BeastX with TL1000 and DSMX but no receiver? - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > BeastX FBL System


BeastX FBL System BeastX FBL Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-07-2011, 06:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 225
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Germany
Default BeastX with TL1000 and DSMX but no receiver?

I'm looking to install a BeastX in my 500 and would like to know the following:

Does anyone know if it would be possible to run DSMX with only the satellite(s) (IE no receiver) AND have the TM1000 telemetry unit broadcast telemetry back to the transmitter (DX8).

Basically, I'd like to eliminate the receiver and keep my DSMX and Telemetry.

My guess is that it can't be done, but would like to hear from others.

Thanks all!

Last edited by pitchandyaw; 03-07-2011 at 10:33 AM..
pitchandyaw is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-07-2011, 09:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,906
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Default

I've read here that DSMX satellites don't work with Microbeast, and I've also read they don't work with TotalG. You must keep the receiver to use DSMX. There are a few posts here already, and I saw one over on AMRC from Curtis where he explains a bit what is happening with the TotalG:

http://www.allmyrc.com/forums/9664-post8.html
__________________
Chris Boultinghouse
JustPlaneChris is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-07-2011, 09:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,384
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Italy
Default

+1
Read here

Of course, we are talking about direct connection between a DSMX satellite and the Microbeast.
If you use a DSMX standard rx, no problem at all.
You could force DSM2 protocol for a connection between the new DSMX satellite and the Microbeast: so it will work as well.

Ciao,
Egidio
__________________
GAUI addict: EP100 PRO, EP100 V1, EP200 V2 BeastX/satellite, EP255 BeastX/satellite.
Now, TREX 250 SE BeastX/satellite as well.
egicar is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-07-2011, 10:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 225
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Germany
Default

Thanks guys.

How about running in DSM2 mode? This sounds fine by itself, but i'm not sure about the integration of the TL1000 telemetry model without having the spektrum receiver.

Does anyone know if the TM1000 can do its job without a spektrum receiver in the heli?
pitchandyaw is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-07-2011, 10:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,906
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Default

I believe it can, based on this conversation Bert K had regarding using telemetry with the Vbar:

http://www.allmyrc.com/forums/r-c-he...telemetry.html
__________________
Chris Boultinghouse
JustPlaneChris is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-07-2011, 11:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,384
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Italy
Default

I have on my GAUI 255 the DSM2 satellite only (with adapter) and the TM1000, both bound in DSM2 and they work fine.
The TM1000 takes only the power supply from the Microbeast (on SYS connector).
My TX is a DX8 FW v.2.01.

Ciao,
Egidio
__________________
GAUI addict: EP100 PRO, EP100 V1, EP200 V2 BeastX/satellite, EP255 BeastX/satellite.
Now, TREX 250 SE BeastX/satellite as well.
egicar is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-08-2011, 09:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,257
 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida
Default

The Spektrum telemetry modules can talk to the transmitter without having to be connected to the data port of a receiver. With that being said, you have to bind the telemetry module at the same time you bind the BeastX or other receiver that is not data port compatible. In other words, simply do a simultaneous bind (telemetry module & receiver). All the telemetry features will work with the exception of the data that is dependent on the receiver data port, such as lost frames and holds.

Hope this helps
__________________
Bert Kammerer
http://www.bertrc.com/
Bert Kammerer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2011, 05:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 225
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Germany
Default

Thanks all, and thanks Bert!

...I'm off to order a beastx
pitchandyaw is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1