3.5 *REALLY* touchy?? - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Simulators Support > RealFlight Flight Sim


RealFlight Flight Sim All versions of RealFlight Sim


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-30-2006, 01:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 31,746
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Carlsbad, CA (USA)
Default 3.5 *REALLY* touchy??

Just upgraded to 3.5 and was wondering if the control sensitivities are really ramped up from v3.. Prior to upgrading, I could land helis on benches, tables, rocks etc with little effort.. Now I find it VERY touchy.. Is it just a different perception or is something really different?

Even the planks fly "odd" now..
__________________
-Kevin

No helicopters were harmed in the creation of this post.
AMA CD # 7309, Turbine Waiver# RW 890
Click Here For Bergen Intrepid Turbine Build Videos
Skiddz is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-30-2006, 12:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kenosha, WI. USA.
Default

I've noticed this also, just more around center stick though. At full throw, they still seem to have the same amount of deflection, so im guess just some expo should fix it, pretty much all ive done
__________________
T-Rex 450 Pro - Mars 388mm stretch - hs5065 - GP750/DS520 - Maverick G5 PRO - HW40A/1950kv-12t/6S
Atom 500 soon to be flying.
RDS 8K
Amaxx is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-30-2006, 01:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Testing... 1...2...3
 
Posts: 22,702
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ca Bay Area
Default Whew

Good! I thought it was just me!
__________________
FTW - I'm Here!
The Reaper is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-31-2006, 10:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 31,746
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Carlsbad, CA (USA)
Default

With G3, I flew with no expo and didn't have much problem. I always seem to be "behind" the helicopter now and get into some really nasty PIO (Pilot Induced Occillation) from time to time... Makes the hover training very interesting.
__________________
-Kevin

No helicopters were harmed in the creation of this post.
AMA CD # 7309, Turbine Waiver# RW 890
Click Here For Bergen Intrepid Turbine Build Videos
Skiddz is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-01-2006, 01:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Default

Like Amaxx said, I think it feels touchier around center stick. I didn't use expo on G3 either, and I'm using 20% in 3.5.
__________________
mCPX - H36/E010 - K110
c0bra is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-02-2006, 08:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 412
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Western Massachusetts
Default

I can't do the hover training at all....it's so touchy that the slightest stick movements make the heli crash. This plus being able to fly through the trees in the race course makes me think there's a few bugs to work out....
__________________
.
.
Sport Flying ain't so bad
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Copterklutz is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2006, 06:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,906
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ashtabula, OH
Default

Just got #.5 myself and it does seem touchy near center. I must have had a bad download though. When doing the install, a screen popped up noting that the 'fury' fliles didn't make it. Is there supposed to be a fury in 3.5?
__________________
Mark Webber
wai-rc.com
MarkWebber is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2006, 09:50 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Default

There's no Fury in my copy of 3.5. But...do you have Expansion Pack 2? The Fury is included in EP2.
__________________
mCPX - H36/E010 - K110
c0bra is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2006, 01:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,906
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ashtabula, OH
Default

OK. Wonder why that window popped up like that.

Thanks
__________________
Mark Webber
wai-rc.com
MarkWebber is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2006, 07:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Copterklutz
I can't do the hover training at all....it's so touchy that the slightest stick movements make the heli crash. This plus being able to fly through the trees in the race course makes me think there's a few bugs to work out....
Agreed. I'm a noobie but am normally fine with hovering etc in G3 but the hover training and heli orientation in 3.5 are unbelievably touchy - frustratingly so. As Copterklutz said, the slightest stick movements are usually enough to cause crashes within seconds
Jammer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2006, 11:29 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,327
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cassopolis,MI
Default

Flip the dual rate switch to slow things down a little.
__________________
Chris D. Bergen
Bergen R/C Helicopters
cbergen is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2006, 09:24 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 287
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Roberts, WI
Default

Off topic but does any one have Multiplayer issues? I cant seem to connect anymore but maybe this is a thing of the past that i was up to date on.

Thanks
EdgeCrusher is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-12-2006, 11:49 AM   #13 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 31,746
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Carlsbad, CA (USA)
Default

No problems connecting here..
__________________
-Kevin

No helicopters were harmed in the creation of this post.
AMA CD # 7309, Turbine Waiver# RW 890
Click Here For Bergen Intrepid Turbine Build Videos
Skiddz is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-12-2006, 06:50 PM   #14 (permalink)
Testing... 1...2...3
 
Posts: 22,702
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ca Bay Area
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EdgeCrusher
Off topic but does any one have Multiplayer issues? I cant seem to connect anymore but maybe this is a thing of the past that i was up to date on.

Thanks
I periodically have trouble logging into flys. Sometimes only a couple sites will work, other times I cannot get into any. Sometimes I am logged in and flying when all of a sudden I am kicked out and cannot get back in, till hours later. I have sent messages to the host (also HF member) and he said the same thing happens to him. Sometimes he cannot get into his own flys. Not sure I understand that one, but there are issues.
__________________
FTW - I'm Here!
The Reaper is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-12-2006, 08:37 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,362
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chico, Ca
Default

yea my god it is very touchy got to level 14 on the trainer and stopped just wayyy to hard.
__________________

Representing:
AMainhobbies, Mikado V-Team, Optipower USA, YS Engines

Jason Bell is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2006, 08:36 AM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: south fl
Default

Anyone know why the heli, (in hover training), gets dropped from the sky and crashes a lot, or am I the only one that has this problem?

I haven't messed with it much, but there must be a setting off or something. I have been using Reflex mostly, but just got G3.5 for some of the kool features, and better runways for landing planks.

If anyone knows what my problem is with the heli's dropping in on startup/reset, please post, thnks...
gordohigh is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2006, 02:18 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Guelph, Ontario
Default

gordohigh

Before you start up/reset in hover training, move your collective/throttle stick to more than half way up, sounds like you are in idle up and the control is at the bottom which means 0 or negative pitch, that why it drops

Try that

Tom
tommyboy196 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2006, 04:27 PM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: south fl
Default

I did that also, and it still usually drops in at full speed and crashes. I calibrated the tx, and it works fine in the other fields and with the other aircraft. It's only in hover training that it starts out like this.

I will try to mess with it again this eve. thanks
gordohigh is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2006, 08:49 AM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: south fl
Default

OK, If I go a little over half throttle on the stick, it will drop in and not crash, (usually...lol)......just wasn't sure if it was working right or not but guess it is?
gordohigh is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2006, 10:09 AM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,858
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Fort Mill, SC, USA
Default

It is, hover training assumes you are already in the air so you need to set your throttle to a bit over 3/4 at the start or you will crash.
Jermo
__________________
Jerry Moore, AMA #878954,TARANIS OpenTX- Pantera 600 FB - Takes a licking and keeps on kicking! KISSAM = Keep It Simple Stupid: Affordable, Maintainable -
Visit Early and often - http://open-txu.org
Jermo is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1