Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > SAB Goblin 630/700/770


SAB Goblin 630/700/770 SAB Heli Division 630/700/770 - Goblin Helicopters Factory Support


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2012, 10:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 313
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Default Manuals are available!

Woohoo the Manuals are out



http://www.goblin-helicopter.com/sho...0_Rev1_Eng.pdf

http://www.goblin-helicopter.com/sho...Rev1.1_Ita.pdf



Cris
__________________
Cris Trebbi
Ci+izen #012
SynergyAero is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-02-2012, 10:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Default

Nice manual.
ste_23_66 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2012, 11:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 19,220
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NorCal
Default

A good read. Very well written, with excellent grammar.

Lots of assemblies are pre-assembled at the factory. Very nice. Wish I didn't have to pull them apart and re-assemble them.

The weight listed for a standard electronic installation is 3290g. 7.25lb. I just weighed my 700e without packs and it's 3485g. Basically 200g heavier.

So if the Goblin is half a pound lighter than my 700e, I'll be a very very happy camper.
__________________
Xpert
Scorpion Power Systems
OnlyFineHelis. Family Run/Operated
OnTheSnap is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2012, 01:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,034
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Default

Very nice indeed, they really put down some work on this, and it was about time we got a small update to keep our spirit lifted. They mentioned more information on their youtube channel concering a few steps of the build, but so fare thats not been posted. A nice surprise on a snowy day!
felborn is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2012, 03:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

It's a very nice manual. I like how they have neatly arranged content of the box too (according to manual).

The manual did mention that the battery tray could be adapted to allow batteries upto 64mm but didn't specify exactly how (where to drill those extra holes). Once the build threads have been started I hope some one here would point that out as I want to do that.
geekindenial is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2012, 04:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 664
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geekindenial View Post
The manual did mention that the battery tray could be adapted to allow batteries upto 64mm but didn't specify exactly how (where to drill those extra holes). Once the build threads have been started I hope some one here would point that out as I want to do that.
From the manual the holes seem already drilled.
alexvan is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2012, 06:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,718
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Smile

Excitement excitement.
__________________
Trex family.....100, 450L, 550E 3GX. Goblin 770.Goblin 700 speed machine. Goblin 380.
JR X9503.
PHANTMXR6 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2012, 07:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

Yes you are right. Went through the manual again carefully and I found the alternate positions for the battery tray already listed and drilled. Fantastic. Great job SAB!!!!!
geekindenial is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2012, 07:19 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 931
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexvan View Post
From the manual the holes seem already drilled.
That's correct, the holes are drilled. On Bert's Blue prototype only one set of holes are drilled instead of two sets.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Battery Tray Holes.jpg
Views:	460
Size:	77.0 KB
ID:	285999  
gww528 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2012, 10:33 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 313
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OnTheSnap View Post
Lots of assemblies are pre-assembled at the factory. Very nice. Wish I didn't have to pull them apart and re-assemble them.
I agree, I have always disassembled... cleaned... and re-assembled with appropriate thread-lock, all the factory-built sections.

HOWEVER, I just noticed in the manual on page 2:

Quote:

Factory pre-assembled components have been assembled with all the required thread lock and lubricants, and have passed quality control. It is not necessary to disassemble and re-assemble them.
Hmmm... decisions decisions

Cris
__________________
Cris Trebbi
Ci+izen #012
SynergyAero is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2012, 11:44 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 19,220
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NorCal
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SynergyAero View Post
I agree, I have always disassembled... cleaned... and re-assembled with appropriate thread-lock, all the factory-built sections.

HOWEVER, I just noticed in the manual on page 2:



Hmmm... decisions decisions

Cris
Good eye! Hmm. Usually you never see this sort of thing since companies avoid the liability of such a statement.

Still given the torture I plan to impart on my Goblin I feel better inspecting every inch. I don't want them to sneak in a hole on my feathering shaft.
__________________
Xpert
Scorpion Power Systems
OnlyFineHelis. Family Run/Operated
OnTheSnap is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2012, 11:56 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 664
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Default

At page 26, figure 4. What is the thin black wire attached to the black wire from Jive?
alexvan is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2012, 12:18 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,480
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexvan View Post
At page 26, figure 4. What is the thin black wire attached to the black wire from Jive?
Most likely a static wire.
__________________
MSH Protos 500, SAB 630
alexf1852 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2012, 12:26 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 664
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexf1852 View Post
Most likely a static wire.
Connected to the frame?
alexvan is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2012, 12:49 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,480
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexvan View Post
Connected to the frame?
Yes. Or tail boom if there is no continuity between the tail boom and frame. Some folks tie a static wire to the motor mount and some to the negative battery cable of the ESC. I had issue with my Logo 600 when I had the static wire only going to the motor mount. If the weather got dry enough, I got static hits on my vbar. After routing the static wire to the negative of the battery, I never had a static hit since.

Even on my Protos, there is about 40 ohms between tail case and motor mount because the plastic composite frame does conduct. But it isn't enough to prevent static hits if the weather gets dryer than normal.
__________________
MSH Protos 500, SAB 630
alexf1852 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2012, 12:51 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 664
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Default

Do you plan to use the static wire on the Goblin? From the Bert video seems to be optional.
alexvan is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2012, 12:55 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 19,220
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NorCal
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexvan View Post
Do you plan to use the static wire on the Goblin? From the Bert video seems to be optional.
After assembly I will be using a DMM to measure the continuity from tail to the motor mount. If it's not reasonably low, I will be grounding my entire Goblin from head to tail. I've had many issues with static on various belt models including the Protos and Logo. Not worth taking a chance.

According to Bert it's not needed. But I will wait for my DMM to tell me the reality of it.
__________________
Xpert
Scorpion Power Systems
OnlyFineHelis. Family Run/Operated
OnTheSnap is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2012, 01:10 PM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 931
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexf1852 View Post
Yes. Or tail boom if there is no continuity between the tail boom and frame. Some folks tie a static wire to the motor mount and some to the negative battery cable of the ESC. I had issue with my Logo 600 when I had the static wire only going to the motor mount. If the weather got dry enough, I got static hits on my vbar. After routing the static wire to the negative of the battery, I never had a static hit since.

Even on my Protos, there is about 40 ohms between tail case and motor mount because the plastic composite frame does conduct. But it isn't enough to prevent static hits if the weather gets dryer than normal.
There are pros & cons to grounding the negative wire of the ESC/battery. If by chance you have a battery short to the frame you can toast your electronics.
gww528 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2012, 09:18 PM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,464
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Default

Does anyone know if a motor shaft of 27.5mm will work? Thanks
__________________
-Goblin 700: Crashed but re-building, still needing electronics
-Goblin 630: CC Ice 120HV, vBar
scoti333 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2012, 05:21 AM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 55
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2009
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by gww528 View Post
There are pros & cons to grounding the negative wire of the ESC/battery. If by chance you have a battery short to the frame you can toast your electronics.
If by chance you have a battery short to the frame the only thing you can toast is the frame, (maybe a little bit) and or harm your battery but not the electronics. In case you have not power up your heli yet and the red pole of your battery comes in contact with the frame, the electronics are not part of the circuit and high current is not able to pass through them.
Now in case you have power up the heli and the red pole of your battery comes in contact with the frame you will have a power down to your electronics as most of the current (or all of it depends from the resistance of the short circuit) will pass from the short circuit leaving less or non available for the electronics.
__________________
<<JR VIBE 50--LOGO 400--COMPASS 6HV>>
aris2024 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1