Maiden flight turned into a deadly situation - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 700 Class Nitro Helicopters


700 Class Nitro Helicopters 700 Class Nitro Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2011, 09:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,945
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Woodstock, GA
Default Maiden flight turned into a deadly situation

Ok so today, after many weeks building my 700 fbl , i took the heli out for a a mainden flight. For the first 30 secs everything went smoothly with no problem what so ever but after 30 , it turned to a deadly, most dangerous situation. i have ever encounter. I completely lost control of the throttle servo and the heli just go nut. For some reason , the servo keep the motor at 100 percent power. I was so scared so i flew the heli out at least 100 feet out because there were people behing me. ( i have no idea then they show up).

Before flight,

Servo direction ---->>> check
throttle------> check
battery power------->> check
tail direction -----> check

During flight
everything working fine beside the throttle
completely no control over throttle

After flight : i go to the heli

Servo direction ---->>> check
throttle------> NO RESPOND
battery power------->> check
tail direction -----> check


TURNED THE RADIO OFF AND ON AND EVERYTHING GOES BACK TO NORMAL


l. I ltried everything to shut it down, ( i meant everything exclude getting near the heli) so the heli eventually ran out of gas, and shut off. Result? an extremely hot motor , crazily hot. ( the motor was brand new) So does anyone know what is going on? could it be a defective receiver, tx? could it be the sensor problem?

here is the spec

700 FBL
beastx
8717 HV for cyclics
jr8900g for tail
ar7100r
ys91 sr3ds with hatori f19 sh-2 pipe
aligh ds620 onf throttle


if it was the sensor problem ( refer to this thread)
https://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=299775


please help help help!!!!! im scared to even go fly that helI BTW EVERYTHING WAS BRANDNEW EXCEPT FOR THE DX7SE I BOUGHT IT USED ON HELIFREAK>
:confuse d:
haha is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-23-2011, 09:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Garnet Valley, Pa.
Default

Happened to me with my Stratus. Plug loose in my governor. I gooped it.
__________________
Trex 600N, MA BW Stratus, Rotormast V-22 Osprey, 2 450 Clones, McpX , BL P-51, Micro P51, Stryker, 2 Vapors, Twister CH47, Hanger 9 Arrow Trainer.
hoot is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2011, 11:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: St. louis
Default

same happended to me, issue for me was i was running a low voltage servo on 8.4 burned out noticed it when i tryed ali tic tocs after i took off. i dont see how loosing control of thro is that big of a deal now loosing your tail or cyclic thats a hole new game at least when you loos you thro you still have control over the heli. one cylic servo and you have near no control
helienv is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-24-2011, 08:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Glenview, IL
Default

What gov are you using?

This happened to me years ago after forgetting to set up the low and high points in the gov.
Helico-pteron is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-24-2011, 06:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 112
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Lincolnshire, UK
Default

OP's spec says the gov is an AR7100R
speedyboy9 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-24-2011, 09:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,954
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: JP
Default

If that ever happens again do something very power consuming so you dont over speed it.
__________________
(・ω・`) ギルティクラウン
Blink 182 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-25-2011, 09:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,368
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rocky Mount, N.C.
Default

Is your gov active in normal flt mode? It shouldn't be just for situations like that. If a governor goes wacko, a flip to normal mode should have your radio controling the throttle servo and nothing else.
__________________
AMA# 902812

More stuff than there is time to fly it.
AFjetmech is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-25-2011, 10:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Garnet Valley, Pa.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AFjetmech View Post
Is your gov active in normal flt mode? It shouldn't be just for situations like that. If a governor goes wacko, a flip to normal mode should have your radio controling the throttle servo and nothing else.
That' a great point that so many pilots do not adhere to. I just went though a thing with Aerospire about the Multigov, They basically programmed the thing expecting gov in all flight modes. When I went and set it up for no gov in normal it choked.
__________________
Trex 600N, MA BW Stratus, Rotormast V-22 Osprey, 2 450 Clones, McpX , BL P-51, Micro P51, Stryker, 2 Vapors, Twister CH47, Hanger 9 Arrow Trainer.
hoot is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-26-2011, 09:39 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,566
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Acworth, GA
Default

Haha,

First, I'm sorry for your experience. I would have probably cried since it is a new motor. Maybe next time try breaking the engine in with the governor off. Or atleast do this on the first, second, or third fight.
Felt is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-27-2011, 01:38 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 614
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Decatur, GA
Default

Well I guess we're not meeting Thursday to go flying anymore! If the servo responds fine without any power then it sounds like it's a Gov sensor problem. I have no experience with the 7100, and correct me if I'm wrong, but is it not just a limiter? What are your throttle curves set at?
lolramen is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-27-2011, 07:07 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,083
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Texas
Default

Is your throttle servo completely in-op at this time? what side of the ar7100R did you have it plugged into? What were your TC set to in the different flight modes.. Did you check the throttle servo in all flight modes? What Fmode did the throttle go wide open?
I'm assuming that TH had no effect on the throttle which tells me that you throttle servo was dead in flight. One did it become disconnected from the receiver, or was it plugged into the direct voltage side of the receiver and burned up due to over voltage.
__________________
Trex 700N, 700E, 600E, 500E all Vbar 5.2 Pro FBL
Dji F550 WKM Data Link 900MHZ
DJI F450 Naza/GPS FPV 5.8 vtx
TBS Disco w Core Naza GPS FPV 1.2 vtx MT Tiger motors
02deuce is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-27-2011, 04:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 794
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Charlotte, Michigan
Default

Did throttle hold work properly? Would have been 1st switch to hit if things are going bad.
wacojoe is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-27-2011, 05:42 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 697
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Jackson, TN
Default

wacojoe, I've been reading this post and was wondering the sane thing. That should idle the throttle unless the servo is stuck it the throttle body came loose and is not moving the barrel.
__________________
T-Rex 700N DFC w/ CGY750 T-Rex 500 Pro w/ Vbar
Blade 270/180 CFX
Spektrum DX7 Gen 2 - Futaba 8FG
micccain is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2011, 12:30 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 794
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Charlotte, Michigan
Default

Yes...like macccain said, check and see if the screw had come loose that holds the throttle arm to the throttle barrel on the carburetor. The arm may be moving but not turning the barrel.
wacojoe is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2011, 04:15 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,401
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Netherlands
Default

Also check the guide groove in the carburator barrel.
On my HZ the setscrew dug itselve in the side of the guidegroove, causing the barrel to get stuck at high throttle.
The governor makes many small corrections on one spot and the setscrew wears in at that particular position.
Wish engine manufacturers (OS?) would make Delrin or Teflon inserts in these grooves for heli engines.
__________________
One day I got stung, and now I love rotor sounds...Team RIGIDHELI.COM
T-Rex 700N Pro, Compass 7HV ult., MSH PRTOS
EricW is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2011, 04:22 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 249
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tennessee
Default

Sounds like from what I read is the throttle servo was not operating at all at the end of the event. He said he turned the radio off then back on and the throttle servo started working again. I wonder if the TX or the RX was turned off. If the RX was turned off then back on I would replace the RX and the throttle servo, just to be safe. If the TX was turned off then back on I would send it for service.
Prontow is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-29-2011, 08:51 AM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,945
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Woodstock, GA
Default

i turned both of them off. ive sent both the rx and tx back to horizon already.and i think i maihg have found out what the cause is . So here is the only explaination that i can come up with.
IM running 3 8717hv on cyclic so what i do is i split the power cable and connect them to the receiver and the signal to the beastx and i use the power from the unregulated throttle channel to supply power to one of the cyclic. ( but im using the regulate channel on the 7100r for throttle ). So what im thinking is the receiver might have been confused think im using the 8v throttle channel to power the throttle servo because the current being with drawn by the cyclic servo and it cut the signal from coming out of the 5.2. As the result, i had no control over the throttle.


THat is what i think, but i sent both receiver and tx back to horizon f or a check up so will see how it will turn out.



what u guy think?
haha is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2012, 09:15 AM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 52
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: markham il
Default

This is a gov problem all day long!!!
driveutwo is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2012, 09:47 AM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,945
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Woodstock, GA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by driveutwo View Post
This is a gov problem all day long!!!
you are exactly right, it was the governor problem. Turn out , i was too excited to fly the heli that i did not calibrate the Ar7100r. However, i think this happened more than a year ago ( i cant believe itss that quick ) and im the heli now is flying beautifully. Cheerrrr
haha is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2012, 10:29 AM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ocala, Florida
Default

Check this information and see if it sounds like your heli
https://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=259640
raptortrex600 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1