VBar upgrade for LV controllers - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > YGE


YGE YGE ESC Support and Discussion


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2011, 10:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pewaukee, WI USA
Default VBar upgrade for LV controllers

Hi everyone,

YGE just announced to me that the LV controllers can be upgraded to support VBar governor as well.

The charge for this is 35Euros - it will be a hardware and firmware modification and will include the additional phase sensor cable output from the ESC.

New LV controllers with this feature will cost 35Euros more, so there will be an option of an LV ESC with and without this addition.

-P
__________________
LAHeli, MSH, YGE - ElektroRC.com
pwkpete is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-16-2011, 11:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,056
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Long Valley, NJ USA
Default

Very nice ! Thanks pete!
__________________
Gaui X7 MSH Brain YGE160HV Xera4035-480 Gaui X475 FES MSH Brain YGE120 Xera4020 Gaui X5 MSH Brain YGE90HV Xera 4025
Gaui X6 vbar silver 5.3 YGE120HV 700mx
joe1l is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-18-2011, 01:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,570
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Christiansburg, VA, USA
Default

How long till you have a 40A with this?
prototype3a is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-18-2011, 08:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pewaukee, WI USA
Default

Will be in the next order in about a week and a half, waiting on some other controllers to become available
__________________
LAHeli, MSH, YGE - ElektroRC.com
pwkpete is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2011, 01:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,443
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Socal, USA
Default

Man I wish I had bought my YGE120HV right now so that I can have the upgrade. Mine is flying so good and I don't want to miss it for 3 weeks!!!!
__________________
Long Nguyen



Long Nguyen is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2011, 08:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pewaukee, WI USA
Default

Glad to hear it's working well, Long!

The external governor update was supposed to be completed at the end of October. Unfortunately (or fortunately) I got the last shipment with an, "Oh by the way - ", these all have the update

-P
__________________
LAHeli, MSH, YGE - ElektroRC.com
pwkpete is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2011, 04:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: usa
Default

Hmm, if I had my sk720 in there I would need that.

I'm waiting for v-bar to release there new sensor
Then I might get that and a new yge with the upgrade.

Now why aren't the larger company's doing this?
This is a smart move by YGE
fusionsx00 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2011, 08:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK/Switzerland
Default

So just to understand, this will basically be a built in phase sensor that feeds the RPM information to the Vbar/Skookum/whatever and removes the need for a separate one? And you have two cables from the ESC - one to the governor port and one to the normal throttle port?

If so, is the only advantage to this that it removes the need for a separate phase sensor, or are there more important changes under the hood, as I was under the impression that the YGE's worked fine with external governors anyway?

Anyway, great move by YGE... really nice to see that the company is driving things forward.
__________________
Blade mCP X - Brushless, XP-7A, HP05S
Gaui X2, BeastX/Scorpion 3400kv/YGE-30A/GS-093/DS95i
Align AH-1 Cobra (T-Rex 500)
Align T-Rex 600 EFL Pro, SK720/600MX/YGE-90HV/BL9180/BL9188
zeeflyboy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2011, 09:04 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,570
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Christiansburg, VA, USA
Default

One advantage of having the rpm data being fed to the FBL box from the ESC is that it is much more reliable and accurate than the phase sensors. I get quite a few phase sensor errors on my v-bar gov heli using the hyperion sensor.
prototype3a is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2011, 10:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,474
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Texas
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by prototype3a View Post
One advantage of having the rpm data being fed to the FBL box from the ESC is that it is much more reliable and accurate than the phase sensors. I get quite a few phase sensor errors on my v-bar gov heli using the hyperion sensor.
I can confirm that my VBar Log shows a Lot less "Gov input" errors since I moved from the Hyperion to the YGE Sensor.
__________________
"If you think you can or you can not you are right"
Goblin Xera 4530, YGE 160,VBar
Diablo, HJive, 4525 Ultimate,VBar

Synergy N5C sitting in Box...
Mystic3D is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2011, 10:12 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,443
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Socal, USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by prototype3a View Post
One advantage of having the rpm data being fed to the FBL box from the ESC is that it is much more reliable and accurate than the phase sensors. I get quite a few phase sensor errors on my v-bar gov heli using the hyperion sensor.
My hyperion phase sensor induces some errors too! Man this really convinces me to stop flying for a few weeks and send the ESC back for an upgrade...
__________________
Long Nguyen



Long Nguyen is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2011, 11:58 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK/Switzerland
Default

Cool, thanks for the info...

I guess I need to put another one of these on my shopping list soon!
__________________
Blade mCP X - Brushless, XP-7A, HP05S
Gaui X2, BeastX/Scorpion 3400kv/YGE-30A/GS-093/DS95i
Align AH-1 Cobra (T-Rex 500)
Align T-Rex 600 EFL Pro, SK720/600MX/YGE-90HV/BL9180/BL9188

Last edited by zeeflyboy; 09-21-2011 at 04:01 PM..
zeeflyboy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-22-2011, 05:05 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bangkok Thailand
Default

Hello guys ,

I have some question about yge 160HV.

Is it can upgrade with built in phase sensor?

Thanks guys
Norman_nitro is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-22-2011, 09:03 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pewaukee, WI USA
Default

Depends on the build date. You should talk with your reseller - they can work with YGE to find out.
__________________
LAHeli, MSH, YGE - ElektroRC.com
pwkpete is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1