9080 servo gears, are they the same as 9180's - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Antique Out of Production and Vintage Helicopters > Outrage RC


Outrage RC Outrage RC - and XP Li-Po Factory Support Forum


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-21-2011, 04:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: usa
Default 9080 servo gears, are they the same as 9180's

I think I need new servo gears for 2 of my torq bl servos 9080

Heli direct has them for the 9080, but only 1 gear the upper

They have the complete set for the 9180's , are they the same?
fusionsx00 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-21-2011, 07:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,616
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fresno, CA.
Default

No, I believe that the 9180 has helical gears... they are different. Double check with HD.
__________________
Bryan AMA# 982814
"No-Neck R/C"
backburner1955 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2011, 04:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: usa
Default

I opened my 9080s, the only helical gears in mine
are the servos motor to the first drive.

All the rest are normal gears, and they look like the ones pictured on heli direct.
fusionsx00 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2011, 04:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: usa
Default

Ok I found them, but im not 100% sure.

But either way I opened my servos, and all the gears are fine
, there is no metal wear
the grease is still really clean, white in color.

How can I test them for faults in the electronics,
I ran 4 flight packs thru them, on the bench
No errors poped up on my fbl unit

In flight, the fbl unit said mechanical servo failure
fusionsx00 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-22-2011, 09:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 332
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus.OH
Default

Maybe one servo is slowing down under load? Does your fbl unit tell you which servo is faulting? If so swap it out and see if you get the error. If you think its gear wear sometimes you can turn some of the gears 180* to tighten up gear mesh,not sure about these servos I've never taken one apart. Goodluck.
Dave Snider is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-13-2011, 03:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: usa
Default

It was the fbl controllers servo bus

Loose solder ball shorting the contacts.

But I still want a set of new gears in case I need them
fusionsx00 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-16-2011, 09:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,778
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cape Coral, FL, USA
Default

I think it is pretty hard to wear those out.
__________________
Kontronik, Switch Blades, Bavarian Demon, TDR, TDF, Diabolo, HeliBaby, Takumi and Banshee
im4711 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-17-2011, 02:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: usa
Default

Thanks im4711 for helping me out

The gears do look bullet proof, im worried about the main servo motor gear
its brass I think.

These are some great servos, I've logged 100s of flights on them.

Now if outrage.com will reply to my email
fusionsx00 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-17-2011, 05:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,778
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cape Coral, FL, USA
Default

Well I like them too. Affordable but pretty good HV servos.
__________________
Kontronik, Switch Blades, Bavarian Demon, TDR, TDF, Diabolo, HeliBaby, Takumi and Banshee
im4711 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-25-2011, 01:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: usa
Default

I just switched th gears out, the ones you sent me were in brand new condition.plus I have extra cases now too.

After pulling out the microscope I did see that the helical gear was worn on all my servos.
its the brass one on the motor, all the rest looked really good.

Still sad to see such a nice set of servos like that, they will live on happily
in my x5.
Thanks again im4711, you saved me a huge headace.
fusionsx00 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-25-2011, 09:47 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,778
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cape Coral, FL, USA
Default

glad to help. As you could see I made sure that the electronics had been smoked for good. the servos had been used only for about 5-10 flights if I remember correct. Just plugged 12S into them. All 4 of them had been smoked right away. Interesting was that the 9 channel rx survived without issue as the FBL system.
__________________
Kontronik, Switch Blades, Bavarian Demon, TDR, TDF, Diabolo, HeliBaby, Takumi and Banshee
im4711 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-09-2011, 09:44 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: usa
Default

Wow, that's one tuff rx and fbl unit

They must have built in protection made of kryptonite.

I installed the gearings, and everything feels like it did on day 1.
but the servos were fine before the gear swap, just did the
swap now instead of later
fusionsx00 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-19-2012, 09:00 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 799
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia, Melbourne, ringwood east
Default

anyone ever find out if the 9080 can be upgraded to a 9180 with 9180 gears?
rallyant is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-29-2012, 09:12 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,778
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cape Coral, FL, USA
Default

Good question - I am not sure. Personally I do not believe you can but I forgot to check and compare the 2 different servos.
im4711 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1