Modifying 3G for better performance - Page 3 - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Align 3G FBL System


Align 3G FBL System Align 3G FBL Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-14-2010, 08:28 PM   #41 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Antonio tx.
Default

Out of all the REGULAR stuff that i could pick from, Id say GOOP adhesive is about the closest thing to what Im using. PEACE!( goop is Denser, heavier and dries a little more firmly than silly cones!)
jondabear is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-14-2010, 08:41 PM   #42 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 819
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Default

I can't wait to try my heli now. I modded my 250 already and I did the LHS owners 700 tonight. We have some bad weather the next few days...so it might be a bit before I get to try it
ForceFedDSM is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-14-2010, 08:56 PM   #43 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,124
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ontario California
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jondabear View Post
No pics or vid YET.

BUT..............Holy son of a CRA%!

This mod is AMAZING on my 700. Didnt change a thing!

Heres a quick run down, Feels MORE locked in, ALOT more locked in. Helped with Cyclic movements. I make an input and....its THERE!.
Even helped with my PITCH. Thought I was just runnung a rich motor and didnt have alot of punch. With this mod AND my heli running 180 f i now have morre punch out than ive ever experienced.

THIS might be our holy grail guys!

Weird what a good sensor will do when its not fighting vibes!

VERY VERY happy with my results. wish I had tried this a LONG time ago. PEACE!:YeaBaby :

If you havent already try turning up your swash return speed to 70.
mickeyjohnston is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-14-2010, 09:13 PM   #44 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Omaha, NE
Default

Flew my velocity with the 3g some more tonite and am still thrilled about how much better it flies.. Its not just a little better, its game changing better!

I took apart the sensor on my 700e tonite to mod it and found it already had some adhesive behind the pins? It was spread across to the sensor mounted flat on the board. Makes me wonder if this hasnt been in the works for a while.
mikejr718 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-14-2010, 09:46 PM   #45 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 788
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bellingham, Washington
Default

Getting ready to do this. Do I need silicon or will shoe goo work or either.
__________________
Team RCHN / Citizen # 4 / Mikado V Team
salmonson63 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-14-2010, 09:53 PM   #46 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Antonio tx.
Default

goop.
jondabear is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-14-2010, 09:54 PM   #47 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Antonio tx.
Default

Swash return is at 55.
jondabear is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-14-2010, 10:28 PM   #48 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 514
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Default modded

Quote:
Originally Posted by jondabear View Post
No pics or vid YET.

BUT..............Holy son of a CRA%!

This mod is AMAZING on my 700. Didnt change a thing!

Heres a quick run down, Feels MORE locked in, ALOT more locked in. Helped with Cyclic movements. I make an input and....its THERE!.
Even helped with my PITCH. Thought I was just runnung a rich motor and didnt have alot of punch. With this mod AND my heli running 180 f i now have morre punch out than ive ever experienced.

THIS might be our holy grail guys!

Weird what a good sensor will do when its not fighting vibes!

VERY VERY happy with my results. wish I had tried this a LONG time ago. PEACE!:YeaBaby :
Glad to see another satisfied with the mod!
__________________
Representing: Team A Main , Mikado V-Team, Team Xpert, Team Synergy, Team KDE, Team Cool Power, Team Hatori, Team Protek, Eco Power Lipos, TruGlow,

XFC 2006/7/8/11
Leon Luke is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-14-2010, 10:31 PM   #49 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,037
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Central Coast NSW Australia
Default

Hmmmmm,

Should I or shouldn't I?
__________________
T-rex 700n VBar 5.3 Pro | T-rex 700e V3 VBar 5.3 Pro | JR DSX9 Limited
Team RCBits | Team Lynx
HiroboFreak is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-14-2010, 10:54 PM   #50 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,388
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Southern CA
Default

I am doing this mod once I go pickup some goop. Overnight is enough time to dry?
__________________
Team Horizon Hobby

My RC facebook and Youtube Page (please subscribe to get latest news and video):
http://www.youtube.com/zoomtt
http://www.facebook.com/zoomtt
edsel.labao is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-14-2010, 11:10 PM   #51 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 50
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Joliet Illinois
Default

well took the plunge in to this mod took some pictures and will have results tommarow on a 450 pro cleaning that conector out was fun the tooth pick man is gunna like me this month this thing feels a lot heaver now lot's of mass well that's all for this experiment till we try it
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0293.jpg
Views:	1430
Size:	26.9 KB
ID:	184991   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0295.jpg
Views:	1352
Size:	20.1 KB
ID:	184992   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0312.jpg
Views:	1313
Size:	31.8 KB
ID:	184993   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0313.jpg
Views:	1336
Size:	34.0 KB
ID:	184994   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0326.jpg
Views:	1561
Size:	31.5 KB
ID:	184995  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0327.jpg
Views:	1618
Size:	32.3 KB
ID:	184996   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0328.jpg
Views:	1593
Size:	24.6 KB
ID:	184997   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0335.jpg
Views:	1604
Size:	18.4 KB
ID:	184998   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0337.jpg
Views:	1696
Size:	39.9 KB
ID:	184999   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0340.jpg
Views:	1639
Size:	52.6 KB
ID:	185000  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0342.jpg
Views:	1328
Size:	58.7 KB
ID:	185001   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0343.jpg
Views:	1252
Size:	28.4 KB
ID:	185002  
daveblazer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-14-2010, 11:12 PM   #52 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corrari View Post
Does it have to be a certain type of silicon? I am a plumber and have roof and gutter silicon and bathroom silicon on hand.
you need silicone that is non corrosive, neutral cure
__________________
Trex 250 ESP | Trex 450 V2 | Trex 500 ESP Stock & Spartan 760 | Trex 500 Align 3G FBL & Scorpion | JR 11X | Phoenix Sim
simonf123 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-14-2010, 11:27 PM   #53 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Antonio tx.
Default

Neutral cure...Is that noncorrosive? Ive seen that stuff when I looked for this e6000 at the electronics store. Didnt know what it was for.
jondabear is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-14-2010, 11:35 PM   #54 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Antonio tx.
Default

DO IT HIROBO.....its what weve been after for soo long.....well , at least most of it.

I still believe that ALL the answers to my 3D questions are at the bottom of a 300 gallon vat of NITRO fuel. PEACE!
jondabear is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-14-2010, 11:44 PM   #55 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,037
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Central Coast NSW Australia
Default

Mine are performing well, but I'm keen to see what you're so excited about Jon.

I've just modded both my 700n & 550e.
I've removed the tabs on the case too as I feel they would most likely transmit vibes.

In the process I found something interesting....

My 700n sensor was originally V1 before I flashed it to V2.1, my 550e sensor is factory V2.1
The cyclic sensors on the 550e have metal attenuation plates attached, the 700n cyclic sensors don't.

This shows that Align are listening, and, V2.1 is more than just a firmware upgrade.
__________________
T-rex 700n VBar 5.3 Pro | T-rex 700e V3 VBar 5.3 Pro | JR DSX9 Limited
Team RCBits | Team Lynx
HiroboFreak is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-14-2010, 11:57 PM   #56 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,167
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wisconsin - USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HiroboFreak View Post
Mine are performing well, but I'm keen to see what you're so excited about Jon.

I've just modded both my 700n & 550e.
I've removed the tabs on the case too as I feel they would most likely transmit vibes.

In the process I found something intereting....

My 700n sensor was originally V1 before I flashed it to V2.1, my 550e sensor is factory V2.1
The cyclic sensors on the 550e have metal attenuation plates attached, the 700n cyclic sensors don't.

This shows that Align are listening, and, V2.1 is more than just a firmware upgrade.
VERY INTERESTING INDEED!! So by doing this mod were extending the vibration attenuation plates so they are MUCH heavier and have more mass..... I also agree about the 2 tabs transmitting vibs, Thats the first thing I thought of when I took it apart. Got rid of mine as well. Insted of Glue or silicone I went with a gel tape fitted in-between the sensors. Cut it into a cube and seems to work. The gel tape I am using is the K10457A Align PU Adhesive Gel

Same principle different material. I used the blue align gel tape. cut it so there is a tiny bit of pressure when I put the case back togather, holding the sensors and gel tape in place. I have a couple more sensors to do so I will take photos when I do another one. Made my 250 fly WAY better... cant wait to test on my other machines...
__________________
AnythingHeli.com OWNER/ TEAM PILOT
GAUI X5 / X7 *
GOBLIN 280/380/500-x2/630/770 * Swinging SWITCH/RJX/RAIL & SAB Blades * Microbeast/IKON * Castle ESC's on all * DX18 *
akamullen is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-15-2010, 07:44 AM   #57 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 157
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Calgary, Canada
Default

Well my report:

This mod is a night and day difference.! My tail wag is gone. No bobbing. I copied leon's settings from the screen except my aile and elev gains were not as high of a final number.

the heli feels more locked in. A bit more soft feeling. Fly's kinda more like a flybar heli but has the locked in part of a flybar less system.

GREAT MOD!
__________________
Trex 700
velocity 50
trex 450
Canadian Man is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-15-2010, 11:18 AM   #58 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Omaha, NE
Default

Finished the mod on my 700e 3g last nite and flew it this am. It took less than 15 min including reprogramming the 3g unit. Found the same drastic improvement. If you have flown the 3g and dont like it or have taken it off I encourage you to give it another chance, the improvement is that drastic. On my 700e I can now do tic tocs where the heli stays stationary and it just rocks back and forth like its pivoting on a point close to the main shaft-really cool. No tail kicks at all(I always thought they were vibration related)

I hope anyone comparing flybarless systems does this mod before they compare systems. It makes that much of a difference.

I also think that the sensitivity to what tape is used and how the sensor is mounted are related to vibration entering the unit. The whole tape issue was a symptom of the problem, not a real solution-just a band-aid. Time will tell but I think with this mod that how the sensor is mounted will become much less critical.

THANK YOU LEON FOR SHARING THIS MOD.
mikejr718 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-15-2010, 11:49 AM   #59 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Antonio tx.
Default

Dont know about everyone else but.... i think this thread should be a STICKY!

How bout it mods? This mod has changed our 3g experience entirely. VERY few things have ever done this with our systems.

Thanx.PEACE!
jondabear is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-15-2010, 11:51 AM   #60 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Antonio tx.
Default

Speaking about tapes and such....Im about to REMOVE the plate and go with just a single piece of 4010 w no strap. Ill report back later.
jondabear is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1