Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Mikado V-BAR


Mikado V-BAR Mikado V-Stabi/V-BAR Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2011, 04:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Default Can the VBAR handle the AMPS?

I was looking at the beastx forum and found this.

https://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=259794

Post 63
... the MB was designed for the future to use 2s Lipo directly and this also worked out in our tests. I also hear more and more of problems with such servos. So at this time there are real power servos on the market and especially some new HV servos can draw an extreme amount of peak current so it really is better to supply the servos with a separate power line.
gbrockway is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-03-2011, 04:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 13,576
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Default

Without a problem, the powerbus on the VBar is a big fat one.

4 x 8717 with a little load and you wiggle the sensor = peaks 66A (short transient peaks, but still)

So yes, it can draw HUGE amounts of current.
__________________
Gone fishing.. or hunting or something..
http://heli.dacsa.net
MrMel is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2011, 10:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Default

One of the main reasons to run a separate power bus on the BeastX and other all-in-one units like mini-VBar, 3GX, and SK-720 is that all those large gauge servo wires conduct a lot of vibration into the unit. On the SK-720 I've measured a 50% reduction in vibration by simply moving the servo cables to a power bus and only running 28 gauge wires to the SK-720.

So, for mini-VBar it might be useful to run a separate power bus if using full-size servos but the full-size VBar controller isn't affected by vibration and, as Mr. Mel says, it has large power and ground traces on the servo backplane so not necessary.

If using 8717, 8917HV's, or other high current servo it is wise to run an additional power plug to an unused connector position on the VBar since the little servo connectors are only rated at 5 amps or less and that's only if they are high quality and in new condition.
__________________
Ron
Stuff I fly....
Mikado, a couple of Aligns, VBar/SK720, an old Robbie Nova,
some multirotor stuff w/ AutoQuad6, Naza, APM, PX4, and full size Exec162F and a T210 just for fun!
recurry is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1