RC AERODYNE CNC plug and play 4 blade Rotor head - Page 2 - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Scale Helicopters > Mechanics


Mechanics Mechanics Discussion


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2011, 08:49 PM   #21 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 99
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Caguas,Puerto Rico
Default

I dont know if you have a problem during servo power up. I had to install a collar on the main shaft to avoid damage to the links due to the weight of the blades. This collar avoids the excessive travel of the swash plate down. This can cause damage to your links with the different geometry of the R/C AD rotor head.. Here is a picture of what I did on mine and works very nice.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC04343.JPG
Views:	334
Size:	154.3 KB
ID:	247043   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC04342.JPG
Views:	314
Size:	136.6 KB
ID:	247044  
vale71 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-19-2011, 05:25 AM   #22 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 67
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Clarksville, TN
Default

VALE71,

Interesting i will have to look at that, I have cracked both of my aileron servo horns and all the pitchorns on the head, ive gotten a new head enroute with a swash driver to help stabilize the PC links. I also am almost done with the new tail drive with the torq tube you designed, I wll have to show you pics its coming out very nicely. And of course it allowed me to move my tail servo back to center reducing weight in the tail, And it is very smooth in Operation, Cudos on the tail drive mod should of done it along time ago, No broken tail drive for me, Now just get the head working and Im in business. Reprogrammed the ESC with low Gov and slow start, Should also went ack to my 170 gear with 12 t pinion think my head speed is going tb be right in there.I did want to know do you have the boom supports installed or are you just running the tube with out them.
Thanks for all the advice.
Chris
UH60maintainer7 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-27-2011, 04:55 PM   #23 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 99
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Caguas,Puerto Rico
Default

Chris,

Yes the tail support is installed. I trim the front wood frame inside so the two rods can be acomodated. I also secure the two rods to the fuselage with tie raps.
vale71 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-28-2011, 12:23 AM   #24 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 67
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Clarksville, TN
Default

Vale71, thanks i will do the same
UH60maintainer7 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-28-2011, 02:42 PM   #25 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 774
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Default

To reply to the original post, I just finished installing and testing my RC Aerodyne (or Smart Model depending on who you ask) and absolutely love it. The quality of machining is impeccable and everything came installed with loctite and quality hardware. Most importantly it is machined true and is balanced perfectly. I had no issues with the links, all I did was move the nut to underneath the j arm and use Align links.

I'm using a SK720 so not sure how it does without stabilization, but I would guess very well. Very happy I went with this!
__________________
All scale all the way.


My Gallery
majuro15 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-05-2011, 07:04 AM   #26 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 67
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Clarksville, TN
Default Rotorhead Modification

Well here are some pics of my modification I am waiting for a new swashpalte with follower from RC Aerodyne to show up. I build the Pitch horns out of .50 aicraft aluminum weighing at 1g a peice perfectly balanced and tapped in the Align 600 ext ball link for the PC attachment. Also I have added precision turnbuckl PC rods and Align Ball link connectors.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Photo0968.jpg
Views:	215
Size:	48.3 KB
ID:	251382   Click image for larger version

Name:	Photo0969.jpg
Views:	218
Size:	45.7 KB
ID:	251383   Click image for larger version

Name:	Photo0971.jpg
Views:	214
Size:	49.0 KB
ID:	251384   Click image for larger version

Name:	Photo0970.jpg
Views:	218
Size:	54.9 KB
ID:	251385   Click image for larger version

Name:	Photo0973.jpg
Views:	219
Size:	70.7 KB
ID:	251386  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Photo0972.jpg
Views:	226
Size:	48.7 KB
ID:	251387   Click image for larger version

Name:	Photo0975.jpg
Views:	227
Size:	71.1 KB
ID:	251388   Click image for larger version

Name:	Photo0982.jpg
Views:	241
Size:	72.6 KB
ID:	251389  
UH60maintainer7 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-05-2011, 06:53 PM   #27 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by majuro15 View Post
To reply to the original post, I just finished installing and testing my RC Aerodyne (or Smart Model depending on who you ask) and absolutely love it. The quality of machining is impeccable and everything came installed with loctite and quality hardware. Most importantly it is machined true and is balanced perfectly. I had no issues with the links, all I did was move the nut to underneath the j arm and use Align links.

I'm using a SK720 so not sure how it does without stabilization, but I would guess very well. Very happy I went with this!

Which Align links do you use. I tried H60162 T600 Linkage Rod Set and they don't fit. They are supposed to be 1.96 so what size are the J links threaded for?
__________________
GimpyGolden is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2011, 01:19 AM   #28 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 67
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Clarksville, TN
Default

Gimpy Golden im using the following parts for my modification

01601 Da vinci Flybarless Turnbuckle control rods (4ea)
H60071A Ball links Form Align (8ea)
HN 6096 Extended Ball attachment 600n (4ea)

I tapped the the hole with a #11 course thread tap standard equivalant to 3 mm in Dia with lock tight applied.
UH60maintainer7 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2011, 03:50 PM   #29 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 774
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Default

I mistyped, just using the link ends, not the whole links. The links that came with the head from Flying Hobby were a perfect length. Not sure if I got an updated version from them vs. what RC Aerodyne is selling.
__________________
All scale all the way.


My Gallery
majuro15 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2014, 10:56 AM   #30 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Laurel Miss.
Default Looking for parts list for plug & play 4 blade

Anyone out there have a parts list or original paper work on P & P 4 blade head.
I bought mine used and have none of that.
Any help would be appreciated.
PS not much help from RC Aerodine!
curly39440 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2014, 01:36 PM   #31 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 777
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Middleburg, Florida USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy01 View Post
I think that 1500rpm is a little high for a 4 blade scale heli.

My Long Ranger weighs 19lbs and flies well on 1350rpm with two 710 mm blades.

I don't think that anything should come apart at 1500rpm, but what may affect it is how fast you get there and how fast the headspeed changes.

Do you use a soft start, and if so, how slow ?

What are your settings for rate of change of headspeed and governor gain ?

You do not need even the power of a 4025 to fly a 17lb scale heli, never mind a 4035. I think that A 14T pinion is too much as it gives you nearly 1850rpm at 100% throttle, or 81% throttle at 1500rpm and 76% at 1400rpm, which would be starting to run the ESC a bit hot.

Semi-symmetrical blades do have a bit more lift than symmetrical blades, so you need even less rpm to get the same lift. Lift-off at 5 degrees is about right - I would have expected a bit less at 1500rpm.

Colin
What do you think is a good head speed for a scale 450class AS350? How low do you think I could go? It is a two blade head with semi symmetrical blades. WS
Wind Spirit is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2014, 04:10 AM   #32 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,169
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Default

My guess is about 2200-2400rpm, but I don't have a 450 scale. I suspect your restriction may be tail authority. I replied in your other thread.

Colin
__________________
Vario Long Ranger 700e
Seahawk 600
UH-1N 500
Baumann EC-145 800+ (coming soon )
Andy01 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2014, 09:26 AM   #33 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Carolina
Default

I have two of the 4 Blade rotor heads from RC Aerodyne and I haven't had any problems out of mine.I run both at between 1500 and 1600...I also converted both of them to run a 700 class 450KV motor, 11t (??) pinion and a 112 Tooth KDE 700 Helical gear. I had to cut the 600 ESP frames in the Motor area to get the 700 sized motor to fit..But they run now with plenty of power. Both helis are in the 16 - 18 pound range.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
TRex 450L, TRex 500 EFL, TRex 600 EFL, Synergy E7/SE, AS350, Bell 222, Bell 206, Jayhawk, Tiger EC-665, Vbar, Beastx
erospawn is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-18-2014, 08:55 PM   #34 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11
 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Texas
Default

I've been using the plug-n-play head on my AH64 and having run into any issues so far. Still playing with different head speeds but have run it up to 1800 without any issues.
Pavilion_06 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1