Throttle Trim: all the way down? - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 450 Class Electric Helicopters > 450 PRO Class Electric Helicopters


450 PRO Class Electric Helicopters 450 PRO Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2010, 06:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 212
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Switzerland
Default Throttle Trim: all the way down?

I know it's not a Pro-specific question, but... do you guys keep the throttle trim all the way down? This is how I was told to do, so both my simulator controller and my coaxial radio are currently setup this way.
With the Pro and the Futaba 7C (first radio I have with digital trims) I totally forgot, but I don't seem to have any problems...
I never understood why throttle trim should be all the way down... could someone explain?
__________________
Align T-Rex 450 Pro Super Combo, Futaba T7C 2.4GHz
Esky KOB 2.4GHz
120ccpm is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-02-2010, 07:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,357
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cliffside Park NJ
Default

I think only on Nitro helis do you have to keep the trim all the way down.
__________________
Trex 450 Pro 3xDS410M + MKS8910A+, Align FBL head w/Microbeast, CC 45 Gov@ 3400rpm(max timing, outrunner mode), Scorpion 2221-8 on 14t, Edge FBL main and tail, CF boom, CC BEC @ 6V
airjawed is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-02-2010, 10:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 313
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beaverton, Oregon
Default

I keep all trims on my radio at zero.
__________________
Kris
kjdubuque is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-02-2010, 10:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 212
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Switzerland
Default

Good, thank you guys.
__________________
Align T-Rex 450 Pro Super Combo, Futaba T7C 2.4GHz
Esky KOB 2.4GHz
120ccpm is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-02-2010, 01:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: León, Gto, México.
Default

All my trims are centered, except for the throttle one, if I connect my heli with the trim up, it won't bind. It get it as throttle up.
Tucky is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-02-2010, 02:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 212
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Switzerland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tucky View Post
All my trims are centered, except for the throttle one, if I connect my heli with the trim up, it won't bind. It get it as throttle up.
Well... did you calibrate the ESC with the trim centered, or down? If you did the calibration with the trim down, of course you will have to keep it that way when you connect the battery, otherwise the ESC will think your throttle stick is not at zero...
__________________
Align T-Rex 450 Pro Super Combo, Futaba T7C 2.4GHz
Esky KOB 2.4GHz
120ccpm is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-02-2010, 03:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,148
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Default

^^ exactly.
On my 7C all trims are centered.
Calibrated the ESC and done with it.

On the RTF kits with simple TX, the throttle trim is always down for the ESC to arm.
In other words the ESC needs to see an absolute zero to arm.
__________________
TSH Gaui X5 FES, Spirit, S.Bus, HW100A V3, Formula swash/head
TSH Gaui X3, Spirit, 6S, S.Bus, HW50A V3
Futaba T7C (I admit, also a Spektrum DX8 and some planks.) ;-)
Phoenix R/C v5
helidude71 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-02-2010, 08:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: León, Gto, México.
Default

I programmed the ESC with the trims downs. i'm not sure but I thought I read about it, or that the way I learned, I don't see ill behavior. now the interesting part would be if there's and advantage programming the ESC with trims down vs. centered.
Tucky is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2010, 03:25 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 212
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Switzerland
Default

It's interesting to see that people do things differently, although I really can't understand what's the advantage of keeping the throttle trim all the way down, particularly on an electric collective-pitch helicopter.
If someone knows, please explain it to the masses...
__________________
Align T-Rex 450 Pro Super Combo, Futaba T7C 2.4GHz
Esky KOB 2.4GHz
120ccpm is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2010, 06:10 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,357
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cliffside Park NJ
Default

If I had to generalize I'd say that if your ESC is programmable then your throttle trim should be centered. Most ESC's are and therefore you should center the trim. This is also important in order for TH and throttle cut to work correctly.

If you can not program the ESC then you may have to bring the trim down so that low throttle is recognized.
__________________
Trex 450 Pro 3xDS410M + MKS8910A+, Align FBL head w/Microbeast, CC 45 Gov@ 3400rpm(max timing, outrunner mode), Scorpion 2221-8 on 14t, Edge FBL main and tail, CF boom, CC BEC @ 6V
airjawed is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2010, 10:38 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: León, Gto, México.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airjawed View Post
If I had to generalize I'd say that if your ESC is programmable then your throttle trim should be centered. Most ESC's are and therefore you should center the trim. This is also important in order for TH and throttle cut to work correctly.

If you can not program the ESC then you may have to bring the trim down so that low throttle is recognized.
Both my ESC are programmable, and on both I did the programming with the trim down, I have no issues with throttle cut.
Tucky is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2010, 11:22 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,357
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cliffside Park NJ
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tucky View Post
Both my ESC are programmable, and on both I did the programming with the trim down, I have no issues with throttle cut.
On some ESC's it may be a problem though. The CC line uses a value lower than zero to throttle cut and a value near zero for throttle hold. If you trim down you may not get the results you are looking for which may be dangerous.

Read the instructions with your given ESC....that is what a person should do.
__________________
Trex 450 Pro 3xDS410M + MKS8910A+, Align FBL head w/Microbeast, CC 45 Gov@ 3400rpm(max timing, outrunner mode), Scorpion 2221-8 on 14t, Edge FBL main and tail, CF boom, CC BEC @ 6V
airjawed is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2010, 11:39 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: León, Gto, México.
Default

I see your point, I'm still fairly new to Heli, only 10 months into the hobby, Have been thru 4 Heli, 2 E-sky and my first builds are my current T-rex 600 and 450Pro. So basically I'm still with the stock Align ESC's, I believe that the E-sky manual stated the trim down, don't have it anymore so can't check, I think that's where I got the idea of trim down. I'm thinking on getting a phoenix ice, so good to hear CC are different.
Tucky is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2010, 07:48 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: mi
Default

I have an Castle creations ice 50 and I either have to put trim all the way down or use the throttle hold switch to get it to arm.
mano is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2010, 07:20 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,357
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cliffside Park NJ
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mano View Post
I have an Castle creations ice 50 and I either have to put trim all the way down or use the throttle hold switch to get it to arm.
This is after you have done the throttle endpoints adjustment?

See bottom of page for adjustment instructions:

http://www.castlecreations.com/support/documents.html
__________________
Trex 450 Pro 3xDS410M + MKS8910A+, Align FBL head w/Microbeast, CC 45 Gov@ 3400rpm(max timing, outrunner mode), Scorpion 2221-8 on 14t, Edge FBL main and tail, CF boom, CC BEC @ 6V
airjawed is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2010, 07:48 AM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,821
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Mebane, NC USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airjawed View Post
This is after you have done the throttle endpoints adjustment?

See bottom of page for adjustment instructions:

http://www.castlecreations.com/support/documents.html
+1

It should see closed throttle based on endpoint on the low end. If you have to trim down something is wrong with the setup..... Make sure you have a linear throttle curve in normal mode when setting endpoints or it drives the CC software nuts. After setup you can return your normal curve to how you like to have it.....

__________________
"It's not the crash so much as the sudden stop"
Compass 7HV, Compass 6HV, TRex450Pro, bunch of other junk in boxes ... Team Flybar Team Tail-In wannabe....
sarpilot is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1