with it. I have been in the electronics field for over 21 years now. So im well adapted to having the latest and greatest.

Now that being said, I have flown both and by far enjoy the precision and accuracy, eases of setup and predictable cdharacteristics of a electronically controlled system.

Entirely necessary? Absolutely not........nut then again ......what is?
jondabear is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2010, 11:11 PM   #43 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,670
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hawkes Bay, New Zealand
Default

But you would still need 3 axis gyro sensing. The Tx doesn't know what attitude the heli is in. So sending the gyro data back to the Tx and then out again sounds just as error prone as having the system on-board.
NelsonP
npomeroy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-07-2010, 01:18 PM   #44 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: SW Houston
Default

You dont need any stab on a Heli, that's correct, from a flybar or electronics. But you probably either won't like it or won't keep flying the way you do now. it's just too hectic and you are always correcting the Heli. I have flown all three ways on a 400, flybar, flybarless no stab, and flybarless with e stab. I'll keep flying e stab for sure! Putting a skookum 720 on a third Heli now.
billygoat is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-10-2010, 01:16 PM   #45 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Antonio tx.
Default

E stab for sure. No Bar is just no fun. Itll for sure keep ya on your toes though. Im just not man enough to put that many people (spectators) in harms way though. LOL. PEACE!
jondabear is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-19-2010, 04:23 AM   #46 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Hawaii
Default

I had the same problem with my new 3G that I just installed on a TRex 500. After many attempts at trying to get it secure, I finally just cut off the connector on the sensor end of the cable and soldered the wires directly on the sensor board. This looks like it did the trick!
__________________
RC Heli Pilot = Control Freak
maverickk is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2010, 02:29 AM   #47 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: jhb, south africa
Default

I bought a vbar, put my 3g in my desk drawer <---- that did the trick
rjuch is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2010, 08:41 PM   #48 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Antonio tx.
Default

Good job. Like I always say though.......3g is Not for everyone. At least were all still on the sam fbl kick! Peace!
jondabear is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-15-2010, 09:59 PM   #49 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,936
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South Florida USA
Default

Oops wrong post.
__________________
Angelo

Last edited by esmoglo; 11-16-2010 at 08:21 AM..
esmoglo is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2010, 07:43 PM   #50 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,893
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: PA
Default

Mine came apart and while doing the mod. I pushed the white receptacle one but about 1 mm and got two part epoxy for plastic and metal, worked it in and around the pins and filled the area between them and the the white housing and then pushed the housing on the rest of the way before the epoxy set up and smoothed out the epoxy with a real small flat tipped screw driver.
bad007 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2011, 05:25 PM   #51 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Antonio tx.
Default

YEP, thatll hold for sure now. Better to fix than wait for a failure,
jondabear is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-02-2011, 10:25 AM   #52 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Sydney Australia
Default

Does anyone know if Align have fixed this issue on currently shipping units? I'd be astonished if they have not given Jondabear found this over a year ago?
cjsogle is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-25-2011, 08:47 PM   #53 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: LUBBOCK,TEXAS
Default

I had the same thing happen.One of the pins was not locked in the socket correctly.When I plugged it in the one pin pushed back inside the socket and did not make a connection.From the outside it looked good,but pull the rubber gromet back and you could see it was not even close to being plugged in.
STEVE450 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1