24V 1800 Watt Portable Charging Box - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Batteries and Charging Support > Brand Specific Charger and Battery Support


Brand Specific Charger and Battery Support Brand Specific Charger and Battery Support


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2011, 09:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,194
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Great State of Texas
Default 24V 1800 Watt Portable Charging Box

Just finished my portable charging box. It is made from a tool box from Home Depot, a couple of Dell 6650 server power supplies from ebay and an ICharger 306B and Turnigy Accucell 8150. It is capable of dual 24V and dual 12V outputs up to 72 amps total.







__________________
Paul
Agile 5.5 - Q 4125-1100, YEP 120, Brain2 HD FBL / Outrage 550 - HK4020-1390, Edge 120, Brain2 HD
Rave Ballistic FSO - Q 4530-500, Edge 160HV, Brain2 HD / Protos Max V2 - MSH 4530-500, Edge 160HV, Brain2 HD
pctomlin is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-15-2011, 09:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 45
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hacienda Heights, CA
Default

Very Nice!!!! Hope I can get something like that made someday.
__________________
Align 500,600Pro,Blade 400(X),120 SR,mCPX,350QX, DX6i,JR 9503,Phoenix Sim.
Primeval is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2011, 09:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,194
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Great State of Texas
Default

Thanks, I had a lot of fun building it and it will sure come in handy. It is nice having all of my charging stuff in one neat bundle.
__________________
Paul
Agile 5.5 - Q 4125-1100, YEP 120, Brain2 HD FBL / Outrage 550 - HK4020-1390, Edge 120, Brain2 HD
Rave Ballistic FSO - Q 4530-500, Edge 160HV, Brain2 HD / Protos Max V2 - MSH 4530-500, Edge 160HV, Brain2 HD
pctomlin is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2011, 08:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 715
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Knoxville, TN
Default

I'm ordering 2x Dell 6650s in order to do the same same up. I was wondering if you could post how you wired the power supplies up.
I understand that these PSs have an internally floating ground. So connecting them in series should be straight forward. Wanted to know if you found this to be true.
thanks!

Update: just found the thread that shows the wiring. Very nice
__________________
R71d
Futaba T8FGS - Goblin 500, Gaui X2, Heli-Max Axe 100CP, and miscellaneous crashed heli parts...

Last edited by Ranger71d; 09-24-2011 at 01:37 PM..
Ranger71d is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2011, 01:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Greece
Default

I want the wiring too.. i Have two HPs on 1180W and 47 amps..!
__________________
AP Logo600SX:Pyro 700-52 -Vbar-3x610 -bls251-Vbar GOv-Hw PL120HV-Thundepower
Logo6003dXera 560 - VbarGov - 3x8717 - Bls251 - Hobbywing PL 120Hv-Thunderpower
Cinestar 8 Cs gimbal - HoverFlypro - Tiger motors 710-Radians-Turnigy Plush 40A
MaSt0RaS is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-26-2011, 05:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 148
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Default

Where did you get your binding posts? Everywhere I look is super expensive.
__________________
EXI 450
Trex 600e GF
007brendan is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-26-2011, 06:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,974
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Little Falls, MN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 007brendan View Post
Where did you get your binding posts? Everywhere I look is super expensive.
I have seen them at radio shack pretty resonable.
__________________
Screw It, I'm gonna fly.
Synergy E5, Synergy E5s
Couple planks, couple quads
vControl and Neo
povern is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-27-2011, 10:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,194
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Great State of Texas
Default

This is where I got my binding posts from. They worked great. Heavy duty and can take up to an 8 awg wire in the upper post.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Dual-Banana-...item2eb7ce588a
__________________
Paul
Agile 5.5 - Q 4125-1100, YEP 120, Brain2 HD FBL / Outrage 550 - HK4020-1390, Edge 120, Brain2 HD
Rave Ballistic FSO - Q 4530-500, Edge 160HV, Brain2 HD / Protos Max V2 - MSH 4530-500, Edge 160HV, Brain2 HD
pctomlin is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-27-2011, 10:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,194
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Great State of Texas
Default

I had zero issues wiring these PSUs in series. They are designed from Dell with the AC and DC grounds isolated from each other and all the appropriate safeguards. Just wire up and go.

Here is how I wired up my PSUs. I have dual 12V and dual 24V outputs up to the tray to power the chargers and have a port to share.


I wired the three red pins together using a servo connector. It slid over the pins perfectly. I then ran the servo wire up to a switch mounted in the toolbox tray. two wires went to one leg of the switch and the third servo wire went to the other leg of the switch to complete the circuit. I use this to power up the DC rail after plugging in the PSU to the AC power.


The final modification to my charging box. I added a shelf to hold the batteries while charging. Did not like setting them in the tray with the chargers.
__________________
Paul
Agile 5.5 - Q 4125-1100, YEP 120, Brain2 HD FBL / Outrage 550 - HK4020-1390, Edge 120, Brain2 HD
Rave Ballistic FSO - Q 4530-500, Edge 160HV, Brain2 HD / Protos Max V2 - MSH 4530-500, Edge 160HV, Brain2 HD
pctomlin is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-28-2011, 05:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 414
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Default

Hi Paul, Looks great... Could you give us the model / part number of the Dell power supplies..??? I'm presuming they are around on eBay..???

Many thanks...
__________________
Regards, Mark R (#248)
TRex 700E V-Bar NEO, BLS251, DS8915's, HJive120, JLog, VControl Carbon
TDR 710 CYs, V-Bar NEO, MPH83s, Jive 120, JLog, R2 Buffer, VControl Carbon
Logo600SX 600 CYs, V-Bar NEO, 8715s, Jive120, JLog, R2 Buffer, VControl Carbon
Wizza is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-28-2011, 10:28 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,194
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Great State of Texas
Default

I got them off of ebay. I was able to purchase a pair of them for $25.00 locally, but one of them was DOA. I purchased another one off of ebay for $35.00 brand new with free shipping to complete my set of PSUs. Returned the DOA PSU for a refund. You can use the below information to search ebay. Be sure and do separate searches with the 086GNR, the 7000245, and ATSN7000245 along with the full string below. If I remember correctly a couple even showed up using ASTN7000245 in the search. For some reason I would get some different hits over just using the full string below. One thing to remember, these PSUs are about 8 lbs each and 12"x6 1/2"X2 5/8". They are larger than what most other people are using but in my opinion well worth the added size and weight, especially considering the AC and DC grounds are already isolated from each other.

DELL PowerEdge 6650 900W Power Supply 086GNR 7000245

__________________
Paul
Agile 5.5 - Q 4125-1100, YEP 120, Brain2 HD FBL / Outrage 550 - HK4020-1390, Edge 120, Brain2 HD
Rave Ballistic FSO - Q 4530-500, Edge 160HV, Brain2 HD / Protos Max V2 - MSH 4530-500, Edge 160HV, Brain2 HD
pctomlin is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-29-2011, 08:32 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 715
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Knoxville, TN
Default

Just got 2 of these per supplies in the mail today. $25.00 each plus shipping on eBay.
Didn't come with power cords and I didn't think much about it as I have some extra pc per cords.
These PS use a non standard plug. From what info i have found i will need a C19 plug to mate to the PS. So tomorrow I'll search locally for a C19 to 5-15p cord for each PS. The c19 end of the cord is what you will need to plug into the PS. 5-15p end is the standard US 3 prong plug.
If you grab one off the Internet make sure to grab the proper per cord too.
__________________
R71d
Futaba T8FGS - Goblin 500, Gaui X2, Heli-Max Axe 100CP, and miscellaneous crashed heli parts...
Ranger71d is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-29-2011, 08:48 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,194
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Great State of Texas
Default

I got both of my power cords off ebay also. They were 8' cords and cost about $7.95 each if I remember correctly. Another alternative is to get a heavy duty extension cord and change out the plug on the end for some good spade connectors.
__________________
Paul
Agile 5.5 - Q 4125-1100, YEP 120, Brain2 HD FBL / Outrage 550 - HK4020-1390, Edge 120, Brain2 HD
Rave Ballistic FSO - Q 4530-500, Edge 160HV, Brain2 HD / Protos Max V2 - MSH 4530-500, Edge 160HV, Brain2 HD
pctomlin is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-06-2011, 05:47 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 833
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Melbourne Australia
Default

Paul for the on/off switch set up from the three red pins, do you need to do this from both PS? If so, do you send the wiring from both to one switch?
bobloblaw is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-06-2011, 07:59 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,194
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Great State of Texas
Default

Each PSI needs its own separate switch. I turn on the first PSU to get 12v and then I turn on the second PSU to get 24v. I reverse the order when powering down. You don't have to have switches, you can just jumper the three pins together if you want to. I wanted to be able to plug in the PSUs to the ac supply and then power up the dc rails when I wanted to so I added the switches.
__________________
Paul
Agile 5.5 - Q 4125-1100, YEP 120, Brain2 HD FBL / Outrage 550 - HK4020-1390, Edge 120, Brain2 HD
Rave Ballistic FSO - Q 4530-500, Edge 160HV, Brain2 HD / Protos Max V2 - MSH 4530-500, Edge 160HV, Brain2 HD
pctomlin is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-06-2011, 08:22 AM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,998
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Aiken, SC
Default

This looks amazing! You can really see the time you have spent on this has made this very enjoyable for all of us to see and hopefully learn from! Very inspiring pictures, I definitely will make one like this now for my 208b

Thank you!
RCTada is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-06-2011, 07:27 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,194
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Great State of Texas
Default

Thanks for the compliment. I really enjoy building things. If you have any questions about my build feel free to contact me. This is the main thread for the build, has some more pictures.

https://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=310694

If anyone is interested I documented the disassembly of the PSUs to remove the handles so they would lay flat against each other. I can post an explaination of how it is done with all the pictures and how I took them apart.
__________________
Paul
Agile 5.5 - Q 4125-1100, YEP 120, Brain2 HD FBL / Outrage 550 - HK4020-1390, Edge 120, Brain2 HD
Rave Ballistic FSO - Q 4530-500, Edge 160HV, Brain2 HD / Protos Max V2 - MSH 4530-500, Edge 160HV, Brain2 HD
pctomlin is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2011, 11:40 AM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 177
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Salt Rock, WV
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pctomlin View Post
I wired the three red pins together using a servo connector. It slid over the pins perfectly. I then ran the servo wire up to a switch mounted in the toolbox tray. two wires went to one leg of the switch and the third servo wire went to the other leg of the switch to complete the circuit. I use this to power up the DC rail after plugging in the PSU to the AC power.

Does it matter what 2 wires go to one post and the 1 remaining to the other of the switch?
Thanks

And I would be interested in the disassembly of the PSUs....Thanks!
__________________
TREX 600 Gasser (690 Mains, 700TT boom) - T-Rex 450 SE V2 - OpenPilot Revo - CC3D - Atom - Blade CPP (06' model and still going!) - Blade mCP x (Wha hooo) - JR9503, SPEKTRUM DX8, Sullivan Dynatron/Finer Edge
AMA#621236 & IRCHA#4196
Rick~K is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2011, 01:17 PM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,194
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Great State of Texas
Default

The center pin of the three marked red pins is the ground. On my switches for powering up the 12V rail I placed the outer pins on one leg of the switch and the middle pin on the other leg of the switch to complete the circuit.

I will post up a how to on taking these PSUs apart tonight. I need to resize the pictures and add some text/arrows to point out what to do.
__________________
Paul
Agile 5.5 - Q 4125-1100, YEP 120, Brain2 HD FBL / Outrage 550 - HK4020-1390, Edge 120, Brain2 HD
Rave Ballistic FSO - Q 4530-500, Edge 160HV, Brain2 HD / Protos Max V2 - MSH 4530-500, Edge 160HV, Brain2 HD
pctomlin is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2011, 05:00 PM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,194
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Great State of Texas
Default

Just got done with the thread on how to strip the PSU cases so the handles can be removed. Here is the link to the thread.

https://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=354252
__________________
Paul
Agile 5.5 - Q 4125-1100, YEP 120, Brain2 HD FBL / Outrage 550 - HK4020-1390, Edge 120, Brain2 HD
Rave Ballistic FSO - Q 4530-500, Edge 160HV, Brain2 HD / Protos Max V2 - MSH 4530-500, Edge 160HV, Brain2 HD
pctomlin is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1