hi all got a prob with newbuild - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Newbies: Tips and Information


Newbies: Tips and Information Section of HF, specifically for Passing along info to newcomers to the hobby. Setup, tweaking, orientation practice, etc.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2011, 03:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Default hi all got a prob with newbuild

hi everyone this is my 1st post on here and im starting it with a help needed pls,

basically im new to helis so i built my 1st one and trying to set up the electrics, and thats where my prob starts,

oh by the way the heli in question is a HELIOS gootch 450se v2

i've installed 3 mg90s for the cylics and hit a prob,

the elevator servo is moving further then the front 2 so when i level the swashplate at mid stick as soon as i go to top stick the swashplate is tilting towards the nose as elevator servo pushes to high and at bottom stick swash is reversed as its pulling to low.

i have a dx6i tx and have set the tx up for heli including 120ccpm swashplate etc

the only way i can keep swashplate level thru travel top to bottom and vice versa is to go into the tx travel adjust setting and reduce elevator to 60% at top stick and 45% at bottom.

but as you can imagine its only giving me limited swash lift

i,ve tried increasing aileron and pitch to 125% but doesnt seem to alter anything,

i am new to this so dont really understand the full workings of the dx6i yet but im sure there is something im missing

any help guys as im stuck


many thanx



steve (uk)
stevek32 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-07-2011, 05:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,070
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: St. Louis, MO
Default

I'm in the middle of my 1st build as well, and probably just a couple days behind you. Are all three servos using the same servo arm? Are the balls at the same spot on all three arms? Can you alter the ball location to help your problem?
j32driver is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-07-2011, 05:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,070
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: St. Louis, MO
Default

Other thoughts: Is it a new Dx6i? If it was used before, did you delete the old models and start from scratch? If you did start from scratch, is there a possibility that you may have fargled up some sort of mixing setting?
j32driver is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-07-2011, 05:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 467
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Orlando, FL
Default

you should start by watching these vids: https://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=11373
__________________
there are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary numbers, and those that don't.
cgriffith is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-07-2011, 06:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Default

hi
yes all servo arms are the same and balls in the same hole across all three horns

it is a used dx6i i am not sure how to delete models already on there? but i have set up a new model for the helios

the swash mix is 60% and the travel adjust was 100% across all but now i've had to lower the elevator down to 60% to keep it level at top and 45% to keep it level at bottom but this has caused a problem because im only getting -5 & +5 on pitch

any ideas guys



steve
stevek32 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-07-2011, 08:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 102
 

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Unite states
Default

There should be some configuration on your transmiter that is mixing pitch with elevator, maybe your transmiter is not in mode 2 keep messing with it and read the manual.
truefranco is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-07-2011, 10:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,070
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: St. Louis, MO
Default

More setup thoughts:

Are the cyclic servos ABSOLUTELY set to 90 degrees and centered with the throttle stick centered? If they were, and you used subtrim to get them to 90, did you then ever reverse a servo?

I just did this wrong myself. Set the proper directions (reverse if needed) first, then set 90 degrees, then use subtrim if you have to.

Sorry if this isn't helping, I'm spewing info as I learn myself.
j32driver is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-07-2011, 10:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ontario
Default

If you are sure everything else if fine, why not just increase the pitch % in the swash menu? That's what it's there for.
lanman123 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-08-2011, 01:36 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Default

yes everything is 90 degrees i had to use sub trim to achieve this, also if i adjust pitch/aileron which is currently at 60% will that alter negative pitch because currently its about -5 and +5 or will it just give me more positive pitch?,

one final thought is i have done a mode mod to the tx i.e swapping the throttle and pitch sticks around

http://www.max3design.com/soporte/RC...ode_change.htm

i suddenly thought i wonder if the throttle and pitch pots have the same range values? has anyone else tried this with the dx6i?


steve
stevek32 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-08-2011, 02:47 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New Zealand
Default

I changed my Dx6i from mode 1 to 2, no problems so far
toonttm is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-08-2011, 03:19 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Default

ok cool i can rule that one out then,

running out of ideas now?
stevek32 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-27-2011, 01:41 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: uk
Default

Daft question maybe, but I guess you have got three servos the same - you haven't accidentally substituted the tail servo have you?
Airsporter1st is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-31-2011, 11:10 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Gassville, Ar
Lightbulb

You may want to try this as ive just built the same heli. Its not for a spectrum radio but if ya follow the suggestions for setup it maybe of some help to you. http://rabbitsvc.com/t6ConfigurationManual.pdf
arflyer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1