KDE Direct TREX 700e Battery Tray Issues - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > KDE Direct Upgrades and Accessories


KDE Direct Upgrades and Accessories KDE Direct Upgrades and Accessories Factory Support Forum


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2011, 10:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,712
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Default KDE Direct TREX 700e Battery Tray Issues

I just picked up a couple KDE Direct Battery Trays and am really having trouble getting them to slide smoothly along the battery tray rails. I bought three, one is smooth, the other two are extremely tight. The stock plastic trays work just fine.

Anybody else having this issue?
__________________
Lean not on your own understanding.

Protos Max V2, Goblin 630, 500
silas3d is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-12-2011, 01:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Habo, Sweden
Default

Have 4 of them and they are fine...

Have you measured those that are tight if they are thicker?
__________________
Fredrik
Team Scorpion
Fredrik R is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2011, 09:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,712
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Default

Yes. According to my digital calipers they are about 5-10 mils thicker than the stock trays; which isn't that much thicker.

I was playing around with them some more last night and after putting a small amount of grease on the tray edges they seemed much easier to install.

They are still very tight, but I got an email back from Patrick at KDE who said they designed them to be tighter so the batteries wouldn't rock back and forth. Guess I'll just get used to it...
__________________
Lean not on your own understanding.

Protos Max V2, Goblin 630, 500
silas3d is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2011, 08:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 521
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Cerritos California
Default

Well they may be intentionally tighter, but I had to put one through my mill to get it loose enough to install. I could not push it in with my two beefy hands. The Align, plastic one fit perfectly.

While on the subject: I had to machine the motor mount to allow the motor to slide to adjust it.

Oh Yeah: I remember now: on my fourth flight, my KDE main gear melted to a glob. I was able to land my expensive scale model 10 seconds before the whole thing locked solid.

You know: I don't think I am that impressed with KDE.
jack726 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-13-2011, 09:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 473
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chesapeake, Virgnia
Default

Mine just arrived.... I can't use it unless I somehow mill it down. The width dimension is slightly too big. I have 4 plastic trays that slide right in.
__________________
SAB Goblin Speed, Pyro 850 Comp, Kosmik Cool HV200, BD3SX. Goblin Speed, Scorpion PAW Edition 4535 450, Kosmik Cool, Beastx. Team HeliDirect
nuclearchip is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-13-2011, 11:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 419
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nuclearchip View Post
Mine just arrived.... I can't use it unless I somehow mill it down. The width dimension is slightly too big. I have 4 plastic trays that slide right in.
That is very disappointing, and especially considering the cost of the KDE trays. This thread settled my mind to try the carbon trays from CHP....
__________________
Regards, Mark R (#248)
TRex 700E V-Bar NEO, BLS251, DS8915's, HJive120, JLog, VControl Carbon
TDR 710 CYs, V-Bar NEO, MPH83s, Jive 120, JLog, R2 Buffer, VControl Carbon
Logo600SX 600 CYs, V-Bar NEO, 8715s, Jive120, JLog, R2 Buffer, VControl Carbon
Wizza is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-14-2011, 01:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,712
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nuclearchip View Post
Mine just arrived.... I can't use it unless I somehow mill it down. The width dimension is slightly too big. I have 4 plastic trays that slide right in.
Yeah I ended up filing mine down a little. It didn't take long and now they do slide in and out. It's still pretty snug though. At first I thought I had "pinched" the frame too tightly at that middle support, but even after loosening that and the RX mount screws they were still tight.

Don't have to worry about them sliding out accidentally!
__________________
Lean not on your own understanding.

Protos Max V2, Goblin 630, 500
silas3d is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-14-2011, 07:45 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 308
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hollister, Ca
Default

I was having the same problem with my KDE's until I realize the battery was being pinched between the tray and the rail. Installed some velcro which created a space/gap between the tray and the battery and now it slides realy nice.

Last edited by ~Cliffman~; 01-15-2011 at 07:57 AM..
~Cliffman~ is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-15-2011, 10:38 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 473
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chesapeake, Virgnia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ~Cliffman~ View Post
I was having the same problem with my KDE's until I realize the battery was being pinched between the tray and the rail. Installed some velcro which created a space/gap between the tray and the battery and now it slides realy nice.
I don't have a battery mounted on it. It is bare, and too wide. Not by much,, but it won't slide in passed the first 2 inches or so.
__________________
SAB Goblin Speed, Pyro 850 Comp, Kosmik Cool HV200, BD3SX. Goblin Speed, Scorpion PAW Edition 4535 450, Kosmik Cool, Beastx. Team HeliDirect
nuclearchip is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-28-2012, 01:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Makati City, Philippines
Default

Has anyone tried the carbon trays from CHP? Are they better?
Lorbeer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-28-2012, 08:56 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 602
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Default

Are these the V2 trays you guys are having issues with?

I have 3 sets of V1 trays and they slide in flawless.

Edit: That's what SHE said.
__________________
T-REX 450P DFC 6S, SK-720BE/GPS, EDGE 50, TM1000, KDE 450XF 1450, MKS DS95x3, Futaba BLS-257, DX8
T-REX 700E DFC, SK-720BE/GPS, EDGE 160HV, TM1000, KDE 700XF 495, Outrage BL9180x3/BL9188, DX8

spikestabber is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-28-2012, 11:53 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,474
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Texas
Default

I have 4 of the KDE trays and they are very tight. I just greased the rails and it made a big difference.
__________________
"If you think you can or you can not you are right"
Goblin Xera 4530, YGE 160,VBar
Diablo, HJive, 4525 Ultimate,VBar

Synergy N5C sitting in Box...
Mystic3D is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2012, 12:13 AM   #13 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 11,383
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: CA
Default

Why not use the Align V2 trays??
ChrisH is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2012, 02:20 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,978
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Living On my Boat - Oregon
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisH View Post
Why not use the Align V2 trays??
Exactly, they are freaking awesome, including the snap in feature...
__________________
Goblin 700 - XF495 KDE - HC3SX - CC160
Trex 700 - 700 MX - HC3SX - CC120
Blade 450X - Scorpion 2221-6 - BD3sx -CC 50
Gaui X2 - BD3sx - Talon 25 - DS95i
ShaneJourdan is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2012, 07:24 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 936
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: USA, Az., Scottsdale
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorJ View Post
Exactly, they are freaking awesome, including the snap in feature...
Exactly what Im ordering
__________________
Rush750 Legacy. KDE 700XF, Scorpion Commander 160A, Vbar
robertsm is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2012, 07:33 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 419
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Default

I ended up order the new Align V2 nose with the push-button locking clip and the new V2 Align metal battery trays. They are absolutely awesome, and they just work first time... I just installed a KDE performance tail unit last week on my 700, and had to resize a spacer and adjust the loose fitting mount before it all worked smoothly. A simple upgrade took two nights of dicking around and re-engineering to get it to work smooth and eleminate the play in the KDE factory parts....... HHmmmmmm.. The concepts and ideas are awesome, however the KDE manufacturing and quality control seems to leave a bit to be desired....
__________________
Regards, Mark R (#248)
TRex 700E V-Bar NEO, BLS251, DS8915's, HJive120, JLog, VControl Carbon
TDR 710 CYs, V-Bar NEO, MPH83s, Jive 120, JLog, R2 Buffer, VControl Carbon
Logo600SX 600 CYs, V-Bar NEO, 8715s, Jive120, JLog, R2 Buffer, VControl Carbon
Wizza is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2012, 09:08 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: California, USA
Default

+1 for the Align V2 trays. They fit perfectly.
NRPY is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2012, 09:28 PM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Makati City, Philippines
Default

Thanks to this thread I did indeed get the Align trays. Thanks guys!
Lorbeer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2012, 08:42 AM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ct and NY
Default

Mystic3D your best bet would to call KDE and see how he supports this problem
__________________
Dino Spadaccini Team Capt Align Factory Team USA / Team Futaba
Dino Spadaccini is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2012, 09:56 AM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,289
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington, U.S.A.
Default

This thread started over a year ago, and I'm not aware of any issues with the KDE Direct Battery Tray Upgrade V2s. If you do have an issue, same as any product we offer, please feel free to e-mail me at patrick@kdedirect.com and we'll get you taken care of. The trays are purposefully machined to be an accurate fit to the rails, so there should be not issues with installation for you and the V2 version includes the necessary features for proper operation of the ALIGN Receiver Mount Latch design.
__________________
-- KDE Direct, Inc. --
KDE Direct is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1