extension on 401 gyro - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Futaba Radios and Electronics


Futaba Radios and Electronics Futaba Radios, Gyros, Servos, Etc.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2004, 04:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 743
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Enfield, London
Default extension on 401 gyro

i have a 401 gyro, and basically the wires coming from the gyro arent long enough to reach my receiver. is it ok to use an extension wire? will it affect my gyro performance in anyway??


plz help :cry:
blakka_1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-06-2004, 05:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Posts: 42,739
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Western, NC
Default

I can't tell you 100% but I have used a short, I think 6" extension with one of my 401's and it worked better than I could fly.

HTH,
__________________
William James
Team "Wife" sponsored pilot... Thanks Baby!!!
WillJames is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2004, 06:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tupelo, MS
Default Should be fine...

I had five 12" extensions in my Ultra Stick plank, no problems. I know heli's are different, but I would think it would work with no problems.
__________________
Cheers, Rob
Hotshot Charlie is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2004, 07:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 743
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Enfield, London
Default

thanx alot guys
blakka_1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-19-2004, 07:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Southern NH
Default

I'll advise that you be sure to use the newer 'heavy duty' extensions. Don't just pick up any old wire.
__________________
Rich

X-Cell Gas G231PUH (for sale), Raptor 50V2 OS50, Blade CX
ImRich is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-19-2004, 09:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tupelo, MS
Default

I agree, I used the Heavy Duty Extensions. They were $9.95 at my local hobby store.

Have fun and stay safe !
__________________
Cheers, Rob
Hotshot Charlie is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-19-2004, 09:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,235
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Statesboro, GA
Default

Futaba says not to but I have done it with Heavy Duty ext. and I was very carefull and used the ext. secure fasteners. It will work but you may loose so voltage but it will work as mine did on my other 90 machine which had the servo on the boom.
__________________
Clint Akins
Clintstone is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-19-2004, 11:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Sar
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ulster County, NY
Default

You can also find 'buffered' extensions if your worried about signal loss. They basically include a schmitt trigger(do a google search if you want a detailed explanation). The chip basically takes a noisy or soft-edged signal and puts out a a clean square wave.

There are companies that make multichannel buffers for use in large RC planes where the servo runs are pretty long.
Sar is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-20-2004, 06:06 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Southern NH
Default

Just so you understand why I said 'heavy duty' extensions. It's not 'signal loss' that is the issue here. It's the heavy current draw of the digital servos when it needs to move fast. Lighter wire means more voltage drop due to I2R losses (that's amps squared multiplied by the resistance of the wire).

So signal buffering may help some issues, but it wont fix the voltage drop issue. Also, adding additional connectors makes this worse. So if you want minimal voltage drop, cut off the connector to your servo and one end of the extension and solder the wires together properly.
__________________
Rich

X-Cell Gas G231PUH (for sale), Raptor 50V2 OS50, Blade CX
ImRich is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1