v3.0.8 cyclic gain (Dial 1) - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > BeastX FBL System


BeastX FBL System BeastX FBL Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-30-2011, 11:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,148
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Default v3.0.8 cyclic gain (Dial 1)

With v3.0.0 dial 1 any higher then dead center would make my head oscillate.
Today I did some testing and I could almost put dial 1 into the upper corner before oscillation starts.

Anyone else noticed this change, or is it just me?
__________________
TSH Gaui X5 FES, Spirit, S.Bus, HW100A V3, Formula swash/head
TSH Gaui X3, Spirit, 6S, S.Bus, HW50A V3
Futaba T7C (I admit, also a Spektrum DX8 and some planks.) ;-)
Phoenix R/C v5
helidude71 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-30-2011, 01:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Negaunee, Michigan
Default

I haven't had a chance to fly the update yet. Hopefully tomorrow or the next day.
__________________
):>
Bob O is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-30-2011, 01:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,231
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Europe
Default

I never had that problem with V3.0 and now with V3.0.8 its perfect to
__________________
We Men Need a Second Hobby, Besides Women
Futaba, Vbar, Kontronik, Align, IKON, 3GX, Vario, WR Hercules
Mikado, Scorpion, BeastX, Gens Ace, Goblin, Hyperion, JetCat Turbine, APS, BD3SX
www.modelhelicopter-review.nl
trexpro is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-30-2011, 02:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,148
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Default

It's not a problem but something I noticed.
Can you crank up dial 1 much higher then before with v3.0.0?
__________________
TSH Gaui X5 FES, Spirit, S.Bus, HW100A V3, Formula swash/head
TSH Gaui X3, Spirit, 6S, S.Bus, HW50A V3
Futaba T7C (I admit, also a Spektrum DX8 and some planks.) ;-)
Phoenix R/C v5
helidude71 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-30-2011, 02:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,231
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Europe
Default

Was not necessary, my heli flew fine without tuning dail 1 so i left it center. Tomorrow I fly and will try it out

I'll let you know
__________________
We Men Need a Second Hobby, Besides Women
Futaba, Vbar, Kontronik, Align, IKON, 3GX, Vario, WR Hercules
Mikado, Scorpion, BeastX, Gens Ace, Goblin, Hyperion, JetCat Turbine, APS, BD3SX
www.modelhelicopter-review.nl
trexpro is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-30-2011, 03:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,148
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Default

Thanks!

I wish I could fly tomorrow.
When I'm back from work it's dark outside.
__________________
TSH Gaui X5 FES, Spirit, S.Bus, HW100A V3, Formula swash/head
TSH Gaui X3, Spirit, 6S, S.Bus, HW50A V3
Futaba T7C (I admit, also a Spektrum DX8 and some planks.) ;-)
Phoenix R/C v5
helidude71 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-30-2011, 05:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,455
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Norway, Fredrikstad
Default

I put on some 713 Edge blades on my 700 today, and noticed a slight wobble. A buddy at the trip thought it may be worn dampeners.
__________________
700E DFC - Ikon
700N FBL - Ikon
latte is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-31-2011, 01:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,231
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Europe
Default

Hi helidude71,

I've experimented with dial 1 and you're right, you can indeed turn dial 1 way above center before oscillation starts. Is this good or not
__________________
We Men Need a Second Hobby, Besides Women
Futaba, Vbar, Kontronik, Align, IKON, 3GX, Vario, WR Hercules
Mikado, Scorpion, BeastX, Gens Ace, Goblin, Hyperion, JetCat Turbine, APS, BD3SX
www.modelhelicopter-review.nl
trexpro is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-31-2011, 04:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 424
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego C.A.
Default

It wont oscillate in a hover, but try some real hard cyclic and collective manuevers and I bet it will oscillate.
__________________
Compass Atom 500, Beastx Hitec hs5245mg,Savox 1290mg
Chargersforlife is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-31-2011, 05:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,148
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chargersforlife View Post
It wont oscillate in a hover, but try some real hard cyclic and collective manuevers and I bet it will oscillate.
Hell yes it did oscillate in a hover anything above dead center! (On my 500 bird.)

trexpro, glad you see the same thing. I thought my mind was playing with me.
Question is indeed, why?
I guess we need some time to tune dial 1 again.
__________________
TSH Gaui X5 FES, Spirit, S.Bus, HW100A V3, Formula swash/head
TSH Gaui X3, Spirit, 6S, S.Bus, HW50A V3
Futaba T7C (I admit, also a Spektrum DX8 and some planks.) ;-)
Phoenix R/C v5
helidude71 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-01-2011, 05:37 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ashburn VA
Default

I upgraded to 3.0.8 on my Trex 500 ESP and now in IU 1 I get tail bob and in IU2 I get a hard drift to the left. In normal it is stable but the tail isn't locked in because the HS is too low.

Not sure what's going on--may change dampers and see if it makes a difference. It was flying fine before the upgrade.
regalmat is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-01-2011, 03:50 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,357
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cliffside Park NJ
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by regalmat View Post
I upgraded to 3.0.8 on my Trex 500 ESP and now in IU 1 I get tail bob and in IU2 I get a hard drift to the left. In normal it is stable but the tail isn't locked in because the HS is too low.

Not sure what's going on--may change dampers and see if it makes a difference. It was flying fine before the upgrade.
FBL units can mask underlying problems. Something probably wasn't right before the firmware change. First thing to do is increase your headspeed according to the designs of the tail and head. Too many people are lowering the headspeeds because the FBL unit can compensate for slower roll rates by giving more cyclic...however this leads to loss of tail authority and to head vibrations and bobbing.

Is the headspeed in the manufacturer's recommendation range?
__________________
Trex 450 Pro 3xDS410M + MKS8910A+, Align FBL head w/Microbeast, CC 45 Gov@ 3400rpm(max timing, outrunner mode), Scorpion 2221-8 on 14t, Edge FBL main and tail, CF boom, CC BEC @ 6V
airjawed is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-01-2011, 07:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ashburn VA
Default

Thanks. I'm trying out a new head speed app and will check it.
regalmat is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-02-2011, 05:04 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 424
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego C.A.
Default

Helidude, in your original post you said this "Today I did some testing and I could almost put dial 1 into the upper corner before oscillation starts"

Then you said "Hell yes it did oscillate in a hover anything above dead center! (On my 500 bird.)"

__________________
Compass Atom 500, Beastx Hitec hs5245mg,Savox 1290mg
Chargersforlife is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2011, 10:58 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,148
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chargersforlife View Post
Helidude, in your original post you said this "Today I did some testing and I could almost put dial 1 into the upper corner before oscillation starts"

Then you said "Hell yes it did oscillate in a hover anything above dead center! (On my 500 bird.)"

You left out an important piece of the puzzle.
If you read again my opening post, are you then still confused?
__________________
TSH Gaui X5 FES, Spirit, S.Bus, HW100A V3, Formula swash/head
TSH Gaui X3, Spirit, 6S, S.Bus, HW50A V3
Futaba T7C (I admit, also a Spektrum DX8 and some planks.) ;-)
Phoenix R/C v5
helidude71 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2011, 04:35 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 424
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego C.A.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by helidude71 View Post
You left out an important piece of the puzzle.
If you read again my opening post, are you then still confused?
I'm not confused, you are. You must have misread my post. This isn't very confusing lol
__________________
Compass Atom 500, Beastx Hitec hs5245mg,Savox 1290mg
Chargersforlife is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2011, 04:41 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,148
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Default

I am confused. lol
Well let me refrase.

With v3.0.0 I could NOT set dial 1 any higher then dead center.
Otherwise it would oscillate.
With v3.0.8 I can set dial 1 MUCH higher and no oscillation.
Oscillation starts when it almost hits the upper corner.
__________________
TSH Gaui X5 FES, Spirit, S.Bus, HW100A V3, Formula swash/head
TSH Gaui X3, Spirit, 6S, S.Bus, HW50A V3
Futaba T7C (I admit, also a Spektrum DX8 and some planks.) ;-)
Phoenix R/C v5
helidude71 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1