Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Simulators Support > Phoenix Flight Sim


Phoenix Flight Sim Phoenix Flight Sim


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2011, 10:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Default Futaba wireless FASST with Phoenix

Futaba wireless trainer system (WTR-7) connected with Phoenix. The battery provides power to the WTR-7 (black and red wires) the PPM signal is connected to the Phoenix module (black and white wires). It works fine, but I am not too sure about the correct voltage for WTR-7, I tried with 9 volts and it gets a bit warm, does anyone know?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WTR-7.jpg
Views:	916
Size:	28.5 KB
ID:	198571  
garug is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-02-2011, 04:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 872
 

Join Date: May 2006
Default

Great work !!!!

Please publish the electric schema.
gelatmi1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2011, 05:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Default

The schema is quite simple, see the attachment.

I have replaced the cable on my Phoenix module already before and do not have the original cable. You need to identify the GND and signal pin on the Phoenix module to complete the schema.

I do not know the voltage for WTR-7. Tried with quite empty transmitter battery (9V), and it worked fine, but I was afraid to use it longer periods of time. A receiver battery should be safe but I din not have one available and it might not provide high enough voltage.

The transmitter setup was simple, I just copied my Phoenix setup and set transmitter to FASST 7 CH and did not allow to reallocate the channels, then paired with WTR-7.

Phoenix did not even need to be re-calibrated. It just worked like connected with cable, except there was none.

Once we know the correct voltage, maybe it could be powered from USB connector.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Schema.jpg
Views:	937
Size:	53.4 KB
ID:	198796  
garug is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2011, 10:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 872
 

Join Date: May 2006
Default

The USB specifications speak about 5 volts on PIN 1 so could be possible that 5 volts are enough to feed directly the trainer module !!

Did you try it?

Specifications
Length 5 meter (maximum)
Width 11.5 mm (A-plug), 8.45 mm (B-plug),
Height 4.5 mm (A-plug), 7.78 mm (B-plug, pre-v3.0)
Hot pluggable Yes
External Yes
Electrical 5 volt DC
Max. voltage 5 volts
Max. current 500-900 mA @ 5 V (depending on version)
Data signal Packet data, defined by specifications
Width 1 bit
Bandwidth 1.5-625 MB/s
Max. devices 127
Protocol Serial
Cable 4 wires
Pins 4 (1 supply, 2 data, 1 ground)
Connector Unique
Pin out

The standard USB A plug (left) and B plug (right)
Pin 1 VCC (+5 V)
Pin 2 Data-
Pin 3 Data+
Pin 4 Ground
gelatmi1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2011, 02:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Default

I added a second connector to the Phoenix module and connected the center pin to USB +. it provides 5 volts and WTR-7 powers up. Tried it shortly and it works.

I added a second connector as I want still to be able to use the wired connection (second picture) and did not want to connect the USB power to the cable going to the transmitter.

I will report back if I find problems.

As always, if someone wants to try this, do it at your own risk.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WTR-7 with USB.jpg
Views:	595
Size:	58.5 KB
ID:	198874   Click image for larger version

Name:	with cable.jpg
Views:	513
Size:	67.7 KB
ID:	198877  
garug is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2011, 12:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 872
 

Join Date: May 2006
Default

You created something like a SimStick for Futaba Tx without the needs of a dedicated Rx (of course you need a trainer module).

I opened my Phoenix dongle but it is very hard to find the right cables because all the board is covered with a black 'glue'.

After i will be able to find the cables i think to buy a trainer module and modify the dongle like your (a clear schema of connections will be appreciate because i'm not so good in electronic stuffs)
gelatmi1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2011, 02:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 872
 

Join Date: May 2006
Default

Garun, please check if this schema is correct.

the ground from wtr-7 goes to the usb ground or to the 'to tx cable' ground or to both ??
Attached Images
File Type: bmp Scema Mir.bmp (968.0 KB, 402 views)
gelatmi1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2011, 05:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Default

I connected to TX cable ground only.

I did not verify, but I think that USB and TX cable ground are conected together in the Phoenix unit internaly.
garug is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2011, 08:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 872
 

Join Date: May 2006
Default

What do you think about this new schema?

Using it you don't have to modify the dongle (warranty ok) and you can use the sim wired or not.

But of course you have to use two USB pc ports (i don't know if is needed to connect also the ground of the second USB port!!!!)

Anyone can help us??
Attached Images
File Type: bmp Scema two USB.bmp (968.0 KB, 384 views)
gelatmi1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-09-2011, 04:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Default

I have been using the WTR-7 now for some time. No problems, but one remark; WTR-7 is 7 channels only, so Phoenix channel 8 can not be used.
garug is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-09-2011, 07:31 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 872
 

Join Date: May 2006
Default

Ordered my WTR-7 module...i'm waiting it from TowerHobbies !!!!!
I think 7 channels are enough for a lot of models.
Did you check my last schema ?...what do you think ?


ps: seems we are the only two people interested in this !!!!!!!!!
gelatmi1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-09-2011, 07:40 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 607
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2008
Default

I believe another version of Simstick is being designed to work with Futaba radio's. A simstick and a faast compatible receiver from HK would work out cheaper and easier than the WTR-7.

__________________

DarkTherapy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-09-2011, 10:20 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Default

There is some risks involved in DIY especially if USB is used for power. I am no expert on electronics so I do not feel comfortable commenting the schemas.

For me however this did not cost anything as I have also other use for WTR-7 and I take the time used for the modification as hobby.
garug is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-09-2011, 12:56 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 872
 

Join Date: May 2006
Default

Thanks Garug.
I will ask about USB powering to a friend of mine who is 'confident' with electronics.
gelatmi1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-09-2011, 12:58 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 872
 

Join Date: May 2006
Default

i will use WTR-7 for wireless sim but also as a trainer system for 2.4 GHz Tx's at the field.
In any case a SimStick for Futaba (n.a. at the moment) + a FASST clone rx is more or less expensive like a WTR-7, but you can't use SimStick at the field !!!!
gelatmi1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2011, 12:09 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 872
 

Join Date: May 2006
Default

Garug WTR-7 module arrived and tested with my own cable.....it works perfectly !!!!
Now i can sim sitting on my sofa....far to pc !!!!
gelatmi1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-30-2011, 03:28 AM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Default

Gelatmi1, Nice to hear it worked flawlessly for you too. Did you take the power form second USB?

I really like it wireless, no cables on table. So easy just to turn the transmitter on and start the Phoenix. Practicing much ofter now.
garug is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-30-2011, 05:15 AM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,422
 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Default

you guys ROCK... seriously, great work guys!
the collective is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-30-2011, 08:08 AM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 872
 

Join Date: May 2006
Default

...yes...WTR-7 is powered by a second USB port (i used only the 5 Volt cable from the pc, not ground)
gelatmi1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2011, 04:32 AM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 872
 

Join Date: May 2006
Default

attached the schema with two USB
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Schema Mirco with two USB.jpg
Views:	620
Size:	73.7 KB
ID:	205337  
gelatmi1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1