locktite on carbon - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 450 Class Electric Helicopters


450 Class Electric Helicopters 450 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2010, 11:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,482
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Across the river from Montreal
Default locktite on carbon

Putting servos in a carbon frame, but I do not have those small
plastic things that go in the back of the crews to hold the servo
secure. Not a good idea to put locktite on the screws
on the inside of the carbon frame, right ?
sly the dogman is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-10-2010, 12:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,602
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mackay Australia
Default

With the SEV2 frames I have always just cut the end of old servo horns (keeping last hole intact) and put that on the other side of the frame. Screw a self tapper through the servo hole/frame hole/into the plastic nut (the one just fabricated from the end of an old servo horn) and put a dab of CA glue on the end. Never given me any problems and if you cut the old servo horn at the right spot the flat edge from where you cut it will hold against the side of the servo so it will not spin.

.
__________________
Trex250 Phoenix25, DS410 GP750 5084 AR6110
Trex450SEV2TT 4S Scorp-8 Phoenix45 CC10 Spektrum H3000 MKS-DS95i AR7200BX
CopterX450ProTT 4S Typhoon2218 Phoenix35 HS65MG GP750 MKS-DS95i AR6100
Trex600E 8S 1910H/1Y HV85 5625MG Gy611 S9256 AR7000
Aussie_phoenix is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-10-2010, 02:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,992
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Florida USA
Default

+1 to AP, I did the exact same on my 450s and it works a treat.
__________________
Every time I crash I wonder, why didnt I get into RC tanks.
Viet-Lama is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-10-2010, 09:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,482
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Across the river from Montreal
Default

Cool idea, I'll try that.
Thanks
sly the dogman is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-10-2010, 09:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,634
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: What? Me crash?
Default

I've never mounted a servo using the plastic thingys.
Those go in the trash.
Nuts, bolts and washers and locktite are the way to go.
__________________
HK Best Of Custom 450s & 500
Build Different!
flerpie is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-10-2010, 02:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,482
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Across the river from Montreal
Default

Well, I tried them on for size. The servos have never been more
solidly fixed than now. When I try to move one the whole side of the frame
flexes (carbon you see). PITA to install, but hey, if it works, its worth it.
Thanks,
later
sly the dogman is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-10-2010, 07:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,043
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Puerto Rico (but i am from Canada)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aussie_phoenix View Post
With the SEV2 frames I have always just cut the end of old servo horns (keeping last hole intact) and put that on the other side of the frame. Screw a self tapper through the servo hole/frame hole/into the plastic nut (the one just fabricated from the end of an old servo horn) and put a dab of CA glue on the end. Never given me any problems and if you cut the old servo horn at the right spot the flat edge from where you cut it will hold against the side of the servo so it will not spin.

.
Awesome idea. I have a ton of old servo horns from when i used to use those crappy $3 servos from HK.
Michaelinpr is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1