Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room


Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room - Tips and how-To Videos


Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2012, 05:43 AM   #81 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 52
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Default

I recognized how to set up a Idle 3 on DX8.
surm is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-23-2012, 06:44 AM   #82 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,712
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by surm View Post
I recognized how to set up a Idle 3 on DX8.
Using a Mix I presume? (there's a helpful thread in the Spektrum forum on how to add a second IU on the DX7s using this method, so that's why I'm asking).
__________________
180CFX, Trex 550E (night), Goblin 570, Goblin 630C, DX8
Skidpad is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-07-2013, 09:17 PM   #83 (permalink)
DPW
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,626
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Dallas
Cool New to Dx8

Dx8
Surper Tx
I have had the Dx8 for 2 weeks. Got it with 2 bad switches. I had to repalce the
M-2013 E round long bat M-2013 L/L flat bat with EG2385-ND and EG2386-ND from Digi-Key
Now I have 2 chargers 2 TM1000 2 AR8000 2 cases.

Video's are a big help prior to reading manual (clairfication).

Last edited by DPW; 01-10-2013 at 04:23 PM.. Reason: Deleted Help request not related to Video
DPW is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-14-2013, 05:43 AM   #84 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Memphis3 View Post
Dx8
Surper Tx
I have had the Dx8 for 2 weeks. Got it with 2 bad switches. I had to repalce the
M-2013 E round long bat M-2013 L/L flat bat with EG2385-ND and EG2386-ND from Digi-Key
Now I have 2 chargers 2 TM1000 2 AR8000 2 cases.

Video's are a big help prior to reading manual (clairfication).
I personally would have just returned it! I sent mine back to HH to have the trim buttons repaired, but that was after 2 years of abuse.
Saxguy1000 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2013, 07:36 PM   #85 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Default Disable Throttle Warning

Trying to program H.K. 25 ESC. Instructions specify on 1st step that trans throttle needs to be set to wot (wide open throttle) No can do w/o warning signal. Anyway to temporarily disable throttle warning?
NorCal is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2013, 05:25 AM   #86 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NorCal View Post
Trying to program H.K. 25 ESC. Instructions specify on 1st step that trans throttle needs to be set to wot (wide open throttle) No can do w/o warning signal. Anyway to temporarily disable throttle warning?
Hi

Turn on your radio before you put the throttle wide open,then you power up the ESC and follow the instructions for your ESC's
Don't forget to bind up your reciever/transmitter every time after doing any changes, just to be safe.
HELISTUPID is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2013, 12:07 PM   #87 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Default

Thanks buuuuuuut, esc instructions want the throttle stick in the full up position BEFORE powering up.

Here's how I did a "go around"

Went into System Settings, Warnings, Throttle & set Throttle "Over 100%". Pretty logical when you stop & think about it buuuuuuuuuut I obviously missed it!

Thanks for your tip. Hopefully this will help someone else out
NorCal is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-28-2013, 07:25 PM   #88 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Default info

finless do u work on heli's if someone sent one to u
fallfromheaven is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-20-2013, 01:25 PM   #89 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Default

Hi, i just bought this spectrum DX8 TX, which running a old version 2.0.2, and i know there is a new version for this DX8 TX for update.. So what i want to know that which is better, old version or new version? cos i heard that someone mentioned to me the DX8 version got abit of problem.. but i now very what is the problem. So i hope could get someone with knowledge on it and give me advice. Thanks...
HeliKing84 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-20-2013, 08:29 PM   #90 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,118
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC USA
Default

I am on the latest 2.06 fw, and I have not had any issues.
__________________
14S Tron 7/Protos 700X Evo/Kraken; 7S Kraken 580/Logo 550SX V2; 6S Buddy 380 KSE
VBC Touch & Neo Vlinks, YGE "T" ESCs; AGM Deep Cycle Batteries
Sims on Mac: Heli-X, neXt, AccuRC, RF9, Phoenix, AeroFly RC7 Ultimate
Amain Field Representative
jhamel is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-20-2013, 08:41 PM   #91 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,712
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Default Re: Spektrum DX8 Intructional Videos

There were problems with some of the early DX8's, but those have been resolved, and the new ones are fine; I bought one around New Years.

Firmware...there's a list of the changes within each firmware upgrade on the Spektrum site, and you have to 'join" the community to download the firmware.

Be advised that some people - myself included - could not get the tx to load the new firmware from the SD card supplied with the tx; using another card solved the problem. There are a couple of threads about it in the Spektrum forum.

Enjoy it...good tx for the price.
__________________
180CFX, Trex 550E (night), Goblin 570, Goblin 630C, DX8
Skidpad is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2013, 12:42 AM   #92 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skidpad View Post
There were problems with from of the early DX8's, but those have been to resolved, and the new ones are fine; I bought one around New Years.

Firmware...there's a list of the changes within each firmware upgrade on the Spektrum site, and you have to 'join" the community to download the firmware.

Be advised that some people - myself included - could not get the tx to load the new firmware from the SD card supplied with the tx; using another card solved the problem. There are a couple of threads about it in the Spektrum forum.

Enjoy it...good tx for the price.
Ok well, I just updated my tx to newer firmware from spectrum, and did join the community. But update I using stock sd-card from the tx supplied. So I not sure weather I am running the new firmware or not. And also not sure got problem or not.. So possible someone post some pictures or video show me??

Ok, for my tx which is a pre own used. Pervious owner bought it last year ard May.
HeliKing84 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2013, 06:26 AM   #93 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,118
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC USA
Default

If there is a concern whether the DX8 is "pre-recall", check it against the Horizon Hobby service bulletin.

Also, you can verify the version of the firmware under System Setup>>System Settings>>Next.
__________________
14S Tron 7/Protos 700X Evo/Kraken; 7S Kraken 580/Logo 550SX V2; 6S Buddy 380 KSE
VBC Touch & Neo Vlinks, YGE "T" ESCs; AGM Deep Cycle Batteries
Sims on Mac: Heli-X, neXt, AccuRC, RF9, Phoenix, AeroFly RC7 Ultimate
Amain Field Representative
jhamel is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2013, 12:01 PM   #94 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Default

And i had goggle on youtube some of the DX8 video, I had notice that how come the backlit how come is blue color? is newer DX8 or they did something to the TX?
HeliKing84 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-18-2013, 07:44 PM   #95 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Default DX7s and DX8 initial swash settings

When setting up your heli should you change the swash setting to 50 or leave them at 60. I'm new to spektrum radios and don't understand why there initial setting is at 60. My first post by the way.
masonian is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-18-2013, 07:56 PM   #96 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,118
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC USA
Default

+/- 60 is a good place to start. You then adjust as necessary with a pitch gauge. This is mostly for FB helis and some FBL units. Once you start using sophisticated FBL units, you'll setup in 1-servo mode, and most parameters will be adjusted within the FBL unit software.
__________________
14S Tron 7/Protos 700X Evo/Kraken; 7S Kraken 580/Logo 550SX V2; 6S Buddy 380 KSE
VBC Touch & Neo Vlinks, YGE "T" ESCs; AGM Deep Cycle Batteries
Sims on Mac: Heli-X, neXt, AccuRC, RF9, Phoenix, AeroFly RC7 Ultimate
Amain Field Representative
jhamel is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-19-2013, 07:17 AM   #97 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Default swash

Really! I did not read anything about using the one servo swash selection. I'm about to setup my new trex 550DFC with a DX7s, My previous heli was a trex 450 sport with a Futaba 7c
masonian is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-19-2013, 07:43 PM   #98 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,118
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC USA
Default

Seems like you may be using the 3GX FBL unit. If I remember correctly, the 3GX relies on the transmitter channels for most of the setup. For other FBL units like the VBar's and Skookum's, you just set to 1-servo, and the FBL unit takes care of the rest, so less reliance on the transmitter.
__________________
14S Tron 7/Protos 700X Evo/Kraken; 7S Kraken 580/Logo 550SX V2; 6S Buddy 380 KSE
VBC Touch & Neo Vlinks, YGE "T" ESCs; AGM Deep Cycle Batteries
Sims on Mac: Heli-X, neXt, AccuRC, RF9, Phoenix, AeroFly RC7 Ultimate
Amain Field Representative
jhamel is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-15-2013, 03:56 AM   #99 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 119
 

Join Date: May 2013
Default

Great videos..really helpful..thanks Bob
erk700 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-15-2013, 05:07 PM   #100 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2013
Default

Thanks Bob great tutorial !!!
NightF0x is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1