Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Mikado V-BAR


Mikado V-BAR Mikado V-Stabi/V-BAR Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-16-2012, 09:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 366
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Can you fix a cut sensor wire?

Does anyone know if you can repair a cut sensor wire? Is it as simple as soldering it?

Here is a picture of the wire. I appreciate any advice.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cutsensorcable.jpg
Views:	265
Size:	160.2 KB
ID:	332918  
__________________
Goblin 630, T-Rex 700e, Outrage Fusion 50, all with VBar, Blades MCX2, 120SR, Radian Pro, DX8's - HeliBuilderNM
nu66ie is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-16-2012, 09:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Default

Cut it completely, strip wires only a little, tin both wires, put Atleast 2 layers of unshrunk heat shrink over and solder together. Shrink the shrink one at a time and you should be fine.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
heraldo is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2012, 09:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 15,075
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2008
Default

I would try fixing. It's just a wire, I would see it as no different than fixing a servo wire and I've done that a few times.
__________________
Trex 700 Pro DFC - Compass 6HV - Vcontrol - Neo
#nodroneshere - 104
Larry227 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2012, 10:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 366
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Default

Thanks for the reply. I thought it would be just like a servo wire but was a little nervous about the little blue box at the end of it.
__________________
Goblin 630, T-Rex 700e, Outrage Fusion 50, all with VBar, Blades MCX2, 120SR, Radian Pro, DX8's - HeliBuilderNM
nu66ie is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2012, 10:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 14,099
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Default

No problems with joining it - other option is to get some servo plugs and crimpers and just crimp a whole new plug on the end. Then you can use a servo extension if necessary for length.
__________________
John
Mercuriell is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-17-2012, 06:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 366
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Default

Thank you all for the info. I took heraldo's advice but used two layers of heat shrink on the cut wire and a third over all three. Seems to work fine on the bench.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cutsensorcablefixed.jpg
Views:	228
Size:	191.3 KB
ID:	333132  
__________________
Goblin 630, T-Rex 700e, Outrage Fusion 50, all with VBar, Blades MCX2, 120SR, Radian Pro, DX8's - HeliBuilderNM
nu66ie is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-18-2012, 06:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,997
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercuriell View Post
other option is to get some servo plugs and crimpers and just crimp a whole new plug on the end. Then you can use a servo extension if necessary for length.
Done that on the sensor a time or two.
__________________
Screw It, I'm gonna fly.
Synergy E5, Synergy E5s
Couple planks, couple quads
vControl and Neo
povern is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-19-2012, 03:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
The Capi
 
Posts: 25,174
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Default

Can you open up the blue cases ? Can you replace the servo lead on the PCB instead of extending the current lead ?
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2012, 06:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,075
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DominicD View Post
Can you open up the blue cases ? Can you replace the servo lead on the PCB instead of extending the current lead ?
I would guess its all SMT in the sensor and if someone isnt very good with a iron they could do more harm than good
__________________
4 x Rush 750/stretched V-bar KDE 700XF-495 HV servos Greys reactor CC 160-HV
Trex 600EFL V2 V-Bar ds610 ds650 CC bec/pro Scorpion 130a HV KDE 600XF-530
450L KDE 1750 cc50 4xDS215MG k-bar
X-8 FPV Wing, TBS Discovery FPV, TBS Caipirinha FPV
satgod is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2012, 01:08 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 244
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2007
Default

Yes but if is good at solder iron .....
Do we have an inside pic?

Sent from GT-I9000 Using Tapatalk 2
__________________
Bill
Esprit Model Flying, TDR Rigid x2
F9 Fiberglass Europe Canopies
billiano is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2012, 10:35 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,197
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2012
Default

I would just leave it soldered and insulated, a lot of scare mongering on forums IMO. People worry about brittle solder, but that is only the case when a wire is fixed to a rigid point with no strain relief. I have no qualms about cutting servo wires to length and crimping connectors and cutting Spektrum satellite RX cables to length, solder and insulate in the middle. No helicopters falling out of the sky to date due to solder, thumbs yes, solder no!
__________________
LOGO 500SE & 600SE & 600SX
Synergy E7 -
N7 - N5C
zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzTDR + II
Alun
CyprusFlyer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2012, 10:53 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 244
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2007
Default

I want to trim the sensor's cable in length for the TDR(which will be stacked)

Can I open the sensor's case afterwards and solder place a new cable?

Has anyone ever opened the blue sensor?
__________________
Bill
Esprit Model Flying, TDR Rigid x2
F9 Fiberglass Europe Canopies
billiano is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2012, 10:59 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,197
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2012
Default

Cannot answer that but I would be happier attacking from the other direction if it was mine. Cut and crimp on new servo connectors if you have the tool of course.
__________________
LOGO 500SE & 600SE & 600SX
Synergy E7 -
N7 - N5C
zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzTDR + II
Alun
CyprusFlyer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2012, 11:03 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 244
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2007
Default

Of course I will cut the plug and install a new one with HansenHobbies tool .

But if I decide to sell it how am I going to restore the cable?
__________________
Bill
Esprit Model Flying, TDR Rigid x2
F9 Fiberglass Europe Canopies
billiano is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-20-2014, 11:47 PM   #15 (permalink)
TT
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kansas City & Nakhon Sawan Thailand
Default

I needed to replace the cable due after shortening it then moving it to a different heli. If you are good with soldering to PCBs then it shouldn't be a problem...if you aren't then you probably shouldn't attempt it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	047.jpg
Views:	117
Size:	72.6 KB
ID:	550879  
TT is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-21-2014, 05:50 AM   #16 (permalink)
The Capi
 
Posts: 25,174
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Default

I've done it before, it isn't easy at all

__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Tags
vbar




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1