How to run 2 ESC's on my CPP2?? - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Blade Helicopters (eFlite)


Blade Helicopters (eFlite) Blade Helicopters (eFlite) CP, CX, mCX CX II, CX III. and others


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-04-2010, 09:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,000
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Pittsburgh,Pennsylvania, USA
Default How to run 2 ESC's on my CPP2??

I dont know if anyone here can help me with this but Ill try to give the best description i can, ill try to put up pictures later, any help would be appreciated: I have an sr that i am trying to put back in the air, the problem is that the 2 in 1 only runs the main motor and not the tail, so I am using it as just an ESC, i bought another 5amp Esc fotr the tail but am having problems hooking(wiring it all togewther) it up. Here is what i did: I ran both esc's to the same battery, and ran both esc to the same RX, pluged the gyro wire from the main esc into the gyro, the problem is that the little 5amop esc doesnt have a wire to the gyro, only wires are to the battery and to the tail motor. I fired the heli up and the main motor works, but the tail motor mimics the main motor by reving up with the throttle, It needs to be connected to the gyro? right? do I have to buy another esc that I can hook up to the gyro? If so can someone show me an example or wiring diagram? Thank You

P.s. How do people convert their CPPro to the brushless motor? That would even help me out!
__________________
ALIGN T-REX 450 PRO / BLADE MCPX
madcaprym is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-04-2010, 11:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,138
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Roseville, CA
Default

Here's a sketch I did a while back for a dual brushless setup which is similar to what you're doing. Disconnect all tail functions from the main esc, including the the rudder inputs from the RX. Also dial the adjustment pot on the main esc so that all the power goes to the main motor since the main esc will not run the tail anymore. Connect the rudder channel from the RX to the gyro and then to the tail esc. You should be good to go after that.

Edit: When connecting from the gyro to the tail esc, cut or disconnect the red wire. Make sure to leave the black (ground) and orange (control) wires intact. The gyro will be receiving power from the RX so you don't need another power supply from the tail esc.

__________________
Beam - "Best Expert Acquired Man" - "Beautifully Engineered Action Machine"
Bluerocktj is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2010, 02:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,000
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Pittsburgh,Pennsylvania, USA
Thumbs up thx

thanks man! just what i needed!
__________________
ALIGN T-REX 450 PRO / BLADE MCPX
madcaprym is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-06-2010, 08:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fullerton
Default

You also have to go through an arming sequence to get the tail esc to arm. On my dx 7, this is what I do. The tail esc will only arm if you are holding full left rudder. So, in TH, I put in full left rudder trim. To start up, I turn on the TX with TH off, this arms the main esc (make sure your stick is down) the main esc will arm, then you flip into TH and the tail motor esc will arm. Now when you flip out of TH, you are good to go. You will notice the tail motor will be running a little at this point, but that is ok. There are other ways to do this, but this is what works for me.
This may seem complex, but it is easy once you get the hang of it. The main esc arms first becasue it is supplying the power to the gyro and rx....remember you disconnected the power to the gyro from the tail esc in bluerocks above post. J
John Shipley is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-06-2010, 09:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,000
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Pittsburgh,Pennsylvania, USA
Default ? thanks

thanks, do i have to re center the rudder after i take off the TH?
__________________
ALIGN T-REX 450 PRO / BLADE MCPX
madcaprym is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-07-2010, 09:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,000
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Pittsburgh,Pennsylvania, USA
Default ???????? Please?

SO i just tried this settup and i did what I was instructed and wondered if I was to leave the rudder trim full left trim? And I had to add subtrim to the throttle because i automatically ran the motor? Thanks
__________________
ALIGN T-REX 450 PRO / BLADE MCPX
madcaprym is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1