RADIO with 6 or 7 channels for TREX 550 3G - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 550 Class Electric Helicopters


550 Class Electric Helicopters 550 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-28-2010, 10:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Israel
Default RADIO with 6 or 7 channels for TREX 550 3G

Hi There,
Anybody knows if 6 channel DX6i radio is enough for TREX 550 3G (flybarlees) ?
If not, why?
Do I need 7 Channel radio?
If yes, what is a purpose for channel number 7?
Best Regards
Arman
Blade 400
Copter X 450 V2
armangevorkyan1975 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-28-2010, 10:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 103
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Springville, NY
Default

DX6I will work fine, that's what I use. 7th channel is for a governor on a nitro helicopter.
__________________
*Trex 550 3G* 450 SPORT 3G* CASTLE ESC'S* THUNDER POWER BATTERIES* DX8* Everything is for sale. Getting out of the CRAZY addiction!
SVTRMK is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2010, 06:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Israel
Default

Thank you for reply!
Best Regards
Arman
B400
MCX
Copter x 450 V2
armangevorkyan1975 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2010, 07:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Default

I like the feel of the DX7 and the programing menus better than the 6i... But no you don't NEED it.
Evan D is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2010, 08:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 921
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: GA, USA
Default

Just keep in the back of your head, if are planning on changing the Speed Control and adding a BEC to your set up you will need 7 Channels.
The CC BEC PRO takes two channels, I replace the Speed control after 5 flights. I did not wait for a crash to know that the Align Speed Control was not going to last.
Roger Palacio is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2010, 10:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 402
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brno, Czech Republic
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Palacio View Post
Just keep in the back of your head, if are planning on changing the Speed Control and adding a BEC to your set up you will need 7 Channels.
The CC BEC PRO takes two channels, I replace the Speed control after 5 flights. I did not wait for a crash to know that the Align Speed Control was not going to last.
I don't think that a BEC takes any channel, it just takes the pins on the Rx. Wouldn't a simple Y servo harness do the job as well?
chakotay is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2010, 11:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,781
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Socorro, NM
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Palacio View Post
The CC BEC PRO takes two channels
No the CC BEC PRO has 2 outputs and you can use either one or both, depending on your needs. Also remember that the ESC and gyro gain channels don't use the power pins, so you can tap into those if you need places to wire them a bec in.

On top of that the radio itself does not decide how many channels the rx has. You can use the 7 or 8-chan rxs on the 6-chan radios if you need a few more places to connect a bec to.

Of course I don't know why anybody would use a 6-chan Futaba or Spektrum TX on a $1000+ heli. The 7-chann+ radios are so much nicer in feel and features that I would just buy one if you don't have one.
__________________
- Chris
TJinTech heli...info...news...such
Helis: TRex 450 Pro - Protos - TRex 550e
Stuff: Spektrum DX7 - iCharger 208B - Hyperion G3
TJinGuy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1