Bind DX8 Transmitter on DSM2 or DSMX - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > JR and Spektrum Radios and Electronics > 2.4G Spektrum Radios


2.4G Spektrum Radios Spektrum 2.4 Gigahertz Radios and Technology


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2011, 01:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 211
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: South Africa
Default Bind DX8 Transmitter on DSM2 or DSMX

Hi,

On the AR8000 it specifically says DSM2 and 2048.
In the DX8 Radio, when I set the frame rate to 11 or 22ms and the Mode to DSM2, and Bind everything works but the light on the receiver flashes slowly after power recycle.
When I set the mode to DSMX it seams to be OK.
It also seams to ignore the frame rate. It always binds at 11ms irrespective of the Frame rate set.

I would just like to know what are the correct settings to bind with.

Kind Regards
Jason
__________________
ALIGN TREX 550 DFC, VBAR
ALIGN TREX 700E PRO DFC HV, VBAR
SAB GOBLIN 700, VBAR, MKS HV SERVO'S
SPEKTRUM DX18
jraydoran is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-28-2011, 02:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,545
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central California
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jraydoran View Post
Hi,

On the AR8000 it specifically says DSM2 and 2048.
In the DX8 Radio, when I set the frame rate to 11 or 22ms and the Mode to DSM2, and Bind everything works but the light on the receiver flashes slowly after power recycle.
When I set the mode to DSMX it seams to be OK.
It also seams to ignore the frame rate. It always binds at 11ms irrespective of the Frame rate set.

I would just like to know what are the correct settings to bind with.

Kind Regards
Jason
Yes it can be a bit confusing.The AR8000 is actually DSMX capable even if it isnt labeled that way.This was done with Rxs that were shipped before the DSMX release in order to not "let the cat out of the bag" so to speak. As far as binding you really dont have to select DSM2 or DSMX the Tx will determine what the Rx is capable of and bind in that mode automatically.If you really want to operate in DSM2 you can select it before binding and "force" the Rx into DSM2 mode otherwise it will by default bind in DSMX if the Rx is capable.The mode it actually bound in will be reflected by the display on the mainscren once it is in operation.The newest version of Airware(2.01) will by default bind at 22ms.If you want to bind at 11ms you must change it to 11 in the frame rate menu before you bind.The indication that it is binding in 11ms is kind of confusing and is the default message for now even if it is binding at 22ms.There also for now is no indication on the screen once in operation of what frame rate it did actually bind in and is operating at.You can easily tell by the sound that the servos make once they are operating.22 is more like a buzz and 11 is more like a ringing sound.These anomalies should be fixed in the next Airware update.

Also the slow flashing after a power cycle of the Rx is normal in DSM2 mode.This is the brownout detection feature.It will not do this in DSMX as the radio is no longer locked onto 2 specific channels.Brownout detection no longer works with DSMX(hopping).

Hope that helps.
__________________
Too many helis & Too many planks
Lots of DX radios & A couple Futaba 72mhz radios
AMA member & Full scale plank driver
HELIFREAK !!!
aerocal is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-28-2011, 02:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 211
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: South Africa
Default

Thank you Aerocal. It makes more sense now.

Kind Regards
Jason
__________________
ALIGN TREX 550 DFC, VBAR
ALIGN TREX 700E PRO DFC HV, VBAR
SAB GOBLIN 700, VBAR, MKS HV SERVO'S
SPEKTRUM DX18
jraydoran is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1