Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Futaba Radios and Electronics > Futaba CGY750 FBL System


Futaba CGY750 FBL System Futaba CGY750 Help and features Support Forum


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-29-2011, 10:15 AM   #21 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Default

Does the sensor work with the new OS 50SX-H- Hyper.

I guess from the thread I will need to plug the hole on the 50.

I just installed mine on the 50 with Dow Clear Silicone, and tested by hand - not reading much - jumps from 23 to 25 but I have used a starter yet.

Why wouldn't a good plug be a short screw with some high strength lock tight / seems cleaner than hooping up the back with JB?
Hollywood Jorge is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-30-2011, 01:07 PM   #22 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Default

You need to turn the motor over with a starter to see what your % will be. If not using a starter you will never get a reading above 25% (even if you place the sensor directly on the crank). Yes, you can plug the hole with a screw, just make sure it is flush with the back so it does't interfere with the crank during operation.
I just cleaned off the backplate with alcohol, put a piece of scotch tape on the inside over the hole, filled the hole with JB Weld with a toothpick, and after it cured, removed the tape. Very smooth and no gobs of JB Weld on the outside.
__________________
Team Synergy/Rail Blades, Team Scorpion, VelTye, YS Engines, JAG-RC, Electron Retracts
kcordell is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-28-2011, 05:35 AM   #23 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,359
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2009
Default

Do you know what the thread size is in the backplate ? thanks
__________________
Following Jesus !!!!! My Lord, He Never changes!
1#SAB RAW Scorpion Tribunus V2 300A ,
NEO-Vcontrol Touch,The only Way to Fly!
2#SAB Kraken 700 Scorpion Tribunus V2 200A
Helicrazy2 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-28-2011, 06:00 AM   #24 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Default

You mean the threads that hold the backplate to the engine? I believe those are 3mm.
__________________
Team Synergy/Rail Blades, Team Scorpion, VelTye, YS Engines, JAG-RC, Electron Retracts
kcordell is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-28-2011, 06:12 AM   #25 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,359
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2009
Default

The Threaded hole in the middle
__________________
Following Jesus !!!!! My Lord, He Never changes!
1#SAB RAW Scorpion Tribunus V2 300A ,
NEO-Vcontrol Touch,The only Way to Fly!
2#SAB Kraken 700 Scorpion Tribunus V2 200A
Helicrazy2 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-28-2011, 02:41 PM   #26 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Default

Still 3mm, BUT, if you put a bolt in this hole, make sure it is FLUSH on the inside. The hole is for the pressure on the pressure run carb for that motor.
If you don't think you will ever run that (a pretty $$ to buy it), put a piece of scotch tape on the inside of the backplate, fill the hole with JB Weld (use a toothpick to evenly get it into the hole. After it cures, remove the tape and you have a very nice seal.
__________________
Team Synergy/Rail Blades, Team Scorpion, VelTye, YS Engines, JAG-RC, Electron Retracts
kcordell is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2012, 07:36 PM   #27 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Default

I installed my BPS-1 sensor and it reads 22% without rotating the engine. Rotating with the starter, the cgy750 reads max 84%. Is it ok if it reads the 22% while just sitting there?
mtheli is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2012, 09:17 PM   #28 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,396
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2006
Default

Yes, this normal behavior.
dchekas is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-25-2012, 09:46 PM   #29 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Default

Odd thing is with my os91hzr the sensor doesn't just push right in. Looks like I need to take a Dremel to the sensor to get it to work. Anyone else have this issue?
__________________
Trex700 V.bar, 500, 450pro 250
wolfcbr2003 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2012, 06:34 AM   #30 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 287
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2007
Default

What's the minimum reading you can get that still makes the sensor useable. I see most guys get above 80%, the manual says you need above 60% but Jafa says he only got 48%. So what's the minimum.

As a matter of interest, why do you think Jafa got such a low reading?
__________________
FUTABA 18MZH Mode 2
Mikado Logo 500 3D and Logo 400 APM 2.5 drone
Hirobo SDX Dominik and SDX FBL
Kasama Srimok 90N with cyber head
ozsteel is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2012, 07:52 AM   #31 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Default

First, you must spin the motor with a starter, just turning it by hand won't get an accurate reading due to the electronics in the sensor. Second, the manual states 60% or better.

http://manuals.hobbico.com/fut/bps-1-manual.pdf
__________________
Team Synergy/Rail Blades, Team Scorpion, VelTye, YS Engines, JAG-RC, Electron Retracts
kcordell is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-28-2012, 12:47 AM   #32 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 287
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2007
Default

So I installed my sensor exactly per the manual using Permatex Clear RTV Silicon and let it cure for 12 hours and I only get 42% when spinning the motor using a starter. What could the problem be?

Do I need to redo the install which means a new sensor as the one I just used is bogged with silicon now and the backplate will need a good cleaning?

Is this the best way to get this sensor installed? Can't Futaba come up with something a little more reliable? Using silicon is a one off chance - if you get it wrong you throw it away and get a new one - doesn't sound like the best way to go - but thats only my humble opinion.
__________________
FUTABA 18MZH Mode 2
Mikado Logo 500 3D and Logo 400 APM 2.5 drone
Hirobo SDX Dominik and SDX FBL
Kasama Srimok 90N with cyber head
ozsteel is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-28-2012, 02:19 AM   #33 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Default

That will work fine - I only got 24% but it worked perfectly

Maybe my starter cranks slowly
I couldn't get the sensor into the hole far enough because of the boot/shield
__________________
Rave 450 | Lepton | Logo 400/500/600 | Aeolus | Sceadu | Freya | Avant FX | Raptor G4

Gryphon field rep
Jafa is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-28-2012, 06:18 AM   #34 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 287
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2007
Default

Thanks Jafa, always to the rescue.

I got the sensor all the way in. What I thought might have happened is that I got air bubbles trapped between the sensor and the backplate.

Why's Futaba so keen on 60% if 24% works perfectly?
__________________
FUTABA 18MZH Mode 2
Mikado Logo 500 3D and Logo 400 APM 2.5 drone
Hirobo SDX Dominik and SDX FBL
Kasama Srimok 90N with cyber head
ozsteel is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-28-2012, 09:17 PM   #35 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Default

GCY 750 says need over 80% or 90% - yet worked fine with only 24%
There is something different about this sensor
And the head/coil is pretty delicate
__________________
Rave 450 | Lepton | Logo 400/500/600 | Aeolus | Sceadu | Freya | Avant FX | Raptor G4

Gryphon field rep
Jafa is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-09-2012, 11:58 AM   #36 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Default

Hey Guy's

Will the high-temp Red RTV silicone gasket stuff work with theback plate cover ?.

Thanks
__________________
MA Furion 6, LHS Setup
MA Fury 55: Futaba BLS 251, BLS 451, CGY 750, FGH12, OS 55 HZR, Hatori
Synergy E5S: CGY 750, 14SG, KDE Direct
Forza 450: Xnova, CGY 750, 14SG, MKS
rtnaviman is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-10-2012, 03:40 AM   #37 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Default

Yeah - but it's messy

You should not need to use RTV - just the standard gasket works fine

If your engine is a newer one using an O-Ring definitely don't use the RTV
__________________
Rave 450 | Lepton | Logo 400/500/600 | Aeolus | Sceadu | Freya | Avant FX | Raptor G4

Gryphon field rep
Jafa is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-10-2012, 08:15 AM   #38 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,396
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2006
Default

I think he's asking about using the RTV for the backplate cover.

I would not. The red RTV is a gasket maker to seal between two flanges.

The recommended stuff for this is the Permatex Clear RTV Silicone Adhesive sealant. Should be right next to where ever you bought the red stuff.
dchekas is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-10-2012, 10:45 AM   #39 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Default

Thanks Dchekas,

That's what I was looking for .
__________________
MA Furion 6, LHS Setup
MA Fury 55: Futaba BLS 251, BLS 451, CGY 750, FGH12, OS 55 HZR, Hatori
Synergy E5S: CGY 750, 14SG, KDE Direct
Forza 450: Xnova, CGY 750, 14SG, MKS
rtnaviman is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-30-2019, 11:08 AM   #40 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Canada , Hamilton, Ontario
Default Back Plate Adaption

..... Will this Backplate on the OS 55 HZ-R, with the built-in BLS-1 sensor adapter fit on my OS 50 SX-R ?? TY
Zacattack is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1