Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Main Forum - Helicopter Talk

Main Forum - Helicopter Talk R/C Helicopters and the people who fly them. VENDOR TOPICS DO NOT GO HERE. Full Scale Heli threads go in OT please

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2011, 09:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

Default First flight and some musings

Hiya All!!

I am now a somewhat qualified Noob CP Heli pilot. I had my very first flight yesterday. The almost obligatory OMG I don't WANT TO BREAK MUST PUT IT DOWN QUICK!! flight of 10 seconds followed closely by the I CAN'T BELIVE IT'S FLYING OMG the WIND TOOK IT PUT IT DOWN QUICK CUZ I DON'T WANT TO BREAK IT second flight of 1 minute 30 seconds. I tried to video tape both and was in front of the camera for both attempts

This morning it was a LOT less windy so I actually took it out and flew it rather than just trying not to crash it. [ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gt71bIn0E9M[/ame] This was my first battery (The first time I actually really tried CP) 18 wonderfull minutes in the air (3 batteries) and I still had pleanty of juice in my batteries (Didn't want to push my luck) I see by the video I have a depth perception problem that I need to work on (It was walking away from me a lot more/farther than I thought)

This is my first REAL attempt at flying a CP helicopter. I started at Christmas with an Airhogs Hawkeye and moved to a 120SR and an MSR then found this wonderfull site and decided to get a 450. Shortly there after I changed my mind and got the 500 that I currently own.

I have read almost every post on here dealing with what to expect on your first flight, what to do to prepare for it etc etc.

There was a lot of good advice here. I figure I will give my point of view as a total noobie.