Cyclic drift - Page 2 - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Blade Helicopters (eFlite) > mCP X


mCP X Blade Micro CPx Helicopters Information and Help


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2012, 08:47 PM   #21 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ss4344 View Post
Don't think so, Don. The little guy does exactly the same thing whether I bind it to my DX6i or DX4e.

Monitor is stable on the DX6i, and it's nicely calibrated.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
So it could be temperature drift in the main board somewhere like gyros or a reference.

Quote:
Originally Posted by maarset View Post
Are we talking V1 or V2 that has cyclic drift?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Both of mine are V1.

Don
dbennettya is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-27-2012, 09:16 PM   #22 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,165
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rocklin, Ca
Default

My v1 did the same thing. Just how it is. If you mix your flying up more it will not do it do bad. V2 doesn't do it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
maarset is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-27-2012, 09:20 PM   #23 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Default

Hmmm. Mine's a V2. It's only a few months old.

Steve
ss4344 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-28-2012, 02:09 AM   #24 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,165
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rocklin, Ca
Default

Make sure you don't have any vibrations.
maarset is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-28-2012, 02:55 AM   #25 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maarset View Post
Make sure you don't have any vibrations.
No vibration at all... Main motor is not running during the test. But good suggestion.

Steve
ss4344 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-30-2012, 10:19 AM   #26 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,165
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rocklin, Ca
Default

Main motor needs to run to check for vibrations. How are you testing for vibrations?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
maarset is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-30-2012, 06:10 PM   #27 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maarset View Post
Main motor needs to run to check for vibrations. How are you testing for vibrations?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
There are no significant vibrations with the motor running.

My test involves disconnecting main motor and then throttle up. In that state the cyclic will gently, but constantly tip ever more to the right hand side, just as if trim had been applied for aileron. It's a DX6i tx without any trim set, though.

After about three minutes with lipo plugged in to the mCP X and no throttle, the effect of drift to the right goes away when throttle is applied (with motor disconnected)...

In a flight test, the effect manifests itself by the mCP X requiring far more cyclic control unless the bird is left to sit on the ground powered but idle for three minutes. After three minutes it flies with hardly any cyclic input required to maintain a stable hover.

If I disconnect and reconnect the same battery after three minutes the drift returns. Three minutes later, the drift is gone... Then disconnect, reconnect, and drift comes back. Of course, I can only test this without flight as the little guy does eat batteries.

Cheers,
Steve
ss4344 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-31-2012, 07:11 AM   #28 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 8,097
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Australia
Default

Interesting. I'll take a look at it. I need to strip down one of mine for a service anyways. With the short days and crappy weather we're having now, I'm back flying my mCP X's.
__________________
2018! Packing!
spykez is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1