Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room

Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room - Tips and how-To Videos

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2011, 04:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
HF Support

Default NEW - TREX100 - Review

The Trex micro - the 100 was eagerly awaited for and has now been out for around 4 months - I bought one on release and a spell of cold rain over a long weekend prompted me to open it up today and see what the fuss was about. There's been a LOT of talk on the forums - much of it negative so I was keen to see how it would go - right out of the box!

I'm no expert on mini-micro helis but have had my share of co-axials and am currently playing around a fair bit with my Blade MSR and MCP-X due to the inclement weather.

THe heli is packaged beautifully - easily good enough for a wedding or anniversary present

The heli is a bit bigger than the MSR and looks to be a bit more sturdy in construction and a bit neater in design. It is obvious the main gear is larger than the MSR which gears down the ratio presumably to drive the bigger blades. The tail is a little longer and the fan and tail motor look similar.

The lipos are a much better design than the Blade - the contacts are way more substantial and no fiddling around with leads and plugs - just push the sucker home into its housing - this also makes it much easier not to move the heli during initialisation which is crucial to a stable tail gyro.