How accurate is Phoenix v3? - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > RC Helicopter Flight School


RC Helicopter Flight School Instructional Flying Tips, Tricks, Videos, and Q&A


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2012, 09:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 894
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ohio
Default How accurate is Phoenix v3?

Or am I just going to bury my MCPX doing these 3D maneuvers for real, lol?

I've never attempted 3D until I got the sim today, man this is the most fun I've had in a long time...this can't be real, can it? I'm able to pull off some 3D stuff in the sim after about 4 hours that I only dreamed of doing. It does feel like flying the real thing for the most part, though it does seem the MCPX in the sim has some self-leveling characteristics mine does not

I've also tore up more expensive helis in a couple of hours than I would ever want to pay for!
dr_boom is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-19-2012, 04:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: POS
Default

it is very good
lennyk is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2012, 03:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,313
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Western KY
Default

If you go into edit the model, you can set hovering stability to make it less self leveling. Any number 100 or over has self leveling tendencies.
__________________
20 something various Helis, Msr through 90's.
How many helis do you need? Just one more.
Sk720 equipped
newhelliguy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2012, 07:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 894
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ohio
Default

Thanks, Im looking forward to trying some 3d stuff at the local gymnasium this weekend now
dr_boom is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2012, 07:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,440
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Alvarado, Texas
Default

Go to this post and setup the mcpx by the settings posted at the bottom of page 4 and you will have your sim very close to real to life as far as the mcpx goes.

https://www.helifreak.com/showthread...=301163&page=4

I hope this helps, good luck
__________________
Mike Martin, MSH BRAIN USA Team Manager
MSH USA FLIGHT TEAM,
CYCLONE BLADES, XNOVA MOTORS,
JETI USA
www.MSHUSA.com, www.MSheli.com
mamartin is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2012, 01:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 268
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ypsilanti, MI
Default

The mcpx in Phoenix is driving me CRAZY. I can't stand the way it bobs down and bounces every time I input cyclic, my real one doesn't fly like that at all! This is using the suggested variant file and everything! It is good for practicing to anticipate the altitude loss on flips, but just trying to fly the thing around is proving to be infuriating. Maybe something weird is going on or I'm missing something but it just does not feel right to me in the slightest.

In comparison, the blade 400 in the sim feels similar to mine, though it seems to lose a lot of altitude and completely lack useful negative pitch for doing anything inverted...I don't get that as I have a stock setup on mine and have never had issues flipping it and hovering inverted.
deca is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2012, 04:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,050
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: AR
Default

I find it very accurate. Just need to adjust for the power output of your real life heli. Everything i've learned has perfectly transitioned to my mcp x, from Inverted Funnels to Piro Flips. Honestly the best investment for any heli flier IMO.
__________________
MSH PRTOS
Rave Ballistic 635
Spunjah413 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2012, 01:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 526
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Long Island, NY
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_boom View Post
... though it does seem the MCPX in the sim has some self-leveling characteristics mine does not
I've noticed the same thing while trying out the mCPX. Did a google search and found this post.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mamartin View Post
Go to this post and setup the mcpx by the settings posted at the bottom of page 4 and you will have your sim very close to real to life as far as the mcpx goes.

https://www.helifreak.com/showthread...=301163&page=4

I hope this helps, good luck
Thanks for the link! I did the change like they suggested and it feel like a CP without the self-leveling now.
Wesley888 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2012, 04:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,463
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nevada City, CA
Default

I think it's pretty good, but not perfect.

It is good for learning orientations and coordinations.

It is bad for trying to perfect a maneuver. The subtle "finesse" details are just not right.

But, it's still a great tool.
__________________
Compass 7HV, Atom 500, Trex 450, all VBAR
Phoenix sim
MpVpRb is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2012, 06:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 526
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Long Island, NY
Default

My mCP X will arrive tomorrow. I guess I'll find out how close they feel myself.
Wesley888 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-04-2012, 08:28 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 15
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: St. James MN
Default

IMHO the Pheonix is very close to real life in fff and 3d but hovering seems more challenging than real life.
Rexflyer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-07-2012, 12:46 PM   #12 (permalink)
Rz
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Orlando
Default

My generic response to that type of question is all sims are generally "close enough"

What I mean by that is if you are a complete newcomer, then any sim will be an invaluable training tool. If you are novice then you can use any sim to lock in orientations. An above novice pilot can use any sim to lock in stick movements and transitions. People above that level usually stop using the sim to "train" Any sim will teach you what you need to know to transfer the skills learned to the flying field.

My real point is I don't know of any sim that flies completely "wrong". All sims are good enough to get the point across of how to fly. Yes some may arguably be better than others, but not by a heck of a lot.
Rz is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-05-2012, 11:58 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Westmont, IL USA
Talking

It's accurate except for the fear! I'm a king on Phoneix and a peasant at the park. That's the difference between a crash costing you a few watts or a few hundred $$ plus time!
carman336 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-11-2012, 03:42 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Denmark
Default

If your mCP-x is self-leveling, then go to "edit model", choose "Advanced" and make sure,
the field about flybarless is set to "passive". As "active" enables self-leveling.

For me my TRex500 in Phoenix behaves almost like my own IRL. But hovering
is harder in Phoenix - they have made the helis unstable in hover. And you have
a much better visual and depth perception of the heli IRL.

But that's great - training should be harder than the real thing.

Cheers
Erik
__________________
Beam600, 6203SB, 4025-630, ICE2HV80, Black VBar, Ino-Lab750, Savx 1290MG
Goblin 500, Quantum motor, BK mini servos, HobbyWing 100A v3, Fut. 6203SB, Vortex Vx1e.
oy2503 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1